We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel with great restaurant”
Review of Vivek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vivek Hotel
Ranked #232 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
London
2 reviews
“Good basic hotel with great restaurant”
Reviewed 19 May 2009

I had read a lot of bad things about this place on here, but it was the only hostel recommended by both the Rough Guide and the Lonely Planet. I was pleasantly suprised with the hotel. It was basic, but the service was friendly, the room was good and clean (we went for deluxe), and the beds were perfectly comfortable.

The restaurant was good and you got nice views over the rooftops.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honestimbritney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    81
    93
    48
    67
See reviews for
16
100
92
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2009

Hotel Vivek was recommended by a friend since I was traveling into New Delhi and needed to catch a train the next day. It was simple, clean (by Indian budget guest house standards) and was reasonably priced for the room.
There was some confusion at the front desk as to whether or not I paid when I arrived (which I did)- so keep the receipts they give you, just in case.
It's in Pahar Ganj (aka the hell realms), but the food in the roof cafe (Sam's) is safe to eat and there's a variety of foods.

I wouldn't vacation here, but it was fine for just passing through New Delhi.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank carolineboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2009

We stayed at the Vivek Hotel 3 weeks ago (April 2009).
After reading many of the reviews we were pretty skeptical, but as it turned out, despite pretty hard beds (which are common in India), we had nothing to complain about.

We arranged an airport pick-up months ago. No problem.
The pick-up price was what they said.
We booked a CLUB ROOM that was clean and the bathroom was fine.
As regards the criticisms,
don't book any standard under a club room, or you will get what you pay for from what I hear.

Sam's bar on the roof makes the whole thing worth it, believe me.
It is a real oasis. Ice cold beer. Great service. Good food.
The location, right in the middle of Pahar Ganj on the main bazaar was exactly what I wanted for my first time in Delhi. Exposed and in the middle of the madness.

No, it is not the Ritz.
The hallways and stairwells are still undergoing a developmental process (don't worry, it was still quiet) and it is not a standard comparable to decent motels in the west, but, if you just want a decent, clean, air-conditioned, and what we felt was a safe lay-over for one or two nights in the middle of Delhi it was fine, especially with Sam's Bar/ restaurant on the top.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffersnorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveltohell
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2009

Ok fellow travelers..this hotel is a ok.. its clean and the bathrooms are CLEAN ..(hard to find a clean bathroom in budget hotels in India). The restaurant is ok too its inexpensive and the kitchen is an open one so it seems clean too. I have been traveling for 3 months in India and would recommend this hotel. I paid about 800 Indian rupees for my room for a night. Nice market outside and the metro station is around the corner, but beware of people coming at you to sell you stuff you don't need... oh and there are cows on the road too....

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltohell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2009

I was budget traveling for 7 months and the Vivek hotel, by far, was the worst place that I stayed. They cannot be trusted...period. They never showed up to pick us up at the airport. They gave away our room that we had reserved months earlier. (They had one room left that was so beyond gross and miserable that we were unable to even sleep the first night). They claimed we did not pay for our room. They were trying to make us repay. I finally found the receipt they had given me. They did not make any apologies but instead said that I was a good girl. (What does that even mean?) This place had a variety of room from pretty nice with A/C to something resembling a Thai prison. Just because you make a reservation for a nice room doesn't mean that is where you will end up. Their word mean nothing. Also, even though the rooms are nice, everything else about this building is pretty grimy and gross. I have spent a few months in India and anywhere else is better than this. Please avoid and do not support these people that are unsavory bad people.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drumaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2009

A rip off, unfriendly, untrustworthy, unwelcoming, lacking of any charm place to stay.
We had booked a pick up from the airport which was not there when we arrived. There was no record of our booking even though I had emailed and called several times to confirm. When we got a cheaper pre-paid taxi to the hotel we had a very unwelcome greeting and a man who showed us 3 awful rooms which we picked the nicest at 1500inrs. I wish we had stayed elsewhere.
Sam's cafe was ok and had a good view of the main bazaar but was also really unfriendly. Food was average.
When we checked out, the receptionist had the cheek to try and make us pay for the taxi which didn't turn up and they had no record of the numerous conversations/emails I had made/sent. He even went through the name cards from that day to prove he had been there but couldn't find it!
Stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vivisace75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2009

Upon arrival on January 1st all the staff could offer two people was a small room with no window - at 900 rupees. Asking for a room with a windomw the next day just gave us a cold shoulder and upon checking out we had to haggle for a refund of the deposit paid for the second night.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VikingtravellerOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Avtar
#381 of 716 in New Delhi
51 reviews
Hotel Payal
#201 of 716 in New Delhi
163 reviews
Hotel Shivam International
#400 of 716 in New Delhi
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#87 of 716 in New Delhi
319 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Heritage Home
Hotel Heritage Home
#316 of 716 in New Delhi
94 reviews
Hotel Welcom Inn
#488 of 716 in New Delhi
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivek Hotel

Property: Vivek Hotel
Address: 1534-50 Main Bazar | Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vivek Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1968 we have been in the hospitality business for over 4 decades. With over 60 rooms and 2 in house restaurants we are an old and a recognized establishment. Being situated in the heart of Delhi we are close to all major tourist and business establishments. The Hotel is at a 30-35 Minutes drive from the International Airport and 25-30 minutes drive From the Domestic Airport. We are at a 5-10 Minute walk from the New Delhi Railway Station. Hotel also offrs airport pickup's if requested. The Hotel Includes 3 Multi Cuisine Restaurants including a well stocked Bar, a roof top garden restaurant called 'Sam's Cafe', which is recommended by Lonely Planet .In addition, we offer facilities such as Money Changer, Travel Information desk, International Calling Facility, Laundry Service, Doctor on Call, Car Rental, Safe Deposit, Long Term Luggage Storage and an Internet Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Vivek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivek Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing