We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly”
Review of Vivek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vivek Hotel
Ranked #195 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 20 January 2009

Upon arrival on January 1st all the staff could offer two people was a small room with no window - at 900 rupees. Asking for a room with a windomw the next day just gave us a cold shoulder and upon checking out we had to haggle for a refund of the deposit paid for the second night.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank VikingtravellerOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2008

We booked a room at 400 rupees by internet because our plane arrived at night in Delhi and we wanted to make sure we had a room. When we arrived, the owner insisted to make us pay the taxi. Just after he announced that he only had a room with AC, for 1400 rupees ! We told him we had sent him several emails to make sure he kept a room for us and that he said he would, but he did not even apologize. Another girl was in the same situation. He finally agreed to lower the price to 1200 (already extremely expensive for the kind of room !) but we left, very angry. It might be a good hotel, but the owners are not the kind of persons you want to mingle with.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ramdam75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2008

Booked a room with them weeks before, with several emails between us, but when we arrived they didn't have a record of us and our room. But we were able to check into a double room on the third floor for 1000rs - a/c, fan, TV, double bed, clean towels and toilet paper, new bathroom which was very nice and clean - but hot water had to be arranged with them rather than just turned on with the tap??!!. They are doing up the hotel, so the hallways are full of wooden doors being varnished, and pots of paint. It needs decorating as in parts looks very old and run down, but our room looked good. Only had a tiny window in it so didn't get any views, but it was light and smelled ok.
Hotel had room service, and a restaurant upstairs - food seemed ok and cheap. No alcohol, but the man in the hallway would offer to go and buy you some for a small fee and then bring you back a warm beer 20 minutes later!!
There is an internet room downstairs, which takes a copy of your passport before you can use it, as part of the security due to bombings in the area and the link to internet cafes. The check in also includes copies of your passport and a photo of you on their security video.
Location of hotel is good, on the main bazaar, with some very cheap shopping. Its close to the station, and they can arrange a car to the airport for 250rs (other places in the area will do it for 200rs). The main bazaar has a strange security system at either end, with police will make you walk through metal detectors and then search your bags, but if you are in a rickshaw you just drive straight through. It really depends on how they feel that day whether they can be bothered to search you.
The hotel was a good one for the one night we stayed there, in the right location and cheap enough for an a/c room.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jclewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2008

Having left the Rak International we moved into the Vivek hotel on the Main bazaar. We were shown various rooms of various prices on the first floor. We were shown cheaper rooms on higher floors but went for a nice room with A/C. All of the rooms seemed recently renovated and had clean bathrooms. In fact this was one of the cleanest hotels we saw in India. However the A/C had a strange smell, possibly because of dirty filters.

The hotel is right on the Main bazaar which means it’s close to the New Delhi train station where you can catch the all important trains to Agra (to see the Taj Mahal) and Jaipur. Both trains leave early morning, and this hotel is literally minutes away from the station. Incidentally go straight to the international ticket office on the 1st floor to buy these tickets. It opens 8am-8pm (2pm on Sundays), and ignore the people that tell you it’s closed down/being renovated, and direct you to their friend’s/brother’s travel agent.

The hotel has Sam’s Café on it’s roof, with great views of the city. It serves various dishes, including breakfast but beware the “hash browns”, they are not the American version, but boiled potatoes cut into cubes and mixed with onions and peppers. Also recommended is the Kitchen Café not far away on the same street.

Hotel staff ranged from polite and helpful to surly and business like! They did arrange a taxi for us to the airport for 250 rupees. They also have internet.

We paid 1200 rupees for a double room with A/C and en-suite bathroom. There was no breakfast included.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank NeRudeBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

The a/c rooms are nice and the food decent and cheap. There are minimal creepy-crawlies, which is a bonus in backpacker Old Delhi. It's a good location near the train station and the market.

However, we don't trust the owners. They seem out to make a buck rather than take care of customers. We booked through their website, including a ride from the airport. The ride never showed (we heard another couple complaining that they were being charged for a ride that never showed). Also, they didn't have our reserved room; instead, we got placed in the sketchiest room on the top floor. We eventually got upgraded to a nicer room, but they also raised the price on us from what the website said. When we reserved the same room for our return trip to Delhi 12 days later, they didn't have that record either, even though we gave them some money up front. Until we showed them their own hand-written receipt, they didn't believe that we paid them in advance. Then we got a smaller room for the same high price. I just get the impression these guys take reservations but allow anyone to stay when they arrive and would charge you again unless you can prove otherwise.

We are seasoned travelers and have our cultural expectations in check, but when people smile at you and say something, and then turn around and do something else, you can't trust them. And trust is all you have when traveling.

I have no idea how this hotel has been in business for so long. By the end, we unfortunately trusted no one there.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JohnKChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2008

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights..
They have a wide range of rooms ov different cost..
had a nice stay the staff was friendly. I had issues with the Taxi i took from the airport to the hotel the staff was helpful enough to deal with the overcharging the driver for me..
The food is nice you can catch a bit ov sun on the roof...
The have WIFI which was nice i used my laptop in my room which was a plus.

All in all it was a good experience.. I would recommend the hotel for a cheap place in delhi..

Stayed: April 2008
3  Thank hannahHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2007

We stayed at the Vivek hotel in Pahar Ganj in November last. We chose it because we wanted to be in the middle of the busy bazaar area to experience the atmosphere of Delhi. All I can say really is avoid it unless really desperate.
We emailed our booking and had requested an airport pick up which they claimed to offer- it never materialised.When we arrived they didn't seem to have our booking but that was ok because they had vacancies...... with good reason. The room we stayed in was filthy, noisy and did not feel at all safe. There were men hanging around on each floor and in the reception area constantly for no apparent reason. My husbands sandals were stolen from the room! need I say more. We moved after one night to the Ajanta which was much nicer but also much more expensive. We consider ourselves accustomed to backpacking and staying in rough and ready places all over, but could not possibly recommend this place even to seasoned travellers!
ps the restaurant in the Metropolis hotel up the street was great!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank cbdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#107 of 779 in New Delhi
336 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Pearl Plaza
Hotel Pearl Plaza
#352 of 779 in New Delhi
53 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Heritage Home
Hotel Heritage Home
#431 of 779 in New Delhi
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Arjun
Hotel Arjun
#127 of 779 in New Delhi
237 reviews
Pahar Ganj
The White Klove
The White Klove
#168 of 779 in New Delhi
401 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
#72 of 779 in New Delhi
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivek Hotel

Address: 1534-50 Main Bazar | Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: £11 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vivek Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1968 we have been in the hospitality business for over 4 decades. With over 60 rooms and 2 in house restaurants we are an old and a recognized establishment. Being situated in the heart of Delhi we are close to all major tourist and business establishments. The Hotel is at a 30-35 Minutes drive from the International Airport and 25-30 minutes drive From the Domestic Airport. We are at a 5-10 Minute walk from the New Delhi Railway Station. Hotel also offrs airport pickup's if requested. The Hotel Includes 3 Multi Cuisine Restaurants including a well stocked Bar, a roof top garden restaurant called 'Sam's Cafe', which is recommended by Lonely Planet .In addition, we offer facilities such as Money Changer, Travel Information desk, International Calling Facility, Laundry Service, Doctor on Call, Car Rental, Safe Deposit, Long Term Luggage Storage and an Internet Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vivek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivek Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing