We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Claridges New Delhi
Ranked #36 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Value, great stay”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayeed twice at The Claridges, at the begining and at the end of our trip to India. We had a very nice experiance, the hotel staff was always friendly and willing to help in any way.
The breakfast has a good selection, the prefect way to start the day, we had dinner at both their Spanish restaurant and the Indian one and they we didn't regret it.
The bakery is very good, during our stay they gave us a complimentary chocolate cake that was to die for, the minute we came back for our secont stay we ran to buy a new one.
Unfortunately we where not able to try the spa.
The book shop (hard to see it as most of the time we tryed it was close) had a good selection, but service was very bad (unusually bad for india and for such a nice hotel)
In the afternoon we sat in the garden and relax (a shame that they don't serve any drinks there!) and over all we enjoy our stay.
Rooms are ok, nothing out of the ordinary, specialy on the second floor where they are not renovated jet, and you can defenetly see the difference.

Room Tip: Get a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goingnowhere87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,038
    655
    200
    82
    61
See reviews for
352
795
135
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Despite its dated exterior appearance this hotel delivered what we wanted - a modern, clean well furnished room with excellent bathroom facilities and good air conditioning. The towels were new and fluffy.
We enjoyed afternoon tea on the front lawn and felt that the dinner menu was varied and appealing. Breakfast was good with a variety of Indian and European foods to choose from.
We enjoyed pastries and watched life go by in the cool, calm and relaxing lobby.
Service was a little slow at times, but we appreciated the ambience of our surroundings.
The hotel appears well located for a tour of the city sights. For something different try Delhi's National Rail Museum as a place to visit. It's an open air display of old steam engines and carriages of great historical interest imported from Europe.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Lovely setting in the heart of the city. Excellent service and the Dhaba in particular served delicious food. good breakfast, room comfortable with a nice bathroom although it was rather noisy at night.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regosal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Looked forward to staying here for a rest prior to return to Uk. Room distribution not well coordinated. Hotel only has two check in desks. No room in restaurant for lunch. Good Chinese restaurant with excellent staff. Tried to use pool but area not available due to private function. Lawn at front in the morning closed to guests for another private function. Restaurant too small for breakfast more queues. Rooms tired and noisy due to marble corridors. Large chip in our bath with paint peeling off and plug cover displaced.Best try and stay at The Imperial which is excellent or I hear the Shangri-La is very good. Dont bother with this one.

Room Tip: Stay at thr Imperial, it is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chivesdiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Booked Claridges Club Room with associated facilities but these were not available to use due to private functions yet I was still being charged. Free cocktails have to be ordered as do the canapés which is off putting. As the Club room was out of bounds the common bar was to be used and the staff did not take care to distinguish those Club guests from the Tourist crowd and spent time stalking them for tips instead of attending to those that had paid over the odds for the Club facility at what can only be described as a three star at five star prices. Don't be fooled not thinking this hotel has anything to do with Claridges in London as it is a far cry from that level. Think more of Premier Inn in a colonial building and you get my drift. My first room was incorrect so they offered me a 2nd club room which stank of cigarettes. Next room, older but ok even though the shower was over the bath. Woke at midnight to banging and clattering maintenance which carried on until 5am. The hammering was so intense I almost composed a song to the beat. After complaining and writing an email t the management at 2am I was given my 4th room in 24hrs and the office area resembled a shed, no windows. The TV was so far from the bed I needed to go and buy another pair of spectacles and the bath enamel had flaked off.

Although I booked 8 nights I checked out after three which was at least two nights two many. It failed miserably to live up to my expectations. The pool area was remodelled to an outdoor restaraunt at 3pm every days so no thought for guests relaxing and the Club room continually booked for functions so no where to relax and enjoy a complimentary coffee whilst attending to emails IF there wasn't a problem with the Internet. I was offered breakfast in the common dining room Pickwicks because, guess what? The Club room was booked for a function each day of my stay.

Frankly, I am disgusted that a hotel having so many maintenance issues is still open and no discount offered to it's many guests for the lack of services-profit is king never mind the client. I will never book this hotel or recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GRT7V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This hotel was ideally located to see the centre of Delhi, which in my opinion is a lot nicer than the outskirts of Delhi.
Bad point to begin with: Cost, this hotel is high price for something that is on par with other 4/5 star hotels. We paid £9.00 FOR A CAN OF COKE (after taxes!!) the evening we stayed there, I can tell you now we then drank the complimentary water in the room.
Good Point: The rooms were beautiful, beds really comfortable and fitted with all amenities we coul have asked for!
Unfortunately when we arrived there was building works and such going on (which they didn't tell us, even at check-in!!!) so the pool and outside area's were unsuitable to sit and chill at, so we used the rooms and balconies. This put a dampner on our stay as we wanted to enjoy a couple of hours in the pool & poolside. If it wasn't for this our stay would have been lovely yet expensive!

Room Tip: stick to drinking complimentary water - Very Expensive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela_williams19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Nothing wrong with the Claridges, but nothing exciting either...Rooms ok, but slightly outdated, courtyard with pool looks rather depressing, bar not good at all...

Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk3061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,773 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#24 of 715 in New Delhi
2,740 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#12 of 715 in New Delhi
2,932 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#39 of 715 in New Delhi
3,808 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 715 in New Delhi
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claridges New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claridges New Delhi

Property: The Claridges New Delhi
Address: 12 Dr Apj Abdul Kalam Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#21 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#25 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Claridges New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridges, New Delhi is located in the heart of Lutyens Delhi. This gracious three-storied hotel is within close proximity of the business districts, diplomatic missions, shopping centres and historical landmarks like the India Gate and Rashtrapati Bhawan. The hotel offers a wide choice of accommodation ranging from well-appointed, deluxe rooms to luxury suites, some with their own private terrace. The rooms are amongst the most spacious in Delhi and are a blend of classic and contemporary styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Claridges New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claridges Hotel New Delhi
Claridges Hotel New Delhi
The Park Hotel Delhi
Claridges New Delhi
Hotel Claridges
Claridges Hotel Delhi
The Claridges Delhi
Claridges India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing