We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for its price but not Taj Standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Ranked #47 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice for its price but not Taj Standard”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Well Taj by its brand calls for quality and something different, but this was like a normal 3 or 4 star hotel. best part is its location its right in heart of city and ahas easy access to south delhi, Cp, india gate and all the VIP areas of delhi.

rooms are decent but view from rooms is nothing great to say the least. i was upgraded being a epicure plus member sso luckily my room was a bedroom with living room and that was good to have. hotel serves breakfast in a small cafeteria located on right corridor from enterance. again the breakfast was not taj standard and was not lavish..

one thing that was surely Taj standard was their service and cleaniness.

if you are business traveller need place in central delhi, need brand to back it up this is the place do not expect anything fancy by TAJ brand in this hotel though. if you need fancy stuff book Taj Mansingh 5 mins from this hotel but you ll pay almost double for that fancy stuff :)

Nice value for money hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SameerBansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    328
    146
    50
    31
See reviews for
159
112
96
509
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I stayed at this hotel for four weeks. During that time I never had a problem or a request that wasn't handled graciously and immediately. Service is fantastic and the entire staff goes out of their way to serve you. The rooms and baths are spacious and nicely appointed. Little extras like fruit in the room and a fresh rosebud in a vase made one feel very well cared for. The location, just down the street from Kahn Market, is central and very convenient to most attractions. The food at the Yellow Brick Road is good and the breakfast buffet is lavish. The dining room staff is attentive and remembers your preferences. It is worth going to Delhi to stay here! It is probably the most positive experience I have had in a hotel in any city anywhere.

Room Tip: There are rooms of all sizes. Some are quite spacious--let them know what you're looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wood32174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucknow, India
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Was here for a night on 29/30 July and it is very close to other five star hotels including few blocks away from towering Taj Mansingh - but this surely is royal and majestic - and preserves the old world charm... and presents a refreshing grand experience of old times!

the lush green garden will surely catch your eyes, the reception interiors doesn't really spill the beans till you reach your room. the natural lights in the room and bathroom, the play of white and colours - and old world furniture and decor - wedded beautifully with modern world technology and gadgets will surely leave a lasting imprint.

The coffee shop is absolutely brilliantly done up - it extends into an open space too if weather permits and has an air conditioned part as well. The food did NOT impress me - which is really a downside given other aspects of this hotel that does impress the guest.

It is an old property - and very old construction - but very well maintained too.

It is hardly 5 min walking distance from Khan Market (very posh Delhi market which is full of shopping and dining opportunities too! very close to India Gate area/ Lodhi area - so central for work too.

Room Tip: the room windows are really low - so be careful and draw curtains when required :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbyramakant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We stayed 3 nights here, wonderful quiet relaxing hotel, perfect after hot and busy days touring Delhi, delicious food, especially the complementary breakfast, the staff is very attentive and they found out it was my birthday and treated me with well wishes, flowers and a birthday cake!!! This kind and extraordinary service is what is missing from so many hotels we have stayed in. We would definitely stay here again on our next visit to Delhi!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandp2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

This hotel is not the typical Taj quality hotel. They seem to have renovated an old property or hotel. I was told I am being upgraded . The room itself had all the amenities but looked a bit outdated especially the bathroom. The gym was too small and one machine was out of order which did not leave me with many options for exercise. The buffet breakfast was quite nice and the staff in the restaurant was very warm. The plus point about the hotel is that it is in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saeesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights in May.

Room: My room was very good. A decent size, nicely decorated, comfortable bed although for some reason I was in a twin room with single beds when I had booked a double. Air conditioning is good, TV fine, there was a safe and plenty of wardrobe space. I found the bathroom a decent size but a bit shabby. A good size balcony with a view of the metro!! The wireless in the room is not free and I found it expensive for a business trip where I needed to log in to my work email.

Lobby is very nice and well decorated. Service was good although once again use of the business centre was not free.

Breakfast was not very good- stale pastries and sour milk. Although the people who ordered cooked eggs said they were very good.

There is NO pool at this hotel although guests are able to use the pool at the nearby Taj Mahal hotel and are taken there for free. Having said this - you may as well stay at the Taj Mahal as it is a far superior hotel.

The best thing about the hotel is its location right next to Khan market.

I would not stay here again for business.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuroCorrespondant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I stayed here for 3 days for a business trip. The place is quiet and cozy. They offer you great service (after all its TAJ!).
The place has a great gym and a trainer who taught me a trick or two to keep my self fit!
I was also given complementory breakfast in he package however room service was not included in it.

Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Delhi
0.4 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 715 in New Delhi
2,058 reviews
10.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Dwarka
Vivanta by Taj - Dwarka
#52 of 715 in New Delhi
571 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#37 of 715 in New Delhi
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#8 of 715 in New Delhi
2,791 reviews
8.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj, Surajkund
Vivanta by Taj, Surajkund
#1 of 19 in Faridabad
875 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Address: Sujan Singh Park | Subramania Bharti Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#34 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#60 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#64 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi is an INTACH listed heritage building, built in 1945 by the colonial architect Walter George in a poetic medley of British and art deco style. This arrival zone sets the tone for guestrooms and banquet facilities that deliver the ultimate in urban relaxation. Get set to be delighted with small surprises from the moment you enter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, DerbySoftTaj, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Ambassador Hotel New Delhi
Ambassador New Delhi
The Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel In Delhi
Ambassador Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing