We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not book again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand New Delhi
Ranked #66 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
361 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Would not book again”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed at the Oberoi before we changed to the Grand to attend a (wonderfull!) wedding and we made 7 day tour to Varanasi, Agra and Jaipur, all in relatively good hotels. The Grand was the one we liked least.
The location is close to the airport, 15-20 minutes. It took us 40 minutes to get to the Oberoi at a much more strategic location. Next to the hotel is a mall, very american (both prices and shops), nothing very Indian.
The Grand Hotel looks really nice, great lobby and gardens. Also the rooms are very nice, bathroom is spacy with both a bathtube and a walk in shower. Unfortunately the water was cold/not very warm depending on the day.
Staff is not impolite, but do not do make you feel very welcome and special. What was really unacceptable was that they woke us up at 8.30 AM with a call to ask us at what time we would check out. The last night our flight was at 3.30 AM so we booked an extra day so we could still have a few hours of sleep. At 10 PM, when we where soundly a sleep, they called us again to ask us what time we would check out! Unbelievable (I already compliant about the first time). Do not even understand why they need to know this... When we had a pick up at midnight and put our alarm at 11.45 (everything was packed). Just after we woke up the light in our room went out and smelled something burning. With our cell phone as torch we quickly gathered our belongings and left our room (the rest of the hotel had no problem). We were glad to leave. I complained at the reception.
Price is relatively high. Better pay a bit more and book the Oberoi or Imperial!
Why do I still give it 2 stars: the rooms and facilities are good, bed (important!) is good, nice pool (not warmed).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaja000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajanBahadur, Chief Operating Officer at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Jaja000,

Thank you for Staying at The Grand New Delhi, it is our pleasure to have you with us.

I am very pleased to learn that you are happy with our Room Facilities, bed and the swimming pool, which are key to all our guests' experiences with us. Your valid points regarding our call to your guest room has been shared with my team members, who are currently reviewing their processes to ensure more efficient handling of these important services.

We look forward to seeing you again soon, remain at your service.

Yours sincerely,
Rajan Bahadur
Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    375
    158
    59
    48
See reviews for
203
172
71
444
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
treviso
Level Contributor
134 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed for one night at the Grand New Dehli and we really appreciated this place. Everything looks well-kept, clean and when you enter for the first time it seems to be in a special and luxury building. The room and bathroom (very large) are comfortable and equipped with everything you can need. The restaurant was execellent and a wide range of international and high-quality food is available. The garden and external aereas are impresssive... especially with the darkness when fountains and special lights make an impressive effect!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D79Treviso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep B, EAM - Rooms Division at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.

I am extremely happy to know that we were able to make your special stay memorable and worthwhile . Thank you for your compliments especially about the Rooms, Restaurants, Cuisines and above all, the resort feel of this lush green business hotel that we are proud of and makes us unique / different from the other city hotels.

We thank you for your kind patronage of The Grand New Delhi and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Sandeep Bhatnagar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Good Location. About 15 mins from the airport. Average Food and service is also not very good. Good Spa. Not want I expect from a luxury 5 star hotel.. I expect much more for the price that I paid at The Grand HOtel.... I will not recommend...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gk_1978443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep B, EAM - Rooms Division at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your stay at The Grand New Delhi.

I am disappointed that we as a team could not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. We have noted your feedback regarding average food and the services and also your appreciation for the Spa and proximity to the airport.

While I assure you that your feedback has been shared with our F&B team for corrective actions, I also would like to share certain points which give our guests fair reasoning to recommend us –
1) Low rise architecture spread across 10 acres of beautifully landscaped lawns away from the hustle & bustle of the city, yet close to city centre, Airport & other attractions.

2) The hotel is an exceptional blend of a resort like setting equipped with modern design and contemporary comfort with all the facilities that a business traveller may need.

3) The hotel has a Grand lobby with the panoramic view of cascading waterfall and beautifully landscaped gardens exudes elegance and grandeur with 390 well-appointed spacious rooms including Luxurious Suites and Serviced Apartments. Even a base category room is 430 square feet and is felt user friendly and very tastefully done up by our guests.

4) Spa Oasis at The Grand with its purifying therapies helps you to relax, invigorate and rediscover your innerself. One of the largest in the region, it is equipped with eight treatment rooms, where guests can choose from an array of personalized treatments and therapies to rejuvenate oneself. It also offers recreational activities like gymnasium, yoga, relaxing steam and sauna, swimming pool and Jacuzzi.

5) Proximity to three most prominent malls offering a wide range of entertainment options, shopping & more than hundred food outlet options across different cuisine. The hotel is just 30 minutes away from most of the major attractions/business hubs in the city and NCR.

6) The hotel offers a wide range of culinary experience to each of its guests with - The Cascades (International cuisine three meal restaurant), Wok Tok (Pan Asian restaurant), Caraway (The Indian Speciality restaurant), G-Bar (one of the city's most appreciated and busiest bar) and the award winning "it" (the italian cuisine rstaurant with a USP of Twin taste of Tuscany). Our F&B makes us really ahead of our competitors and makes us one of the favorite hotels amongst both international and domestic patrons.

7) The Grand Ballroom is one of the largest pillar less hall and with its adjoining beautifully landscaped outdoor terrace, makes it an ideal venue to host different kinds of small or large business meets, promotions, launches or social events.

We look forward to be granted another opportunity for your stay. Please feel free to write to me directly at eam@thegrandnewdelhi.com , in case you plan to visit us in near future.

Yours sincerely,

Sandeep Bhatnagar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at the grand for a 1 night stay in October. The lobby and grounds of the hotel are very good. We stayed in one of their deluxe rooms which was nicely laid out however there was a distinct lack of power points and the bed was very small.

The staff were friendly and it was a nice place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odin749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep B, EAM - Rooms Division at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest

We sincerely thank you for your encouraging words of praise for the hotel during your recent stay with us.

We have taken a careful note regarding the Internet and Dinner buffet charges. At this juncture I would like to share that we are very careful in pricing our services including both internet and the F&B. The same is done keeping both internal costs and most importantly the competition prices / trends in mind, to ensure that we do not outprice our services. The Dinner buffet at our Cascades cost INR 2000 + Taxes while the Lunch is priced at INR 1850 + Taxes.

We would also like to share that our hotel is close to the DLF Emporio, Ambience mall & DLF Promenade mall. The Malls offers a wide range of entertainment options, shopping & more than hundred food outlet options across different cuisine.

We once again thank you for your feedback and valued patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Warm regards

Sandeep Bhatnagar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel has all the usual comforts and is OK for an overnight stay as it's only about a 20 minute drive to airport. Expensive restaurants, but the dinner buffet is very comprehensive and has a wonderful selection of dishes from various cuisines. However at the equivalent of about £25 per head it is very expensive by Indian standards. Unfortunately the hotel appears to be located in the middle of nowhere, far away from any alternative dining options as far as I could tell. There is WiFi available in the rooms, but it is not complimentary as most people now expect it to be.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mps1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently for 02 nights. This is a huge property with gardens all round. The main lobby as you enter gives you a lavish feel, but soon you notice the lack of maintennace since this property is almost 13yrs old. The carpets and upholstery of the sofas in the lobby were stinking. I stayed in the lobby level room, which was very basic, with a huge toilet. The bath fittings and sanitary ware were old and rusted at places. The shower was leaking. The room was dimely lit and felt suffocating. This is not expected when you are paying for 5 star comfort. The restaurant food was pretty average with pathetic service. You had to repeatedely ask the waiters for basic things like drinking water, cutlery and to clear the table. There are better 5 star hotels in delhi and the Grand at this price and service can definetely be avoided.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boomrang77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep B, EAM - Rooms Division at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your feedback.
It is really disappointing that you had such a bad experience with us.
This, by no way, is the manner by which we run our business and extend our hospitality, moreover, treat our guests. We have taken a note of the feedback and have personally reviewed areas like our lobby sofas & some of the rooms at the lobby level and feel that it is important for us to know a bit more about your stay experience and room details. I also wish to share that the hotel has completely been refurbished including our rooms in Dec'2009 and maintain very stringent measures of cleanliness and hygiene. Please do share your contact details at eam@thegrandnewdelhi.com and I shall be glad to have a word with you at your convenience. We have also noted your feedback regarding the experience at the restaurant and we shall be taking the corrective measures in terms of training of the team at the outlet and monitor the services more closely to ensure efficiency of our service.
We request you to take the experience as aberration and look forward to another opportunity for your stay with us, where our team shall certainly ensure true value for your money.

Best regards,
Sandeep Bhatnagar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Love the food and the rooms, great swimming pool and gym. My room had the most beautiful view of the garden and I loved soaking in their bath tub after a nice workout in their gym.
I like that they had a separate enclosure for the toilet in the bathroom, more privacy when sharing the room with someone. The staff takes care of your every need. Fantastic breakfast spread, look fwd to waking up to such a nice feast.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anjel1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep B, EAM - Rooms Division at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback, It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us and we are grateful for your feedback. We are happy to note that your stay was comfortable and our facilities & services were to your liking and expectation. It’s exciting to receive such valuable comments from our guests as we take pride and strive towards delivering an outstanding guest experience to make us the most preferred destination in the City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.4 mi away
Jaypee Vasant Continental
Jaypee Vasant Continental
#79 of 716 in New Delhi
568 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Delhi
Hyatt Regency Delhi
#37 of 716 in New Delhi
2,218 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 716 in New Delhi
3,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Delhi Airport
7.2 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
2.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel New Delhi Aerocity
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand New Delhi

Property: The Grand New Delhi
Address: Vasant Kunj Phase II, New Delhi 110002, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Mahipal Pur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#44 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#46 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#54 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of NCR, The Grand New Delhi is one of the city's most luxurious and finest five-star hotels. Well-equipped and luxurious with modern facilities and with its resort like feel having luscious greens, magnificent waterscapes, service par excellence, The Grand New Delhi, is the ideal home away from home for discerning business and leisure travelers. Delivering an extremely exclusive and personalized experience to each of its guests, it is the quintessential destination to relax, unwind and discover the city at your own pace. Ideally located, The Grand New Delhi, previously known as Grand Hyatt, is in close proximity to the best the city has to offer- luxury shopping malls such as DLF Emporio, DLF Promenade, Ambience mall; entertainment destinations, perfectly harmonizing city conveniences, diplomatic enclave, near the airport and elite corporate neighborhood, making it the preferred luxury five star hotel in New Delhi. Boasting 390 elegantly designed rooms & suites; 8 distinctive dining and nightlife destinations; the much acclaimed Spa Oasis and salon, state of the art fitness centre, outdoor Swimming pool; over 30,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces at your disposal, combined with our experience and expertise in organizing banquets, weddings, meetings, and events, The Grand New Delhi offers an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Grand New Delhi
Hotel The Grand New Delhi
The Grand Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing