We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Ranked #47 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Our stay in this hotel was fantastic. The hotel was recommended and had very good reviews. The service was impeccable! The staff were great - so helpful, friendly and very professional! I travelled with a friend and stayed at this hotel at the beginning and at the end out our trip in India - it has been an absolute pleasure coming back here. I would highly recommend the hotel to everyone coming to Delhi. We were very well looked after all along. This place is like a heaven.
Many thanks to everyone who looked after us! Brilliant! Excellent! Impeccable service!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta By Taj – Ambassador, New Delhi

I thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

It always feels good to receive feedback, particularly when it is as positive as your experience was.

We strive every day to ensure our guests have a wonderful time at our hotel and it is extremely encouraging for someone to tell us. Thank you so much for taking the time to share this with us. It really means a lot all of us.

Thank you again for your kind comments and patronage. We look forward to serving you again.

Kind regards,

Suman Gahlot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    328
    146
    50
    31
See reviews for
159
112
96
509
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The hotel surroundings are covered by so many trees you would find it hard to locate the building from the main road at night. The rooms are big with spacious bathrooms. Unique signage next to the tub reads: do not get into the tub after consuming alcohol. This was pretty amusing to see. The best feature of this hotel is the walking distance from Khan market. The breakfast area was cramped and could have been more lavish. All in all, an average hotel with a pleasant stay. Nothing to talk home about.

Room Tip: go for a garden view of the hotel. My balcony opened up to walls of the other wing of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjeev2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

Thank you for your comment ‘big room and spacious bathroom’. With regard to signage next to bathtub, kindly note it is purely for the safety purpose of our guests.

Your comments regarding ‘cramped breakfast area & could have been more lavish’ have been shared with our Food & Beverage Manager & Executive Chef. They would personally look into the same.

We do hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again soon and that your visit is an enjoyable one in every respect.

Kind regards,

Suman Gahlot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

The name Taj is synonymous with Excellence n my belief is reaffirmed with every stay. However, this was the first time in Taj ambassador and we really had an excellent family time here.
The property is small n old( heritage) but they have made the best out of it. It is a good blend of heritage n luxury.
The place is small but that makes it more comfortable n homely.
The staff is courteous n helpful n would go to an extra mile to make u comfortable.
The best thing about Taj compare to other luxury hotels, which I have stayed is that at Taj they truly believe in "athithi devo bavo" n don't discriminate between their guest unlike other hotels which gives undue attention to foreigners.
The buffet breakfast at cafe even offered us take aways for the Kid, the Restutant gave us complimentary dessert once they came to know we were leaving. I know these are small gestures but there is so much warmth n genuineness among the staff that its worth mentioning. The only scope of improvement that is the health club at the mazzine floor.
Lastly the Company which respects n love their Defence forces can never go wrong. Keep up the great work!!!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank wikks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,

At the outset, I would like to thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

It always feels good to receive feedback, particularly when it is as positive as your experience was. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time here. We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded. I will share your comments with the entire staff. It means so much to our team to hear a review like yours. It is our pleasure to have served you.

With regard to you suggestion regarding ‘mazzine floor’ has been noted for next renovation plan.

Thank you again for your kind comments and patronage. We look forward to serving you again.

Kind regards,


Suman Gahlot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I booked this hotel online as the treat to myself and I was pleasantly surprised with them exceeding my expectations. I did not expect the upgrade to a suite that i was given. The MOD had fruits sent up for my dinner. Breakfast was made complimentary. To add that the suite was huge, the attached study was superb, the bathroom felt luxuriously colonial. Breakfast was served in style with many a smile. I even got my daily quota of Oats. I only regret not having the family with me to share this experience.
I had forgotten my mobile charger at home, on informing him, the MOD at request bought one so that I would not be stranded.

Room Tip: go for the suite, mine even had a piano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raj_benedict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta By Taj – Ambassador, New Delhi

At the outset, I would like to thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

It always feels good to receive feedback, particularly when it is as positive as your experience was.

We strive every day to ensure our guests have a wonderful meal and a marvelous time at our hotel and it is extremely encouraging for someone to tell us. Thank you so much for taking the time to share this with us. It really means a lot to all of us.

Thank you again for your kind comments and patronage. We look forward to serving you again.

Kind regards,


Suman Gahlot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Excellent from the moment we were picked up from the airport, staff so welcoming, everyone so attentive, professional, kind, patient. First visit back to India after many years. Even if you do not stay at the hotel, we recommend you have lunch or dinner at The Yellow Brick Road restaurant at the hotel - the management, service and food is excellent, try the buttered chicken, my favorite. Have a chat with the chef - he explains how he achieves such perfection in taste, a very knowledgeable chap. We cannot single out one member of staff as they were all so excellent, so I suppose credit should go to the management - great hotel, hope to come back some day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We strive to provide all of our guests with a memorable and comfortable stay whilst with us. We are happy that you were impressed with the associate’s warm, welcoming, professional, kind, patient attitude in all of your dealings as our guest.

Moreover we are delighted to know that you also liked the food. Thank you for this encouragement; this sure would help our team to strive for the better.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Kind regards,

Suman Gahlot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This is a reasonably priced (given its location) hotel. There are more expensive and more luxurious hotels in Delhi, but for the price, this hotel offers fair value. The rooms are of good quality, the bathroom was a little tired compared to other hotels in the area, but again, this is a good medium level hotel and as such the standard is fair.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. Your feedback is extremely helpful and important to us in delivering the highest levels of quality and service to our valuable customers.

Comments such as yours assist us in evaluating our operation and our success in generating happiness of our guests.

We do hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again soon and that your visit is an enjoyable one in every respect.

Kind regards,


Sumeet Taneja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlangen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I have been on a business trip traveling through India and staying in various hotels.
The Taj was one of the best, providing an excellent room as well as service. All that for an affordable price. The hotel restaurant can also be recommended.
The location is approx. 30 minutes from the airport.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Juergen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmvivanta_ambassador, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

I am glad that we could make your stay a pleasurable one. We strive to provide all of our guests with a memorable and comfortable stay. We are happy that you were impressed with our services.

Our team at Vivanta by Taj-Ambassador would be delighted to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Sumeet Taneja
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Delhi
0.4 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 715 in New Delhi
2,058 reviews
10.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Dwarka
Vivanta by Taj - Dwarka
#52 of 715 in New Delhi
570 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#37 of 715 in New Delhi
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#8 of 715 in New Delhi
2,791 reviews
8.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj, Surajkund
Vivanta by Taj, Surajkund
#1 of 19 in Faridabad
875 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Address: Sujan Singh Park | Subramania Bharti Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#34 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#60 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#64 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi is an INTACH listed heritage building, built in 1945 by the colonial architect Walter George in a poetic medley of British and art deco style. This arrival zone sets the tone for guestrooms and banquet facilities that deliver the ultimate in urban relaxation. Get set to be delighted with small surprises from the moment you enter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Ambassador Hotel New Delhi
Ambassador New Delhi
The Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel In Delhi
Ambassador Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing