We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, spacious and convenient for airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Grand New Delhi
Ranked #66 of 727 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Excellent place to relax and unwind from Delhi's frenetic pace before taking early morning flight back to UK. Lovely large bedroom with beautiful bathroom with good service (although reception could have done with a few more staff to speed things up) Super swimming pool with lots of loungers. Online booking price was reasonable for this standard of hotel but drinks in bar (G and T + vodka and lemonade) were exorbitant, infact, top London prices! Gave the Italian restaurant a miss as it was very pricey and ate in the Continental restaurant- choice and quality of food was OK but ambience was marred by huge TV screen dominating the place showing cricket which nobody was watching! Only 15mins early morning drive from airport.

Room Tip: Huge hotel so fortunate to have a room on ground floor overlooking pool grounds- very quiet and nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrand-Management, Director of Rooms at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear Guest

We sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our hotel and services.

The Grand New Delhi's spectacular lobby, a trademark of the hotel, is an elegant blend of rich pinewood and white marble and has a stunning vaulted ceiling with natural skylights. Its large full window frontages looking onto the lush green gardens and cascading water breathe serenity and space into a contemporary setting, giving it a welcoming and relaxing ambience. This downtown hotel is also surrounded by green belt with no high rise building obstructing the view from the hotel. The interior of the hotel is unique in that it reflects a contemporary interpretation of traditional Indian design and architecture. The base category room size is as big as 430 square feet being one of the USP for our hotel and so has been appreciated by you.

I have taken careful note of your comment regarding the “it” pricing. I would like to assure you that this will be look into and at the same time also like to convey that this restaurant serving Twin Taste of Tuscany is definitely worth being given an opportunity to serve you at least once during the stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Warm regards

Sandeep Bhatnagar
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

847 - 853 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

Comfortable hotel with friendly staff eager to assist. Conceige was most helpful in organising a guide and car the the day.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank On_Hols_in_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrand-Management, Director of Rooms at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave these wonderful comments on TripAdvisor.

It is always a real pleasure to read that our guests enjoyed the hotel our services and we continuously strive to satisfy their expectations.
Your special feedback regarding the Concierge team is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for them. I will certainly not fail to compliment them for their excellent work.

We all look forward to welcoming you again at The Grand New Delhi soon!


Yours sincerely,
Sandeep Bhatnagar
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed in the grand hotel in march 2012 for three nights. The hotel is very large, clean and comfortable, and we found the service to be fantastic. Plenty of charming staff around, who were happy to help. There are a number of places to eat in the hotel, a buffet, a Chinese place called wok tok and a tandoori restaurant. We tried them all, and the food was great. There is also a bar which is nice to relax in after a hard day's sight seeing or after dinner. We used the laundry service a couple of times, and found it to be very quick, with our clothes coming back immaculately clean and pressed. The hotel grew on us the longer we stayed. The swimming pool is lovely. The gym is a bit limited in terms of equipment, and the sauna was a bit on the cool side. But that wasn't what we were there for. The hotel is some way out of Delhi near the airport. This means it is quick to arrive at after a long flight, and it is away from the mayhem of Delhi, but it is a 30 minute drive into Delhi when you want to see the sights. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank king_alfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrand-Management, Director of Rooms at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you to The Grand New Delhi and we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us!

Thank you for these wonderful comments and compliments for our services, product and the team. I will not fail to congratulate them for their excellent work.

We trust that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to New Delhi in a not too distant future and that may be this time; you will be able to stay longer.

Sincerely yours,

Sandeep Bhatnagar
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I don't know why I don't like the Grand more. The rooms are large and comfortable, very clean, very new. The bathrooms are HUGE, amenities are what you'd expect from a 5 star hotel. But it's the details that fail this place. It's honestly a 4 star hotel at 5 star prices. We actually are now staying at the Taj Mahal for a cheaper price and higher luxury.

It's as if someone wanted to build a hotel that LOOKED really expensive, but with no real art or spirit behind it. Lots of white marble, lots of gleam, but really sterile and soul-less. The staff is well trained, restaurants are good, the bar looks really cool, though we didn't get a chance to try it. Breakfast is meh. Exercise room nice.

It's near nothing, but it's nice for a conference or if you want to stay nearish to the airport. I know this review is sounding poor, and this hotel is very nice... it's just that Delhi has amazing hotels like the Taj, the Maurya, the Oberoi, & the Imperial. Even Claridges is so quaint. It's a city with tough competition, and the prices at this hotel are comparable to those places. I think I'd feel better about it if this hotel was much cheaper.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeresaEBethesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrand-Management, Director of Rooms at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

This feedback has been discussed internally and it is indeed distressing for me personally, to learn that we together as a team could not exceed your expectations. Please be assured that we at The Grand are really committed to bring to you the best in class. Your feedback has really given us an opportunity to review our offerings at different touch points to ensure, that we live up to our commitment.

Regarding the pricing we would like to share that before flashing the rates on the website & all prominent portals, a careful study of the rates is conducted, to ensure competitiveness of the rates. I am really not sure of your source of making the reservation.

We once again thank you for your feedback & shall be glad if you may want to share furthermore details of your experience (at the id stated below), which made you feel us to be rated inferior than the hotels of our category.

We will do our best to delight you, should you give us the opportunity for your stay in future.

Yours sincerely,

Sandeep Bhatnagar
Director of Rooms

fom@thegrandnewdelhi.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

the conference facility at The Grand is very good and the service provied is excellent.
the staff was very helpful and did all the required
the food facility is wonderful and the Bufet service was value for money.
The travel from airport was little uncomfortable but the experiance once reaching the hotel made up for all the trouble.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sawari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrand-Management, Director of Rooms at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback for our confrence facilities on Trip Advisor. As a hotel we are committed to providing comprehensive support to business travelers and other guests during their stay with us.
I have also noted your feedback regarding the travel from the airport & sleep quality being marked average. It is not at all usual, where our guest find the airport transfer to be inconvenient as we are just about 15-20 mins away from the airport with a nice drive through the city. I am also not sure if the assistance from the airport has been arranged by the hotel or you made some external arrangements. At the same time I would like assure you that the mattresses chosen for our rooms is one of the best brands of mattress, directly imported from Thailand. Please do share a little more details pertaining to your stay at fom@thegrandnewdelhi.com for us to understand the shortcomings enabling us to act on them. Please be rest assured that your concerns have been taken seriously and reviewed with the concerned departments, who all aspire to offer you an enhanced experience on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Sandeep Bhatnagar
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I just came back from a 15-day tour of Northern India (March 1-16, 2012). Our first stop was Delhi and after the long flight from the U.S., it was wonderful to stay at such a beautiful & luxurious hotel like The Grand. The lobby was impressive & grand. Check in was a breeze. The room was modern, clean, spacious and comfortable. There was a flat screen TV with quite a few channels available. The bathroom had a tub & shower. It was weird that the shower opens into the whole bathroom, no curtain or door. Internet was not free but available at $16/day. Most of the hotels I stayed at during my stay in India provided free internet but not The Grand. The fitness center was well-equipped. The restaurants were beautifully set with a garden view creating a wonderful ambiance. We enjoyed our first dinner at WokTok, delicious. Our daily buffet breakfasts at Cascades had a large selection and they have an omelette bar. Both restaurants share the same dining area. They missed one wake up call we requested but we were awake anyway. The hotel is not centrally located. Our tour guide told us it is located on the outskirts of the city. This did not matter to us because we cannot venture out in India on our own anyway. Anywhere we went in India, we stayed at the most beautiful hotels but outside the hotels, the scene is chaotic, dirty & dusty. You will be surrounded by hawkers and beggars. Surprisingly, we never felt unsafe or were we worried about pickpockets in spite of the poverty. The Indian people are very friendly. However, you cannot just wander around to take a leisurely walk or to hail a cab & venture on our own would be a bold move. The gardens of the hotel are lovely and well kept. The swimming pool looked inviting & clean. Thumbs up for The Grand Hotel Delhi!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celestial G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrand-Management, Director of Rooms at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your stay at The Grand New Delhi on Trip advisor. It is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our hotel and the services.

My team is dedicated to providing the best stay experience for all our guests and we are very pleased that you felt well looked after during your stay. I have also taken a note of your feedback regarding our location and Bathrooms design. The prices of internet, which particularly shall once again be studied personally along with our competition hotels.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Sandeep Bhatnagar
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 months while working in this amazing country. Could not fault the standard of service and the standard of the hotel it was a home from home. The staff could not do enough for me even when I had broken a tooth they put me in a car and took me to see a dentist. Nothing was too much effort for them. Wish i could go back

Room Tip: top floor rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.4 mi away
Jaypee Vasant Continental
Jaypee Vasant Continental
#101 of 727 in New Delhi
697 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Delhi
Hyatt Regency Delhi
#44 of 727 in New Delhi
2,409 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Leela Ambience Convention Hotel, Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sheraton New Delhi
Sheraton New Delhi
#19 of 727 in New Delhi
1,663 reviews
2.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel New Delhi Aerocity
7.2 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand New Delhi

Address: Vasant Kunj Phase II, New Delhi 110002, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Mahipal Pur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#42 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#46 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#54 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £89 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of NCR, The Grand New Delhi is one of the city's most luxurious and finest five-star hotels. Well-equipped and luxurious with modern facilities and with its resort like feel having luscious greens, magnificent waterscapes, service par excellence, The Grand New Delhi, is the ideal home away from home for discerning business and leisure travelers. Delivering an extremely exclusive and personalized experience to each of its guests, it is the quintessential destination to relax, unwind and discover the city at your own pace. Ideally located, The Grand New Delhi, previously known as Grand Hyatt, is in close proximity to the best the city has to offer- luxury shopping malls such as DLF Emporio, DLF Promenade, Ambience mall; entertainment destinations, perfectly harmonizing city conveniences, diplomatic enclave, near the airport and elite corporate neighborhood, making it the preferred luxury five star hotel in New Delhi. Boasting 390 elegantly designed rooms & suites; 8 distinctive dining and nightlife destinations; the much acclaimed Spa Oasis and salon, state of the art fitness centre, outdoor Swimming pool; over 30,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces at your disposal, combined with our experience and expertise in organizing banquets, weddings, meetings, and events, The Grand New Delhi offers an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grand New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Grand New Delhi
Hotel The Grand New Delhi
The Grand Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing