We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is a Grand Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Grand New Delhi
Ranked #67 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This hotel is a Grand Hotel”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Our stay in this hotel was very nice for us. The hotel is very nice, clean and neat. Staff are attentive and friendly.
The pool is large and well maintained, very inviting. Breakfast in this hotel is diverse, Indian, European, American, you can choose what you want.
We ate in the restaurant only once, dinner, and was very tasty but equally expensive. We ordered a dish and then we changed our mind and the chef brought us both, paying only one. The other was given to us for free as they prepare it anyway.
The room view was green, quiet and nice.
What I didn't liked was that the room had occasionally a very annoying noise from the air conditioning. I called 3 times the staff to check the problem. We didn;t want to change the room and it was fixed after all.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms have annoying A/C noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanaMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep B, EAM - Rooms Division at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Ms. DanaMM,

Thank you for your generous review of The Grand New Delhi.

We look forward to another opportunity to extend our warm hospitality to you when you are next in New Delhi.

Yours Sincerely
Sandeep Bhatnagar
EAM-Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    375
    158
    59
    48
See reviews for
203
172
71
444
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had a awesome stay for a night excellent property and very friendly-staff, only thing is the room service is a little expensive but still a great property. The rooms are big the bathrooms are spacious as well. The room service is prompt

Room Tip: Take the road facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjunarao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep B, EAM - Rooms Division at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous review of The Grand New Delhi.

We look forward to another opportunity to extend our warm hospitality to you when you are next in New Delhi.

Yours Sincerely
Sandeep Bhatnagar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
148 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I wanted to be close to the airport and shopping malls and chose the Grand New Delhi.

Here is my review;

Pro's:
- overall good service from the staff,
- the property is grand, lots of space and greenery all around the property
- reception staff gave me an exceptionally good service and pretty much changed the course of my attitude towards the hotel. Management owes them thanks.
- close by 3 malls and complimentary shuttle to and from these malls (10 minute drive)
- good facilities inside the hotel, but at European prices
- superb pool area,
- gym is equipped with plentiful modern machines

And finally, it is clear to me that this hotel is very keen on profit optimization. As an example; a car for 8 hours/80 kilometers is charged at an exorbitant price. Same with laundry service where dry cleaning of a suit pretty much costs the same as you would pay in a 5 star Northern European hotel. That doesn't make sense.

Hotels in India tends to almost always deliver a mixed experience. So often one has to chose between "pest and cholera". For that reason I rate this hotel 5 stars. But compared to the Mandarin Oriental in Jakarta, for example, it was not a 5 star experience, but more like a 3 star experience. But this is the downside of hotels.com's rating system.

Overall I was very happy with my stay and will come back to The Grand New Delhi. I've stayed at 6-7 other Delhi hotels and this was my best experience.



Con's;
- spa staff seems disinterested in providing service
- internet speed and reliability needs improvement. Especially since most guests are paying for it.
- staff by the hotel pool do not seem to interested in providing service. They are reactive and do not seem to realize that most people probably want to order drinks, snacks etc. while relaxing by the pool
- coffee at European prices is fine, but not when the quality is as poor as it is.
- the room I stayed in was just ok, nothing spectacular and seems a bit worn out.
- overall the food is slightly disappointing.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the green areas and on the higher floors. Visit the 3 malls nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelleander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep B, EAM - Rooms Division at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Mr.Michaelleander,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you to The Grand New Delhi and we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us!

Thank you for such a detailed feedback and compliments for our services, product and the team. I will not fail to congratulate them for their excellent work. Also, we as a team shall be working towards the inputs for improvement shared by you.

We trust that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to New Delhi in a not too distant future.

Hospitably,
Sandeep Bhatnagar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I visited and stayed in ts hotel in Jan 2014 on the occasion of a marriage
Hotel is close to the airport and DLF mall.
The rooms are not that big, and the food quality is decent.
The service was poor and many times it sounded that they are not interested to cater service to all the guest or they delay it so long that you will not want to ask again.
I asked for Iron and a table and the house keeping denied that they have any. They also mentioned that since we also have marriage in this hotel, it may not be available. You cause our in house laundry, where the prices are too high..
When we checked in, our room and floor corridor had a damp smell. We had to ask them multiple time to spray room fresher.

Room size are ok.
You may not want to consider stay in this hotel if they have a big party or marriage.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paikshit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep B, EAM-Rooms Division at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your stay at The Grand New Delhi on Trip advisor. It is nice to know that you liked our hotel's location but not all the services could really impress you during the stay. We have taken a note of the same and the team shall strive to work towards the necessary improvement.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Sandeep Bhatnagar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I visited Delhi more than 20 times and stayed in some 5star hotel in the city. Since I visited the Grand I keep on staying there.
Bonuses and benefits:
1. Perfect green territory of the hotel.
2. Spacy comfortable rooms.
3. Delicious buffet dinners and breakfasts (really enjoyed it).
4. Ambience mall in 5 minutes walking from the hotel. As far as I know some shuttles are available free of charge from the hotel to the mall. But I never used this. Was not required.
5. Only 15 minutes from the airoport by car.
6. Quite place.
7. Polite service. Good laundry. Welcoming personnel at the reception.
The hotel is very good for business trips and peaceful stay with family.
Minuses:
1. Slow internet.
2. No Russian TV channel (may be because practically no Russians in the hotel).
So I would recomend it. Good hotel.

Room Tip: Best with windows not to the inner garden. May be noisy if some wedding ceremony occurs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep B, EAM - Rooms Division at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Mr.Andrey,

Thank you for posting such a wonderful feedback and the detailed benefits of choosing The Grand New Delhi.

We greatly appreciate your kind words on our staff, services and the food. As we do offer multiple cuisines across the hotel, we are happy to know that our Breakfast & Dinner buffet in particular were a success. I am very happy that we succeeded in living up to your expectations and have been the hotel of your choice over a period now. I have also taken a note regarding room for improvement and assure you on the same to be worked upon.

The team at The Grand New Delhi, look forward to welcome you back soon again.

Thank you for being our guest,

Sandeep Bhatnagar
EAM – Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The grand has lovely grounds and ample rooms to host a wedding specially if your from out of town. The staff was extremely accommodating and courteous though they are slow to respond to queries specially housekeeping. However mr.achil who managed our 100 odd rooms and check ins and check outs at odd hours, was extremely patient , courteous and in short amazing. As was the chef who created our menu. Only draw back- the bar forgot to stock adequate number of shot glasses prior to the Sangeet and that was little disappointing to wait for shots! However would recommend it a stay here for business and leisure because of its proximity to the airport and the malls. They also offer free transfer to the malls for their guests, which is a lovely touch.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep B, EAM - Rooms Division at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Mr.Arya N,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with us and I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I appreciate your kind comments on your experience at The Grand New Delhi and also have noted for the room for improvement to work on. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,
Sandeep Bhatnagar
EAM – Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

A very good Hotel.
I visited the Hotel 37 times and every time it was a good experience.
Thanks for the Hotel stuff.
There was only one problem - speed of Internet connection. But this problem with which you face practically at every hotels in India.
As to the rest - service is excellent!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasiliy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep B, EAM - Rooms Division at The Grand New Delhi, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for choosing The Grand New Delhi for over 37 visits to Delhi and I am happy to learn that you enjoy staying with us.

We thank you for your heart warming compliments . At The Grand New Delhi, we believe in “Atithi Devo Bhava”, Guest is God, each member of our team strives tirelessly to anticipate guests’ needs and fulfil those with warmth and care.

The team at The Grand New Delhi, look forward to welcome you back soon again.

Yours sincerely,

Sandeep Bhatnagar
EAM – Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.4 mi away
Jaypee Vasant Continental
Jaypee Vasant Continental
#77 of 716 in New Delhi
569 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Delhi
Hyatt Regency Delhi
#38 of 716 in New Delhi
2,227 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#43 of 716 in New Delhi
3,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Delhi Airport
7.2 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
2.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel New Delhi Aerocity
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand New Delhi

Property: The Grand New Delhi
Address: Vasant Kunj Phase II, New Delhi 110002, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Mahipal Pur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#44 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#46 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#54 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of NCR, The Grand New Delhi is one of the city's most luxurious and finest five-star hotels. Well-equipped and luxurious with modern facilities and with its resort like feel having luscious greens, magnificent waterscapes, service par excellence, The Grand New Delhi, is the ideal home away from home for discerning business and leisure travelers. Delivering an extremely exclusive and personalized experience to each of its guests, it is the quintessential destination to relax, unwind and discover the city at your own pace. Ideally located, The Grand New Delhi, previously known as Grand Hyatt, is in close proximity to the best the city has to offer- luxury shopping malls such as DLF Emporio, DLF Promenade, Ambience mall; entertainment destinations, perfectly harmonizing city conveniences, diplomatic enclave, near the airport and elite corporate neighborhood, making it the preferred luxury five star hotel in New Delhi. Boasting 390 elegantly designed rooms & suites; 8 distinctive dining and nightlife destinations; the much acclaimed Spa Oasis and salon, state of the art fitness centre, outdoor Swimming pool; over 30,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces at your disposal, combined with our experience and expertise in organizing banquets, weddings, meetings, and events, The Grand New Delhi offers an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Grand New Delhi
Hotel The Grand New Delhi
The Grand Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing