We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to miss - an island of quality and charm in dusty Delhi”
Review of Maidens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maidens Hotel
Ranked #11 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Not to miss - an island of quality and charm in dusty Delhi”
Reviewed 23 November 2010

While traveling in countries with culture and history, you may want to stay in a hotel with character. What's the point, besides comfort, to stay in a hotel which would look the same as its brother in any country of the world ? The Maidens, where I've been staying many times over the last 23 yrs, is indeed a great place. The reception personnel is truly smiling, classy and helpful. The rooms, especially the most recently remodeled, are very large and comfortable. Their bathrooms are remarkable in the sense that they provide the best of modern comfort without breaking the historical heritage aspect of this hotel. In addition, a breakfast on the cafeteria terrace is a dream moment which can be followed by a walk in the wonderful park and swimming pool, both perfectly maintained. The Maidens offers you a wonderful alternative when staying in Delhi, worth the trip from the center, I have no words to recommend this unique historical place.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 188057Eric052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2010
Dear Guest,

It gives us immense pleasure to know that your stay at Maidens Hotel was very comfortable and pleasant .
It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday. Your kind words have been passed on to our team. This will motivate them to keep up the good work.
Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    414
    88
    21
    5
See reviews for
191
497
64
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We stayed three nights at the Maidens, two at the beginning and one at the end of our trip...two completely different experiences.
The first two nights we had a Premier room, which was amazing, clean, modern fittings, superb bathroom - a great start to the holiday. The breakfast and the service are below the 4 start rating, but ones you can live with. The bar is interesting - too much bright light for my liking.
The second stay was like being in a different place, we had a Superior room, one with no windows, very large but just awful fittings, the bathroom was clean but very tired and needs to be brought to the level of the Premier room, the beds were old, different sizes and even camp beds in one part of the room, nothing modern about it at all...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2010
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feed back.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay on 1st visit in a premier room. However, we apologize for your below par experience on your second visit in a superior room.
We wish to inform you that we will be taking up the upgradation of superior rooms on the similar lines of the premier rooms and also we have taken note of your observation regarding breakfast and services which has been addressed with all concerned staff.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to make up for this less than perfect experience.
Thank you once again for your feed back , this will definately support us in improving our facilities and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Having spent several weeks at this hotel, part of which time I was joined by my family, I have had time to take it in from both business and leisure perspectives. If your ideal hotel has glitz and glamour, sports bars and discos, this hotel is not for you. If however, you care more about comfort, a warm welcome from a staff that cannot do enough for you in a charming heritage hotel environment that oozes old fashioned class, Maidens is for you. There are other hotels that are bigger and more modern, but would virtually every staff member greet me by name and genuinely care about and take personal responsibility for my experience - probably not. Maidens is a taste of something special that has been lost in our modern travel experience - it is a retro-chic breath of fresh air.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDivaInk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2010
Dear Guest,

It is pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay at Maidens Hotel along with your family.
Thank you for your feedback and appreciting the old world charm of Maidens Hotel.
We look forward to your next visit to Maidens Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We've stayed in numerous hotels on our month long India trip. This was easily the worst of the 4-5 star grade hotels we stayed in, especially for the rates charged per night. The carpet was old and dirty (we didn't want to walk in the room without shoes on). The rooms were dark with no natural light. Frankly, the room reminded us of something out of a horror flick (think "The Shining"). The internet and food prices were outrageously expensive. Do not eat at this hotel because they will overcharge you for food that is not very good. Staying at this hotel ruined our overall experience in Delhi.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Strata21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We more or less took over this hotel during the Commonwealth Games and although that might have influenced how we were looked after, I tend to believe that this hotel would be excellent whether travelling alone or in a group.

Minor things such as noisy A/C in some rooms and noisy guests in others were the only real complaints that we could make and we would all recommend Maidens as a great place to escape the heat, noise and business of Delhi.

There are hotels nearer the centre but they tended to be more modern and characterless and in truth Maidens is a shortish Auto or taxi trip from Connaught Place and all the life therein, a few minutes walk from Civil Lines Metro where you can be in the hubbub in a few minutes at very little cost.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinglancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

This is a brilliant hotel, tucked away from the hustle bustle of Delhi, close to the walled city and a brilliant british architecture. Great service. The hotel is not frequented by locals, which is the case with most of the other hotels in town due to its location but if you are looking for a great base in Delhi, this is it. Cheaper, Quieter, well connected (thanks to Metro), great service quality (They run the training centre for famous Oberoi group hospitality from here)

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eendian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

The best thing about this hotel is the heritage building its converted from, but its not a great conversion for a 5* hotel. Although the rooms are big, due to a design flaw none of them have windows, so the rooms are starved of natural light and take on a bit of a gloomy feel if you are there during the daytime. The decor of the rooms is old fashioned but the furniture feels a bit cheap and decrepid. The bed in my room was a small double with a thin soft mattress. Surely a good bed is the most important thing in a hotel room. The air-con control did not work and the room was constantly blasted with cold air. All my colleagues in the hotel said the same thing and all complained of being cold all the time when in their rooms. The communal areas are spacious and attractive with a pretty garden, pool and tennis court. The restaurant is good, but expensive. I preferred the embassy restaurant nearby. Staff are courteous and helpful. The location is okay and convenient for old Delhi and not too bad for the sights of New Delhi, but very far from south delhi. A hotel in New Delhi is a more useful location if you are out and about seeing different different sites. I would count this as a really nice 3* hotel, but 5* it certainly is not and there are better options in Delhi.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
6.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,798 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 716 in New Delhi
2,910 reviews
6.4 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 716 in New Delhi
2,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#40 of 716 in New Delhi
3,761 reviews
3.9 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 716 in New Delhi
2,728 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#36 of 716 in New Delhi
2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maidens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maidens Hotel

Property: Maidens Hotel
Address: 7 Shamnath Marg, New Delhi 110054, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#33 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#38 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Maidens Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Maidens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maidens Hotel Delhi
Oberoi Maidens Delhi
Hotel Maidens
Maidens Delhi
Maidens Hotels
Maiden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing