We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but did not live up to reputation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Claridges New Delhi
Ranked #36 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2011

When touring northern India we stayed firstly for two nights then one on return from a round trip. The hotel is in a good central location for visiting the excellent sights of Delhi but the overall experience was not what was expected from the star rating or reputation.
We had booked a ‘deluxe’ room but on arrival were shown to a sub-standard room a long way back in the rear annex of the hotel, which smelled damp and was in a poor state of repair. After having to complain, we were then offered a room in the main building of the hotel of the type we thought we had booked in the first place. This was an improvement but no way near what was anticipated, however the bed was comfortable and there was a nice shower room with a good supply of amenities.
Staff are a mixed group, some are really helpful and friendly others quite distant and surly. Pickwick’s menu and service was fine, particularly for breakfast but Dhaba was a disappointment. Both the garden and shady side of the pool were closed off for functions each day so you can end up being be stuck indoors.
On return, we were happily upgraded to a ‘Claridges’ room which was in a different league to the first stay and helped mitigate the poor experiences of our first arrival.

Room Tip: To avoid disappointment, book at least one of ‘The Claridges’ rooms on top floor and ask for a balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GastrodontUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,789 - 1,795 of 2,245 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2011

We stayed at Claridges at the start of our honeymoon, and it was definitely worth it. We arrived late in the evening to a lovely welcome and a very quick check in by the staff. They also had arranged flowers and cake to be left in the room as they had heard it was our honeymoon which was lovely.

Due to the time and tiredness we decided to order room service, though we had heard that DHABA which was downstairs is a exceptional restaurant. Room service was prompt and delicious.

The beds here were perfect aswell and we definitely had a good nights rest which set us up for a week of travelling.

The hotel is located in New Delhi which is a lovely location with its wide roads and pavements. We decided to go for a walk to India Gate which was 2km away to the amusement of a lot of rickshaw drivers, but the pavements and crossings made this very easy.

Would definitely recommend this hotel as a good base when visiting Delhi.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essex_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Problems :

The hotel had ongoing construction, and failed, despite many complaints, to end it ! Imagine 30 hours underway to arrive in India, > $250 a night for the hotel, and you have to listen to banging at 6pm !! Horrible - I mean, a Western 5 star hotel would NEVER allow such a thing.

The hotel management was unwilling to change the departure date of my reservation without a charge. For the rate I paid, and the amount of time stayed, it should have been an easy management decision to reach, to ok the special request, but they stuck behind the "terms and conditions". The manager even lied to my face, about why he couldn't do it.

Key point - the management of this hotel is poor, and your stay will reflect this, unless you get really luck y. I heard about the problems before the trip and thought I would be lucky - I was not. I considered paying a few extra bucks to get the Leela, and in retrospect, I should have. Next time, I will

Move to the next property folks - there are places that truly deliver a 5 star experience for the 5 star price....

Room Tip: The leela !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reisemann99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Service was excellent, rooms were impressive, restaurants were pricey but delicious (the garden restaurant particularly was incredible), beautiful place, tasteful ambience. Would definitely return if I came back to Delhi.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steppenw0lfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

The hotel is superb but alas the service doesn't match. Breakfast starts at 7 but you can't have it in your room any earlier even hough it says you can!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicMicDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

In September I stayed at the Claridges on 2 occasions. The check-in was seamless and efficient. On the second stay I was delighted to be upgraded to a suite. The hotel is classically luxurious and not too big to seem impersonal and commercial. The staff were attentive without being intrusive, which can be a fine line. The rooms are spacious with comfortable beds and snow white high quality linen. Going to breakfast early can be a bit crowded and you might be asked to share a table. Apparently this problem is being addressed. The central location of the hotel is ideal for business and shopping. I would defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathybt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We stayed in The Claridges earlier this year. We chose it again because of the ideal location just five minutes walk from Racecourse Metro Station. The room is comfortable but simple. There is an unheated small swimming pool which is often a focal point for banquets and functions. Whilst checking in, we asked reception if we needed a booking for dinner in Pickwicks restaurant. We were assured this was not necessary and we also booked the Indian restaurant for the following night. We arrived in Pickwicks to be told it was full. After some unnecessary kerfuffle on our part, we obtained a table and had a reasonable meal. The following night the Indian restaurant appeared to have no record of our reservation. We were left standing like lemons for some time as different members of staff repeatedly asked for our room number. At this stage only two tables were in use. Eventually we were shown to a table and ordered our food and wine. The service was pretty dire. We ordered a bottle of Shiraz which was not the one brought to the table. It was hard to spot in the dark restaurant but a waiter came over to admit there had been a mistake. After the wine was poured it transpired the one served was nearly twice as expensive as the one we ordered. As no credit was given for the hotel's mistake, no tip was given to the waiting staff either! The food was pretty average and the whole experience was not worth the fuss.

The Claridges describes itself as a five star hotel - it is not. It is a very comfortable hotel which seems to place all its food and beverage emphasis on functions. The restaurants are not at all adequate for a hotel with 134 bedrooms. There are only 10 or 12 tables at breakfast which says it all.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrandonDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 777 in New Delhi
3,055 reviews
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 777 in New Delhi
2,197 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#35 of 777 in New Delhi
4,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#28 of 777 in New Delhi
2,934 reviews
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 777 in New Delhi
3,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claridges New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claridges New Delhi

Address: 12 Dr Apj Abdul Kalam Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#27 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £102 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Claridges New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridges, New Delhi is located in the heart of Lutyens Delhi. This gracious three-storied hotel is within close proximity of the business districts, diplomatic missions, shopping centres and historical landmarks like the India Gate and Rashtrapati Bhawan. The hotel offers a wide choice of accommodation ranging from well-appointed, deluxe rooms to luxury suites, some with their own private terrace. The rooms are amongst the most spacious in Delhi and are a blend of classic and contemporary styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Claridges New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claridges Hotel New Delhi
Claridges Hotel New Delhi
The Park Hotel Delhi
Claridges New Delhi
Hotel Claridges
Claridges Hotel Delhi
The Claridges Delhi
Claridges India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing