We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hyatt falls short on expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Delhi
Ranked #39 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Goa, India
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hyatt falls short on expectations”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

First of all, when one makes an International reservation and shows their arrival at 5 am, the front desk should understand that the guest wants to check-in at that time, and not wait until 4 pm for normal check in hours. The staff was very gracious and allowed me to sit in the club lounge until 7 am. I was charged an additional half day rate beyond what I had prepaid in advance for an early check-in. Also by prepaying, it was indicated that it was a 20% savings, but it was more like 10-12% savings by prepaying and it is non-refundable. I’d give second thoughts to prepaying at the Hyatt next time.

The rooms are extra small. There is not enough room for larger suitcases. This Hyatt is definitely a business hotel and not designed for the leisure traveler.

All and all, as in most hotels of this caliber the staff is what makes the difference. And the Hyatt
does not disappoint in this area.

I was rather disappointed in the spa and opted not to get a treatment. It is more of a Health Club with amenities verses a spa. The pool area is beautiful and nicely landscaped, but a little too exposed for me.

I opted to upgrade to the Club Lounge. It was an additional $4k rupee per night plus tax. I was terribly disappointed in the food. One morning I ordered eggs over medium. They were over cooked and almost inedible. I should have sent them back. Another day I ordered an omelet which had no flavor. The salt on the tables will not come out of the shakers because of the humidity. The tomato, potato and mushrooms garnishments were shriveled up, unappetizing and flavorless. The evening appetizers also had no flavor. Yes, they looked pretty but tasted bad. And I am very easy to please. The good part is they are very generous with the alcohol. One night I arrived 8-minutes after the appetizer hour was over. The staff had to ask a manager if I could have a glass of wine without charge. There were plenty of people all around me still drinking and I was a bit put off by her attitude. The manager did bring me a glass of wine and 4-meatballs, so I was grateful. The Hyatt in Mumbai does a much better with their Club level. There should be a menu given in the evenings for the guests to see. I felt the options offered were limited.

I’m not sure I would return to the Hyatt due to the size of the rooms. I definitely will not spend the additional $4k rupees for their Club Level.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firecrackerbaby2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt R, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Delhi, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Valued Reviewer ,

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Delhi!

Thank for your time and your genuine feedback based on your recent stay with us.
We sincerely regret for the inconvenience faced by you during your stay with us. I assure you that it is otherwise unlike the high standards of service we endeavour to maintain. Your feedback has been taken into account and we promise to ensure that such inconveniences are not repeated in future.

We look forward to being of service to you in future.

Thank you and best regards,
Aseem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,109
    744
    242
    80
    88
See reviews for
280
270
178
1,331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anand, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Hyatt Regency hotel is very conveniently located in New Delhi. Its very near to Chanakyapuri where almost all embassies are located. It is on the Ring Road near RK Puram, on the way from Airport to Connaught Place or Nehru Place. Nice place and good ambience

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbhar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt R, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Delhi, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Valued Reviewer,

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Delhi!

Thank you for your valuable feedback based on your recent visit to the hotel. The team and I are glad to learn of your appreciation for the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you soon and being of service to you.

Best regards,
Aseem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I have stayed for 5 days in this hotel, eventhough it is a 30 years old hotel , it is very well maintained , clean and above all great staff !!!! The location is 30 minutes from the airport , but nothing on walking distance, taxi is a must to move around .... I paid from 10-15 USD to shopping areas, according to traffic level . The hotel has various restaurants, I had a dinner with my wife in the Italian restaurant and paid around 70 USD in a great environment . The rooms are clean , sleep quality is ok, but the management should immediately start renovation of the rooms, three were may concerns , no mirror in the room, no decoration and the shower was fixed 1,50 m from the wall... very strange!!!!! Also the plastic curtain in the hotel is useless, they should make a glass door after each shower we had a pool of water in the bathroom...Breakfast restaurant and variety of food was fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brazukajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt R, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Delhi, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Valued Reviewer ,

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Delhi!

Thank for your time and your feedback based on your recent stay with us.
The team and I are delighted to learn of your appreciation for our facilities and services.
We have taken your feed back into consideration and will definitely discuss the points of suggestion with the the concerned teams.

Reference to your suggestion on the hotel renovation we would like to appraise you that at Hyatt Regency Delhi, we executive our renovation drive at a timely interval. A number of upgraded rooms and suites including the Regency Club Lounge were the results of our recent renovation drive. Over a course of time we will definitely be considering the renovation of other guest areas as well.
Next time your visit us, recommend that you request to be booked in the recently renovated set of rooms or suites.

We look forward welcoming you soon and being of service to you.

Thank you and best regards,
Aseem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Hyatt, one of the finest hotel i ever stayed. This has courteous staff and beautiful and well maintained facility. Awesome spread for the break fast buffet and some of the fabulous al-a-carte dishes....its mind blowing...

Room Tip: Good panoramic view...especially in the night. In the middle of busy city, yet calm and quiet...grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmenon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt R, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Delhi, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Valued Reviewer ,

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Delhi!

Thank for your time and your genuine feedback based on your recent stay with us.
The team and I are delighted to hear of your appreciation for our facilities and services including the effort put up by each our team members to make your stay a pleasant one.

We look forward welcoming you soon and being of service to you.

Thank you and best regards,
Aseem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel seems a bit "tired" overall, but its well located and the rooms are functional, quite decent. Banqueting / conferencing seems to be doing well, though the infrastructure could do with an upgrade. Was in the room literally just to sleep - but very good value for money from that perspective.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeadhunterIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt R, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Delhi, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Valued Reviewer ,

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Delhi!

Thank you for your genuine feedback based on your recent stay with us.

We would like to appraise you that we at Hyatt Regency Delhi execute renovation drive at a timely interval. Following our recent renovation, we have upgraded a number of rooms and suites including the all new Regency Club Lounge. The renovation drive is a continuous process and over a course of time we will consider the renovation in other public areas as well.

we recommend that next time you reserve with us kindly request to be booked in one of the recently renovated room or suite.


We look forward to welcoming you soon and being of service to you in future.

Best regards,
Aseem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on two occasions, the last being in early November 2013.
The rooms are comfortable and clean and I would recommend to pay a bit extra for a "Room with a View".
Food and service in the restaurant were both very good.
It's location is good for getting to the sights of Old Delhi.
Would highly recommend a rickshaw ride through Chandni Chowk market and streets of Old Delhi. Just wonderful.
If you're looking for an historic old Delhi hotel experience, then this is not it. But should you want a really comfortable, clean central property with a good restaurant then I would recommend it.

Room Tip: What they call a Room with a View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WOLFSPIRITTRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt R, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Delhi, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Valued Reviewer ,

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Delhi!

Thank you for your positive feedback based on your recent stay with us. The team and I are delighted to learn of your pleasant stay with us.


We look forward to welcoming you soon and being of service to you in future.

Best regards,
Aseem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

As soon as we walked in it was hard to breathe. when we said to manager that room was very damp he agreed and the best he could do was spray the room with air freshener. After 3 days we were offered a change of room. My baby was ill for all two week then we spend in India. Will not even visit even though they offered a nights stay for free.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asifalimir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt R, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Delhi, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Valued Reviewer ,

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Delhi!

Thank for your time and your genuine feedback based on your recent stay with us.
We sincerely regret for the inconvenience faced by you during your stay with us. I assure you that it is otherwise unlike the high standards of service we endeavour to maintain. Your feedback has been taken into account and we promise to ensure that such inconveniences are not repeated in future.

We look forward to being of service to you.

Thank you and best regards,
Aseem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
4.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 716 in New Delhi
2,729 reviews
2.0 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 716 in New Delhi
2,748 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#40 of 716 in New Delhi
3,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,799 reviews
4.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 716 in New Delhi
2,698 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sheraton New Delhi
Sheraton New Delhi
#31 of 716 in New Delhi
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Delhi

Property: Hyatt Regency Delhi
Address: Bhikaiji Cama Place | Ring Road, New Delhi 110002, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#27 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#30 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#32 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Delhi, the largest five-star hotel in Delhi, is located in the commercial hub of Bhikaji Cama Place just 20 minutes' drive from Indira Gandhi International Airport and the city's domestic airport. The Delhi hotel is also close to embassies, consulates and corporate headquarters, making it one of the most preferred business hotels in Delhi.The 507 rooms and suites at Hyatt Regency Delhi are equipped with modern amenities and high-speed Internet access to support guests' business needs, while all seven floors offer a panoramic view of the city and the landscaped gardens. The city hotel is also a benchmark of excellence for five-star dining in Delhi, that offers an exceptional range of dining options. Enjoy a delicious meal at the Cafe an all-day dining restaurant or resort for a traditional Chinese dining experience at the China Kitchen. Settle down for a brief coffee break or a sweet interval at the Sidewalk . For authentic Italian, choose La Piazza, the warm, lively and casual dining restaurant. Wind up the busy evening with a splendid meal at the TK'S Oriental Grill; or simply step into Polo Lounge to experience fine flavours, while a live musical performance keep the spirits high.Within this New Delhi luxury hotel, guests can also enjoy numerous leisure facilities, including an outdoor swimming pool and the Club Olympus Fitness Centre and Spa. One can opt for the best shopping experience too at the hotel's multilevel shopping complex featuring more than 36 boutiques of Indian artifacts, handicrafts and jewelers.The bustling capital provides a wealth of activities for guests to experience, options range from sightseeing in Delhi including some of the noted architectural and historical wonders of the world. For those who want to indulge in shopping in Delhi, you can choose from the alleys of old Delhi to the most chic markets, also those wishing to spend their time in sports activities in Delhi, the nearest golf courses and Polo ground offers ample opportunities, also one can visit the museums or be enchanted by the religious places.The proximity of the Hyatt Regency Delhi to numerous and famous business centers makes it the ideal place to plan a conference, a product launch or a fashion show. As a leading wedding venue hotel in Delhi, the hotel has arranged many weddings in the past 30 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Hyatt Regency New Delhi
Hyatt New Delhi
Hyatt Hotel Delhi
Hyatt Regency Hotel New Delhi
Hyatt Regency Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing