We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Clean hotel.. just need little improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand New Delhi
Ranked #63 of 736 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Its a good, nice and very clean hotel. Room size is good, comfortable beds, modern design/interior. Service is good. Although is next to the new shopping mall area of Vasant Kunj but it takes lot of time to travel to City Center and only connectivity is by Taxi.
It need slight improvement in house keeping as the blanket under the cover was dirty, tea pot was dirty.. , door bell never worked, key most of time give trouble and you have to get it changed. Pillows were very big which I found slightly uncomfortable and checking with housekeeping, they dont have smaller pillows.

And yes, toilets don't have bolt/lock so its bit odd for Indian guests and some find it very uncomfortable...

This hotel seems maximum clientage of events like marriages or conferences or airlines.
But stay was a good experience.. and with slight improvements, it can definitely be one of the best hotels of Delhi.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atycoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

939 - 945 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2011

It is a very classy hotel with an excellent spa and fitness centre.The hotel, interiors and its bar are very classy. The room was very spacious and so was the toilet. It has a huge bath tub and the wardrobe inside the toilet. The location is excellent for shopping as its next to 3 malls - including DLF Emporio. Overall a pricey hotel but with excellent service and rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VikasChawla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Date: 18/02/2011
Wedding of my sister at the Grand Vasant Kunj
It is a great hotel to stay & even to visit for some event also. we had family wedding. & it was awesome experience for all of us.....

great food excellent service *& good wine too.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shivi04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

I stay at this hotel as it is close to my parents house in Delhi. It was a fantastic hotel when it opened but not anymore. It is out of the way for the centre of Delhi but close to the airport. However, the hotel is right next to three shopping malls including the very very expensive dlf emporio designer mall.

The food is very average. Rooms were clean and modern but about the standard of a good four star. The hotel did not have an alcohol license after midnight which was shocking.

The staff were pleasant and helpful throughout. They are however, very keen on tips, especially the valet staff.

Overall, it is a nice hotel if you can get a good deal. Try otel.com for good deals, they seem to have better deals (only for this hotel though).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agulihar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Overnight stay was organized by Cathay Pacific as flight was delayed due to fog. Very nice hotel, warm and cosy. Rooms are not big but nicely done up. Lobby is nicely done up and a good place to relax. It has multiple levels. Breakfast spread was excellent with Indian and continental dishes. Have gone back for more meals again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anuj_mittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

I don't know why I decided to try this Hotel (I visit New Delhi every month for 4-6 days) but i regret doing so very much and will never step foot into this property again. Reasons why:
a) At 2:30am at check-in, they could not get an authorization for my credit-card even though the reservation was accepted with it. Just overall fumbling about like amateurs.
b) The shower stall in the bathroom has no door. Water was all over floor in the bathroom after a shower.
c) The bathroom flush would not always work. It would take 3-4 attempts at hour intervals.
d) The overhead sprinkler shower was not working.
e) When I ordered grilled salmon from room service it came in on time, but undercooked and the whole dish was generally forgettable. The size of the Tiramisu was a joke.
f) Could see the swimming pool from my window. There was no water in it and no sign inidicating it was open or closed.
g) There was no directory or anything else in the room that gave any indication of the kinds of restaurants in the Hotel.
h) When I wanted to leave, there was no answer at the Bell Desk for 10 minutes. When i got through the operator, it took 15 minutes for the porter to come.
i) At check-out it took 15 minutes for the receptionist to figure out that they did not accept my type of credit card. When i asked why they accepted it at time of reservation over the internet, there was inaudible mumbling. When I told the Manager (Younis, I think his name was) that i would never stay at the Hotel again, I got the same kind of muted mumbling indicating they did not care. Some one needs to tell their Finance Director not to accept cards for reservations and then refuse to accept them when its time to leave.

Take my advice. Do not stay there. Stick to the two Taj Hotels or the ITC Maurya. I have never been disappointed there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raan1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

Had been to Delhi for a conference and we were really impressed by the quality and the facilities inside the hotel. The lobby and the restaurants were impressive. The only problem was the location for us. Everything is relatively far from this hotel. I stayed here because the conference was in the hotel itself. But it's up to you to decide if you are ok with some commute to stay in this nice hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazymitian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.4 mi away
Jaypee Vasant Continental
Jaypee Vasant Continental
#100 of 736 in New Delhi
702 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Delhi
Hyatt Regency Delhi
#45 of 736 in New Delhi
2,459 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Leela Ambience Convention Hotel, Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel New Delhi Aerocity
7.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#34 of 736 in New Delhi
4,139 reviews
2.1 mi away
Roseate House New Delhi
Roseate House New Delhi
#5 of 736 in New Delhi
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand New Delhi

Address: Vasant Kunj Phase II, New Delhi 110002, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Vasant Kunj/Vasant Vihar , Mahipal Pur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#36 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#46 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £75 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of NCR, The Grand New Delhi is one of the city's most luxurious and finest five-star hotels. Well-equipped and luxurious with modern facilities and with its resort like feel having luscious greens, magnificent waterscapes, service par excellence, The Grand New Delhi, is the ideal home away from home for discerning business and leisure travelers. Delivering an extremely exclusive and personalized experience to each of its guests, it is the quintessential destination to relax, unwind and discover the city at your own pace. Ideally located, The Grand New Delhi, previously known as Grand Hyatt, is in close proximity to the best the city has to offer- luxury shopping malls such as DLF Emporio, DLF Promenade, Ambience mall; entertainment destinations, perfectly harmonizing city conveniences, diplomatic enclave, near the airport and elite corporate neighborhood, making it the preferred luxury five star hotel in New Delhi. Boasting 390 elegantly designed rooms & suites; 8 distinctive dining and nightlife destinations; the much acclaimed Spa Oasis and salon, state of the art fitness centre, outdoor Swimming pool; over 30,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces at your disposal, combined with our experience and expertise in organizing banquets, weddings, meetings, and events, The Grand New Delhi offers an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grand New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Grand New Delhi
Hotel The Grand New Delhi
The Grand Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing