We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little emerald in the chaos of Delhi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Ranked #47 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The hotel is not in the centre and not in the business district. But it is only 50 metres from Khan Market Metro station. From here there is fairly fast transport to some of the key areas of Delhi.

The hotel is a wonderful heritage building, built in the 1940s, but in ethos it harkens back to earlier times in the 20th century. It has about 88 rooms. It has a rather grand and old fashioned entrance and reception, with cool marble interior, straight out of the Edwardian era.

Do not expect all mod cons. The rooms are a little dated and quaint. But they are fairly large and I had a room with a wooden floor, which I prefer. No musty smells. My room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the peaceful green lawns in front of the hotel. I had working French windows and a balcony. So you can relax there in the evening over a drink and watch the green parakeets fly over. Simply delightful. I do not know of any other Delhi hotel that has such a magic touch of peace and refreshment.

I had an old fashioned bathroom with an old bath that had seen better days, but it worked well and it felt greatly relaxing in this cool marble-floored room. The bed was comfortable and there were a variety of pillow options. I was surprised, however, that no bathrobe or slippers were provided (finally some slippers appeared late on the second day). Seasonal fruits are provided gratis, you just need to phone for them (I had banana and pineapple).

The gym is very limited. Not up to modern standards.

Room service. Good- The Garlic Steak Diane came with a good sauce, and bread rolls on the side. The veg consisted of mashed potato, broccoli and carrots. Tasty meal. Cost was about £10, and they kindly brought a free delicious dessert, even though I had not ordered one.

Staff service quality is very good. Staff welcome you with a cool drink. Staff are well trained and attentive as would be expected of a Taj group hotel.

At this time of the year I got the room for about £95 per night (including taxes) for room and breakfast. Wifi costs an extra £9 a day. In the high season it can cost almost double that.

If you are not a fitness fanatic, and do not have to be close to your work, this hotel is a little emerald. At the right time of the year it is great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the gardens if you want a view. If you want real peace as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nemo149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta By – Taj Ambassador, New Delhi.

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

Your suggestions ‘rooms are little dated & Gym not up to modern standards’ has been noted. Feedback from esteemed guests like you, helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times

Kind regards,

Sumeet Taneja
General Manager
Vivanta By - Taj Ambassador, New Delhi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

680 - 686 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

An excellent art deco hotel whilst could do with some modernisation, any needs are far surpassed by the quality of the customer care service from staff. Excellent restaurants and bars, outstanding staff and close to local Khan Market and Lodi Gardens within easy walking distance, even in the heat! About half an hour from the airport and 10 minute rickshaw ride to major tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. Your suggestion regarding ‘modernization’ has been noted. Your feedback is extremely helpful and important to us in delivering the highest level of quality and service to our valuable customers.

Comments such as yours are welcomed as they assist us in evaluating our operation and success.

We do hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again soon and that your visit is an enjoyable one in every respect.

Kind regards,

Sumeet Taneja
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I stayed here recently for 5 nights and found my stay extremely pleasant and enjoyable. The Taj Ambassador is located very well with Lodhi gardens on one end and Khan market on the other. Every thing is within walking distance- shopping, restaurants, you name it. The staff try their best to make your stay comfortable and their breakfast buffet has a very interesting mix of cuisines. A great pick while in Delhi

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anjali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta By Taj – Ambassador, New Delhi

At the outset, I would like to thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am glad that we were able to make your stay with us a pleasant one. Positive reviews like this are a great source of motivation.

Your compliment ‘staff try their best to make your stay comfortable’ has been shared with our team. Thank you for this encouragement; this sure would help our team to strive for the better.

I do look forward to meeting you on your next visit.

Kind regards,


Sumeet Taneja
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This is very homely feeling hotel, having old architecture but yet modern luxuries. the food at yellow brick road is really home like yet tasty and sumptuous. The location is really good, just next doors and walking distance from the markets. Khan market is a shoppers paradise.....

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divs803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We were only here for 2 days but this hotel was brilliant! We were recommended to go to Khan Market in Delhi for some great food and shopping, and this hotel is literally 2 mins walking distance from it!
The staff were super friendly and helped us out to get a car at 3am to drive us to the Taj Mahal for the day!
They also provided a free Taxi service to the Taj Mahal Hotel across the road for a swim!
Yeh its not quite as grand as the Taj, but we loved it. Nice clean room and huge bathroom!
Only downside was having to pay for the wifi, but it wasnt much.
Lovely charming hotel. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

i ordered a cake & i was terribly disappointed. i paid a bomb for a 1 kg black forest cake to be delivered at a particular date from this site. It clearly mentioned "TAJ black forest cake" -from a leading Taj hotel. the order was delivered one day earlier to everyone's utter surprise & to our disgust was not anything near a 1 kg cake, i wonder if it could even qualify to be called a real Cake, as it almost had no base.. only cream. It looked nothing like what was shown. It was from TAJ VIVANTA, DELHI. surprisingly poor quality... only full of cream & nothing else. A second order that i had placed for a similar cake simply took forever to get delivered.. after waiting the entire day, it was finally delivered at 10 PM...only to have the same low quality! Completely spoilt the occasion & the worth of money spend over the arrangement. And all this after spending INR 2399 on one cake. I personally feel that is good enough money to get anyone a nice posh cake!!

Im surprised,.. i thought if i ordered a "Taj" cake it would mean quite a something.. the name itself should've been enough. But i guess i'll have to think 10 times before i order from Taj again

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank bambam21gs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights during a quick trip to Delhi since most other hotels were sold out owing to some huge expo in the city. The Taj Vivanta Ambassador could be Taj group's orphan child. I understand that the hotel is a "budget Taj" but the poor condition reflects on the Taj group. This is an old hotel in central New Delhi - a few minutes walk from the superb Taj Mansingh and the shopping haven of Khan Market.

The hotel is about 45 mins drive from New Delhi airport and is close to the metro.

The building that houses the hotel is a heritage structure. The rooms are elegantly decorated
and have been fitted with all the modern amenities required. I booked a deluxe room which had views of the front gardens (most preferred rooms).

During my stay I tried a few drinks at Insomnia and food at the outlanndish and out of place yellow brick road. With the later, I have no idea what struck the management to have such a odd cafe in a heritage building.

To sum it up, I wouldnt stay here again as for the price I could get another 3-4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Reserve a front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGTravel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Delhi
0.4 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 715 in New Delhi
2,119 reviews
10.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Dwarka
Vivanta by Taj - Dwarka
#49 of 715 in New Delhi
615 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#38 of 715 in New Delhi
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
1.4 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#18 of 715 in New Delhi
2,880 reviews
8.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj, Surajkund
Vivanta by Taj, Surajkund
#1 of 20 in Faridabad
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi

Address: Sujan Singh Park | Subramania Bharti Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#35 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#60 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#64 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £105 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi is an INTACH listed heritage building, built in 1945 by the colonial architect Walter George in a poetic medley of British and art deco style. This arrival zone sets the tone for guestrooms and banquet facilities that deliver the ultimate in urban relaxation. Get set to be delighted with small surprises from the moment you enter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Ambassador Hotel New Delhi
Ambassador New Delhi
The Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel In Delhi
Ambassador Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing