We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would always come back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Claridges New Delhi
Ranked #25 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
94 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I would always come back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

The Claridges in Delhi was the best choice for my friends and myself for our 5 day stay. The friendliness, service and cleanliness were convincing and I assume its very hard to find a comparable place around. The food in the Spanish restaurant (especially the lamb) were great!
The only criticism I have, is that we all booked together for 6 people in 3 double bed rooms and some of us had a lot bigger rooms than others. But apart from that, I will definetly go back to the Claridges when I'm in Delhi!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauraxx231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us and tripadvisor community. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and Sevilla, our Mediterranean restaurant highlighted your experience. We have noted your feedback regarding the rooms, let me assure you that we discussed this internally and taking measures to correct the same.

We look forward to having you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    976
    622
    193
    77
    56
See reviews for
325
762
130
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
103 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is my 2nd stay here, and glad to see that all of the good aspects are intact.

Claridges has something of a dated feel, like being thrown back in time from the 21st century to a colonial age. The Sikh doorman in full regalia gives way to lobby and rooms with the motif “stately grandeur”. Some touches have been made to deliver a 21st century advantage, such as the bedside control panel for lights, air con and curtains (though I never understood the necessity of automating the drapes).

Other quirks remind one of being in a developing country, like trying to ensure that guests don’t steal the appliances. The hair dryer and water boiler are both permanently attached to the plug, which is unreachable behind the cabinet. The consequence of this is that you must dry your hair where the hair dryer and you must boil water inside the cabinet. Prevents theft, maybe, but not to convenient, and an easy way to rot the cabinet’s wood.

The health club was being renovated when I visited but they put the gym equipment in two guestrooms, which was adequate. The pool isn’t great—it’s an odd shape (bad for laps) and not that big, but, so deep at one end that the bottom gets murky with grime. In theory the pool is open at night, but the one night that I wanted to swim, they could not figure out how to turn on the lights, so its swimming in the dark. To his credit, the gym attendant did try his best and with a nice and gracious smile.

The food at the Claridges is ok, the Indian selections are decent. They even prepared something for me that wasn’t on the menu (though it was a standard Indian menu item everywhere else).

If all of the above sound like complaints, don’t take it the wrong way. These are small issues. Overall the Claridges is calm, functional haven from the dust and noise. I would stay here again because the staff is very friendly, forthcoming, and earnest in their efforts. This overcomes whatever technical glitches exist.,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamarx200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your valuable insights from your recent stay at The Claridges New Delhi, we always welcome feedback from our guests as we continually endeavour to deliver great stay experiences to our guests. We are glad to know that our staff highlighted your experience with us and you had a pleasant stay with us. However, we are sorry for the service shortfalls that affected your overall stay experience with us. I have discussed your feedback at length with the team and we wish to assure you that we are taking steps to put our enhancement plans for the hotel into place and to better serve our guests.

My team and I hope to continue extending our warm hospitality to you and we remain at your
service.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Very good stay at this hotel. Excellent staff, friendly, respectful and helpful. Nice rooms and in a good location. Will be staying here on each and every business trip to the area. Only 30mins from the airport as well. Very good selection food wise too.........will be back.

Room Tip: All good, stayed in 2 different rooms as checked in and checked out to go elsewhere on business then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliancox13566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind recommendation of The Claridges New Delhi and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is encouraging to know that our staff, rooms and location were excellent. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

This was my 15th stay at The Claridges in the past five or six years. I keep returning because it is elegant, affordable, and the staff are abundantly friendly and helpful. The rooms are very well appointed, there are a number of dining options on premises. I have been so well accommodaed there that I do not even consider stayign elsewhere when I am in Delhi.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank screenname752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm review about your recent stay at The Claridges New Delhi. Your positive feedback encourages us to continue delivering great experiences to our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to New Delhi.
Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

I have been here a couple of nights, from Aug 16th to Aug 18th. This Hotel is very clean, it has good restaurants, and is very well positioned. Definitively I recommend this hotel with a good rate price-quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luca120374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, thank you for making The Claridges New Delhi your preferred hotel in New Delhi. It is good to know that you were comfortable and felt well-taken care of during your stay. We look forward to having you with us again when you are next in New Delhi.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

I always try to seek out small hotels for the more intimate experience they afford. Claridges in Delhi was a fantastic choice. The hotel is well presented, the rooms are massive, bathrooms generously proportioned if slightly dated. One drawback is that the rooms have no views. In fact the windows are covered in tinted glass. The staff were just terrific. The breakfasts (included) were really good. Above all, the hotel is well- located in South Delhi. Great choice and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your warm review of your recent stay at The Claridges New Delhi. We are glad that you felt comfortable and well-looked after during your stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding the view from the room and the glass. You may be pleased to know that we intend to upgrade our rooms in the near future.

Your continued patronage is of great value to us and we look forward to being of service to you when you are next in New Delhi.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is a favourite hotel for us in Delhi. The heritage, the location in amongst the wide avenues and roundabouts of Lutyens's New Delhi with easy to reach heritage sites, the garden for relaxation and the well provided rooms and suites and bathrooms. There are four restaurants and I like them all. Delhi is a big city with real traffic problems so it is especially nice to stay in the centre of elegance and in easy walk of Khan Market and Lodi Gardens as well. The food is truly excellent and the function rooms are elegant but not cavernous. I like this place and feel it is a home from home for me on visits to Delhi. The Management is very personal and good with exacting standards here.

Room Tip: If you can afford a suite ask for this as they are beautifully equipped...I like the thirties decor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseofScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest,

My team and I thank you for your kind review, it is always a pleasure when our guests enjoy their stays with us. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed our convenient location, rooms and our hospitality. My team has extended their warm thanks for the special mention of their service. It would be our pleasure to extend our warm hospitality to all of you again soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Oliver C. Martin
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#20 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,605 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,840 reviews
2.8 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#8 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#18 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,552 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#47 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claridges New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claridges New Delhi

Property: The Claridges New Delhi
Address: 12 Dr Apj Abdul Kalam Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Claridges New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridges, New Delhi is located in the heart of Lutyens Delhi. This gracious three-storied hotel is within close proximity of the business districts, diplomatic missions, shopping centres and historical landmarks like the India Gate and Rashtrapati Bhawan. The hotel offers a wide choice of accommodation ranging from well-appointed, deluxe rooms to luxury suites, some with their own private terrace. The rooms are amongst the most spacious in Delhi and are a blend of classic and contemporary styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Claridges New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claridges Hotel New Delhi
Claridges Hotel New Delhi
The Park Hotel Delhi
Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges Delhi
Claridges Hotel Delhi
Claridges India
Hotel Claridges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing