We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not very nice...”
Review of Vivek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vivek Hotel
Ranked #234 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not very nice...”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Hotel Vivek is located in the middle of main street bazar which is already a dirty busy place full of touts. We stayed there 3 nights after our arrival to India and had enough of it. Rooms are cheap , clean but very basic. Most of them dont have a window and if they have you rather dont open them. Because of noise and dust in the streets. The main bother is the guy from the hotel who always knocks on the door, offers tea, and does other things to "help" you and expects money. Driver who they use for pick up and drop out at the airport is also a character. Always wants something extra. Generally speaking I would not recommend this hotel to anyone except travelers who are not faint hearted and want a genuine experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    81
    93
    48
    67
See reviews for
16
100
92
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This hotel is in Paharganj - a chaotic overpopulated area near New Delhi Railway station. Like many other hotels in this area, this was mostly occupied by non-Indians. We stayed there for 3 nights and taken two rooms (superior category) during November 2012. Both the rooms were clean and well decorated. One of the room had an window that dircetly opened to a heap of garbage on a narrow road. The staff was generally helpful. However, the supply of hot water was very irregular. 1st Day it was ok, on 2nd day they informed that the water heater is not working and can't be repaired till next day. 3rd day the hot water was available barely for an hour. Roof top restaurant provides a good place to sit and relax. Most of the day ( till 11Am or so..) the air was covered with smog and you can barely see anything!! The food in the roof top restaurant was ok but little bit pricey.

I would recommend to avoid this hotel if you are travelling with the family.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Dsala
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Stayed in February for 4nights and I had a good time. Location is superb, you might want to ask for a room away from the main road at the back. Also, 3rd floor rooms near the shaft ( there is a restaurant upstairs) can be nbóisy as you can hear all the sounds from the restaurant. Restaurant closes around 22.30 anyway and all quietens down then. Rooms vary in styles and I had a double room for single use.Bed was clean, sheets could have been cleaner as usual, towels are okay. There was a fan, wardrobe( no clothes hangars),TV and a fridge in the room. There was plenty of hot water and even a air dryer to get the bathroom dry after your shower!The hotel busboys knocking on your door were annoying...had to tell them not to bother me. At the lobby there are computers for customers use for extra charge, WIFI, a travel agency and a cafe.Restaurant staff upstairs at Sam's wasnt very efficient and they forgot your orders too often. Food was good. Overall the hotel is a good deal for Pahar Ganj and I would stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reindeer200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

For my trip to India I was a woman travelling alone (at least for this part of the trip) so I wanted to get al least my first night booked...I made my reservation using hostel word, when I got there they said I never paid throught the web page and they made me search my mail for the payment, after about 30 minutes they finally agreed I did pay. Your look at the pictures and the rooms seem nice, but the reality is completely diferent...I actually don't care is it's not nice as long as it's clean but it was neither...would definitelly would not recommend this place

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casimirita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This is a well-established backpacker-type place in the middle of Pahar Ganj that has been around for a while. The rooms are pretty basic but having said that, they're clean and comfortable. The staff know what they're up to and were really helpful. I especially enjoyed travelling in the ancient lift!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bruxelles
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Arriving at New Delhi station the first thought you may have is no thanks, I am not staying here. Yet, this place, just 10 minutes on foot away from the station is a good deal. It is clean enough, with nice rooms (we had one with windows, but many have no external windows), staff is ok, the price is pretty good. So no doubt a good place for a small budget. The restaurant at the top floor is also a great deal! We ended up eating always there!! Food is simple but pretty good and no doubt cheap.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank driazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We have stayed many times at Vivek hotel because of it´s good location and reasonable prices for comfortable and clean rooms in Pahar Ganj. Rooms vary a lot so it´s good to check out few. Some are moldy and not so clean and some are very modern and good value. The newer ones with air-condition are the best.

Some of the staff are really nice and helpful but some are really annoying. Some of the staff don´t seem to understand that sometimes people want to sleep long in the mornings. One worker was obsessed to offer us tea at seven o´clock in the morning every day!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Payal
#196 of 715 in New Delhi
164 reviews
Hotel Avtar
#408 of 715 in New Delhi
52 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#88 of 715 in New Delhi
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Shivam International
#410 of 715 in New Delhi
18 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Heritage Home
Hotel Heritage Home
#325 of 715 in New Delhi
94 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Pearl Plaza
Hotel Pearl Plaza
#269 of 715 in New Delhi
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivek Hotel

Property: Vivek Hotel
Address: 1534-50 Main Bazar | Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vivek Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1968 we have been in the hospitality business for over 4 decades. With over 60 rooms and 2 in house restaurants we are an old and a recognized establishment. Being situated in the heart of Delhi we are close to all major tourist and business establishments. The Hotel is at a 30-35 Minutes drive from the International Airport and 25-30 minutes drive From the Domestic Airport. We are at a 5-10 Minute walk from the New Delhi Railway Station. Hotel also offrs airport pickup's if requested. The Hotel Includes 3 Multi Cuisine Restaurants including a well stocked Bar, a roof top garden restaurant called 'Sam's Cafe', which is recommended by Lonely Planet .In addition, we offer facilities such as Money Changer, Travel Information desk, International Calling Facility, Laundry Service, Doctor on Call, Car Rental, Safe Deposit, Long Term Luggage Storage and an Internet Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Vivek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivek Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing