We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service is a mixed bag; problems in the room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand New Delhi
Ranked #67 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service is a mixed bag; problems in the room”
Reviewed 14 November 2010

I had to be in Delhi for about 26 hours, so I ended up booking 2 nights at the hotel. Looks very impressive as you walk in: marble floors and columns, glass, looks grand, new and very clean. Kudos to the architect(s) and the workers who built this place. At first glance the room I got was just a nice, comfortable place. But then a number of problems started: (1) the sink was completely clogged and I had to call housekeeping to get that fixed. (2) then I discovered spots of (fairly fresh) urine on the toilet seat and a mild stench around the toilet. I cleaned the toilet seat myself enough to use it once. (3) the wireless just wouldn't work, and every time I talked to someone I got a different answer. Since it was late at night I gave up and went to sleep. But the problem persisted in the morning. Again, different answers and assurances that it would start working in a few minutes. Then I was told that the IT guys will need to look into it when they got in late that morning. That's when I decided it was too much. It was a business trip and I had some critical communications that needed to go out early that morning. So a bit of yelling and demanding that I speak to the duty manager elicited a call from him. In two minutes the internet problems were sorted out by some settings on their end. They sent housekeeping to clean the toilet, which they did. But guess what, the toilet looked clean, but the stench of urine remained. This was the best I was going to get, so I didn't raise it any more. They really need better cleaning techniques instead of reusing the same dirty rag over and over again. I suspect it just spreads the germs around.

The duty manager called back a few minutes later and offered a free bottle of wine for my troubles. I asked for complimentary internet instead, which he readily offered. But at checkout around midnight I was told they had no such information. So another round of exhibiting my temper and a couple of phone calls later I was told the charges would be waived.

It's not all bad, though. Breakfast is great. Restaurant service is great. Other than these issues, the room itself is very good and the decor is very nicely done. Although the bathroom is a little too dark.

But if things go wrong, they're either simply incapable of addressing it or will very confidently give you incorrect information. So don't believe a word they say until you confirm by alternative means. Unfortunately, it's only when you raise your voice that they're responsive (and after that they're overly obsequious). What they need is a staff that's credible, competent and professional. They don't need the extremes of incompetence and obsequiousness.

PS: I was also told by the concierge that a car rental of around Rs. 4500-5000 a day was the cheapest I would get in the city, which is complete nonsense, of course (another instance of the staff completely lacking credibility). I rented a very comfortable car for less than Rs. 1000 by calling an agency I found on the internet. Additionally, if you call the hotel to pick you up from or drop you off at the airport, they'll charge you Rs. 1800 for the 7-8km trip. Don't waste your money. I believe there's a Meru cab counter in every terminal, but please double-check that. The trip from the hotel to the international airport at midnight cost me only Rs. 225. The reverse might be 25-50 rupees more. Cars are comfortable, driver prompt, courteous and professional. They send you an SMS to confirm your booking with details of the car, driver, etc. (Their number is 4422 4422 in Delhi.)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bakaroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    372
    157
    57
    47
See reviews for
197
170
71
438
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
323 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

My first stay in this hotel was a disappointment; firstly, it is located oddly far away from everything else; secondly, its a large hotel with very long corridors making guest walk for several minutes especially if ones room is at the far end (as was mine); thirdly the service is very slow; and the club breakfast was ver inadequate (I was staying on club floor). Overall, it wont be my choice for another stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

The Grand Hotel has been a longstanding landmark in Delhi, known for its scale and lavishness. The hotel is immaculately kept, and especially after the refurbishment at the end of last year, the hotel looks even more "grand". The variety of restaurants available is fantastic, and the morning buffet is unusually something to look forward to during a stay. The location is very convenient for the airport. Is worth paying the extra money if you feel like treating yourself to some luxury

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenhouse01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

During my friend's wedding last year the whole wedding party and guests were put up at The Grand. The hotel is built on a beautiful property, making use of all the lush greenery that comes with it. The rooms are well decorated, and the bathrooms were especially cute. Two of the wedding functions were held at the hotel itself, and they dig an AMAZING job with the decorations and I can't rave enough about the food! The lavish breakfast spread they put out at the coffee shop is reason in itself to consider staying at the Grand. I tried out the spa as well during my stay, although slightly expensive, it was a comfortable experience. I would definitely stay at the Grand again the next time considering a hotel in Delhi. Two thumbs up to this place!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RatiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2010

I found the hotel is average but due to its location its working gr8..the rooms are fine..but reception and restaurants are very nice...But fair is too high..The view is also average..but as in the ambience is good..Staff often tends to take time to respond

Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PratikM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2010

The Grand was arranged for my party so it wasn't my choice. After my three-day there I can say that The Grand is really great hotel. I love the lobby; modern and impressive. I love the breakfast; the buffet is big and all foods are tasty. I love the room. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was great. A bit too modern for some tastes but I love it. And the hotel is next door to a big shopping complex if you are interested in western shopping. As a whole, The Grand is a great oasis in New Delhi.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rozy975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

The Hotel Grand is really Grand & fabulous. Reservations can be made online. Location is cloase to airport. Rooms are very comfortable. Bath is great. Variety of food & wine is available. Hotel bar is well stocked with wide choice of wine, beer, whiskey. Free valet parking for car.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chinar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Delhi
Hyatt Regency Delhi
#36 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jaypee Vasant Continental
Jaypee Vasant Continental
#76 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Delhi
Radisson Blu Plaza Delhi
#37 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sheraton New Delhi
Sheraton New Delhi
#24 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,536 reviews
2.0 mi away
Novotel New Delhi Aerocity
Novotel New Delhi Aerocity
#33 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand New Delhi

Property: The Grand New Delhi
Address: Vasant Kunj Phase II, New Delhi 110002, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Mahipal Pur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#42 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#46 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#54 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of NCR, The Grand New Delhi is one of the city's most luxurious and finest five-star hotels. Well-equipped and luxurious with modern facilities and with its resort like feel having luscious greens, magnificent waterscapes, service par excellence, The Grand New Delhi, is the ideal home away from home for discerning business and leisure travelers. Delivering an extremely exclusive and personalized experience to each of its guests, it is the quintessential destination to relax, unwind and discover the city at your own pace. Ideally located, The Grand New Delhi, previously known as Grand Hyatt, is in close proximity to the best the city has to offer- luxury shopping malls such as DLF Emporio, DLF Promenade, Ambience mall; entertainment destinations, perfectly harmonizing city conveniences, diplomatic enclave, near the airport and elite corporate neighborhood, making it the preferred luxury five star hotel in New Delhi. Boasting 390 elegantly designed rooms & suites; 8 distinctive dining and nightlife destinations; the much acclaimed Spa Oasis and salon, state of the art fitness centre, outdoor Swimming pool; over 30,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces at your disposal, combined with our experience and expertise in organizing banquets, weddings, meetings, and events, The Grand New Delhi offers an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Grand New Delhi
Hotel The Grand New Delhi
The Grand Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing