We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to highlight restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Grand New Delhi
Ranked #66 of 728 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We'll I along with some my companions was attending a seminar in the hotel, after finishing off we wanted to go and spend some time together and were deciding upon a venue in close by malls. It is then when we asked about the dining options in hotel - since it had started raining outside. To our surprise the hotel had an award wining restaurant - it, as the staff told us. Never heard of // very unusual name. The look and ambience was good and so was the service, food was ok, but hardly any people apart from us 5 people. Probably because nobody knows about 'it'. Placed in a small corner of the hotel, as if they don't want any recognition in today's world ?

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shwetak1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

658 - 664 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

I was in New Delhi for business and I spent about a week at the Grand. The hotel is nice, the personnel is ok and rooms are comfortable. However, internet connection is quite poor (signal is week and unstable) and restroom furniture & equipment is pretty worn out. It is quite close to the international airport, which is a point in New Delhi where traffic is very heavy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quarktop1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep_Bh, EAM - Rooms Division at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Quarktop1979
Thank you for your Kind review of The Grand New Delhi

I am sorry for the inconvenience caused due to weak wi-fi connectivity. Please be assured that this was a rare occurrence and we have since addressed this matter with my team members.
Thank you for your staying with us and for your feedback.

Yours Sincerely
Sandeep Bhatnagar
EAM- Rooms Division

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Large, though very bare rooms. Loud party music filled the lobby. The food at the Coffee shop was not very nice though the breakfast was good. Service was quite nice. Overall a good stay though not a patch on the other five star hotels in the region.

Room Tip: Pick up the rooms overlooking the lawns. They are quieter than the Road Side rooms. Pick up the room...
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank ShamsherMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep_Bh, EAM - Rooms Division at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear ShamsherMann

Thank you for your kind review of The Grand New Delhi, we appreciate your feedback on your recent stay experience with us.

We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Delhi
Yours Sincerely
Sandeep Bhatnagar
EAM- Rooms Division

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

During a delay of our flight to A.dam, we were lodged at The Grand on 6-3-2014. The manager of the restaurant was so kind to invite us to the buffet i.o. the food supplied for KLM guests in a separate room. We were very much prepared to pay for it but in the end he only charged us for the Perrier. Service of the house with excellent care by the staff and a great buffet.
In all a high light during a 27 hr lasting misserable time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jos b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep_Bh, EAM - Rooms Division at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Jos b

Thank you for your warm review of The Grand New Delhi, the pleasure was ours to welcome you at the hotel

Thank you again for your feedback and for staying with us. Do come and visit us again when you are next in India.

Yours Sincerely
Sandeep Bhatnagar
EAM- Rooms Division

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We are currently staying here. This hotel is a wannabe five star. The rooms are dirty, they don't provide basic toiletries, towels have yellow stains, food is horrible. Avoid staying here. Even concierge is the most useless.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaus09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep_Bh, EAM - Rooms Division at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Kaus09

I am disappointed to read that your recent stay with us fell below your expectations.
I am sorry for the inconvenience caused due to some issues during your recent stay with us. Please be assured that this was a rare occurrence and we have since addressed this matter.

We hope that there will be an opportunity in the future to deliver a better experience to you. Thank you for your staying with us and for your feedback.

Yours Sincerely
Sandeep Bhatnagar
EAM- Rooms Division

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My son and I arrived at the Grand, wanting, needing a place of refuge. We had arrived from Jodhpur via night train. A bit of a "ride from Hell". The Grand more than filled our needs. Right from entering the immaculate grounds, straight through to the delivery of our beautiful room, we knew that the place was made to order. The service at time of check-in, right through to our departure 3 days later was done to a very professional standard. Thank you. My son departed to pick up his bicycle, which was being stored for him in Lucknow, so as to continue on his journey of adventure. Me, I was headed back to Canada, flight leaving at 3:40 am. The hotel was kind to allow me a late checkout, enough time to allow me some freedom to ready myself for my journey.
It is funny that the hotel is rated 102 out of 592 in Delhi. Again, as l wrote in a previous review of a Delhi hotel, I suppose it is what your expectations are. In the case of the Grand, I do not know what people are expecting. This hotel is very much a five star. Neither my son nor I could have wished for more. The hotel is grand, lobby, common areas, our rooms, the grounds very fancy. The hotel facilities were very adequate, workout room, lovely pool, etc. The staff, courteous and very helpful. Congratulations to the management in the hiring of these fine people. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet, great selection, satisfying the discriminating palate.
The hotel is situated close to a few fancy malls, granting a bit of a divergence before we parted ways with Delhi. I must note, there are some very stark differences in this country. No where more evident than in the area surrounding Vasant Kunj. Anyway, we treated our stay here as being at a fancy resort. It was great! And the hotel rate very affordable.
If travelling again to the Delhi area, will stay here again. I certainly will have no problem recommending this hotel. It has my most highest recommendation!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRAsFishBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep_Bh, EAM - Rooms Division at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear JRAsFishBabe


Thank you for your kind review of The Grand New Delhi
It is such a pleasure to know that we have created a lasting impression on you from your recent experience with us! Thank you for all your kind compliments to my team and a special mention of our lobby, guest rooms, Fitness centre and the pool area

We are grateful for your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home on your next visit to New Delhi.

Yours Sincerely
Sandeep Bhatnagar
EAM- Rooms Division

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel as the result of a delayed flight. It is a big hotel but it does not really stand out enough for five stars. It lacks real class. My room however was very big, with a huge and deluxe bathroom and a big bed. Unfortunately there was nothing in the minibar.

But the efficient and very polite receptionist said I could just order and pay the next morning just like for the wifi. As I mention this it is a disgrace you have to pay for wifi where as in most 1000 rs places it is for free. I ordered and room service came with my softdrink. I signed. When I wanted to go to sleep (it was 9 in the morning and I had not slept) there was a knock on the door. I had to pay for the drink, Since I had spend my last rupee at the airport I sai I could only pay creduitcard. The waiter then wanted to take my card and asked for the pin (!!!!!!!). I refused. When I was just about to sleep he returned with a machine. I put the card in and gave the pin. It was ok, but one slip did not print well. He then insisted on taking the cradit card again until I shut the door. I finally got to sleep.

It looks like part of the staff is well trained and guest oriented, while others have no consideration for people needing sleep and no notice how to act properly. I could pay at check out was possible the receptionist later confirmed. Or was it an attempted scam. It wasd not professional.So service is a mix of good and very poor...

Also lunch and breakfast were a bit dissapointing: no coffee and only Indian food apart from bread and jam.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the0m0lenaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep_Bh, EAM - Rooms Division at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Theomolenaar

Thank you for your Kind review of The Grand New Delhi, we appreciate your feedback which gives us great insights on what is important to our guests.

I am sorry for the inconvenience caused due to some issues during your recent stay with us. Please be assured that this was a rare occurrence and we have since addressed this matter with my team members.

We hope that there will be an opportunity in the future to deliver a better experience to you. Thank you for your staying with us and for your feedback.

Yours Sincerely
Sandeep Bhatnagar
EAM- Rooms Division

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.4 mi away
Jaypee Vasant Continental
Jaypee Vasant Continental
#101 of 728 in New Delhi
699 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Delhi
Hyatt Regency Delhi
#43 of 728 in New Delhi
2,419 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sheraton New Delhi
Sheraton New Delhi
#15 of 728 in New Delhi
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
The Leela Ambience Convention Hotel, Delhi
2.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel New Delhi Aerocity
2.1 mi away
Roseate House New Delhi
Roseate House New Delhi
#5 of 728 in New Delhi
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand New Delhi

Address: Vasant Kunj Phase II, New Delhi 110002, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Vasant Kunj/Vasant Vihar , Mahipal Pur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#42 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#46 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#54 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £88 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of NCR, The Grand New Delhi is one of the city's most luxurious and finest five-star hotels. Well-equipped and luxurious with modern facilities and with its resort like feel having luscious greens, magnificent waterscapes, service par excellence, The Grand New Delhi, is the ideal home away from home for discerning business and leisure travelers. Delivering an extremely exclusive and personalized experience to each of its guests, it is the quintessential destination to relax, unwind and discover the city at your own pace. Ideally located, The Grand New Delhi, previously known as Grand Hyatt, is in close proximity to the best the city has to offer- luxury shopping malls such as DLF Emporio, DLF Promenade, Ambience mall; entertainment destinations, perfectly harmonizing city conveniences, diplomatic enclave, near the airport and elite corporate neighborhood, making it the preferred luxury five star hotel in New Delhi. Boasting 390 elegantly designed rooms & suites; 8 distinctive dining and nightlife destinations; the much acclaimed Spa Oasis and salon, state of the art fitness centre, outdoor Swimming pool; over 30,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces at your disposal, combined with our experience and expertise in organizing banquets, weddings, meetings, and events, The Grand New Delhi offers an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grand New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Grand New Delhi
Hotel The Grand New Delhi
The Grand Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing