We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A break from the living India”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Claridges New Delhi
Ranked #35 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Carcassonne, France
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A break from the living India”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

As part of our recent visit to India , including Delhi, we spent one night in "The Claridges" - it was a most pleasant experience allowing us to escape from a very different world outside. Given that we were on our first visit to the country during which we wanted to discover a new country, the hotel provided a very comfortable and welcoming break from the real India which existed outside; we would use it again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
I am thrilled to read that you chose to stay with us on your first visit to India and that we succeeded in making a positive first impression. We highly value our guests’ feedback and encouraging comments like yours only helps us to work even harder to consistently deliver and meet the high expectations of our guests.

Since the first impression is generally considered a lasting one, this can only mean that you will return to India and to us! I do hope so, as we would love to welcome you back. It has been a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,026
    654
    198
    82
    60
See reviews for
347
791
134
407
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed four nights at The Claridges on three separate occasions during our three week tour of Northern India. The hotel is very elegant and the facilities were generally very good. Our room on our first stay for two nights was large and comfortable on the first floor looking out onto the Sevilla restaurant, which has live music in the evening on some nights. For our second stay, for one night, we were given small room on the third floor which had a poor outlook onto a light well and was less comfortable. Our final stay, on the night before we flew home, was in a pleasant room on the first floor overlooking some gardens at the back of the hotel. We ate in the hotel restaurant on each of the evenings we stayed, dining in the Jade Chinese restaurant on three occasions and the Dhaba Indian restaurant on the other. We found the food to be of excellent quality and the service to be of a high standard. We also used the "Ye Old Bakery" a couple of times for afternoon tea and sampled their delicious patisserie to the detriment of our waistlines! Breakfast in the Pickwick restaurant was quite good although the staff sometimes had difficulty replenishing the buffet items as it was often very busy with people being met by cabs, guides etc and needing to rush off.
Overall we found the service to be very good, particularly at Ye Old Bakery and the Jade, however we were a little uncomfortable with the gratuity convention which was highlighted by the porter who reacted in an offended manner at the tip he was offered for wheeling our two cases 10 meters from the lobby to the lift and the same distance to our room. At other hotels where we stayed on our tour, we were invited to leave a gratuity on our departure which was shared amongst all the staff. We felt this was fairer and avoided such awkward situations.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for giving us your feedback about your recent stay at The Claridges. We are delighted that our best efforts to make your stay memorable have succeeded and that can only mean you will return – we would be delighted to have you back!

Your concern regarding one of our colleagues reacting negatively to the gratuity offered has been taken very seriously and the necessary remedial action has already been taken. I assure you that we maintain a zero tolerance policy and stringent reminders with training are given to all our colleagues, constantly reiterating the managements’ position and views on such matters.

However, I do hope that this incident did not mar your impression of The Claridges and that you will return again soon. It has been an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

On my second stay I was even more impressed with the charm of this hotel and the wonderful ambience,. There are 3 places to eat and a lovely garden to have tea in the afternoon. It's central location is a plus and proximity to local Khan market and the Lodi Gardens is also great. Flowers greet one every morning and the tea in little muslin bags provided in the bedrooms comes fron Delhi's premier Tea Shop, Mitals, worth a visit too ! Perfect for the weary traveler!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KVirgils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for your valued feedback and it is indeed heartening to know that we have managed to meet your high expectations.

We are delighted to read that you found the extra little touches we place in our guest room have enhanced your Claridges experience us and we highly appreciate your noticing them.

We hope it will not be too long before you decide to visit us again and we look forward to welcoming you once more, to The Claridges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

One of the very few hotels in the world which gives you the feeling of coming home, even if it's your first visit ! Very nice rooms, excellent food, high degree of hygiene (first place ever in Indian where I ate ice-cream, fresh fruits and had drinks with ice without the slightest problem). The staff is more than friendly, they all seem to be happy to work at the Claridges. The garden is just delightful. I'm already looking forward to come back ! Thank you Shilpa, Om, Satyagil, Karishma and all the others for having made my stay unforgettable !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carinaf653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Your response has thrilled us! Thank you for your great feedback and I am delighted to know that we have met with your high expectations.

Your message of gratitude to our staff has been forwarded to them and they were equally delighted to have been of service to you.

Your kind comments can only mean that you will return soon and we eagerly look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

A very decent hotel catering to your needs- business, family etc. The hotel neither far from the airport neither far from the centre of the city. Rooms are deluxe and staff are really friendly. Also i found a very exciting feature is its in house restaurant called "Dhaba" for north indian cusine. Probably i have not met such a restaurant in other class hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for rating us so highly! We are delighted that you found us up to your high expectations and even more to know that you discovered and enjoyed one of Delhi’s best known and much celebrated restaurants, Dhaba – authentic Punjabi fare at its finest!

Our location in Luyten’s Delhi is indeed a much envied one and I am thrilled to read that our team have succeeded in making your stay a memorable one.

This surely means we will be seeing you again- soon I hope, as we eagerly await your next visit and look forward to welcome you once more to The Claridges!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Situated in New Delhi close to Lodhi gardens this elegant and small hotel is a good introduction. Arriving early in the morning all 3 of us were in our rooms within 30 minutes. Part of a package the room was at least free of traffic noise but with no view. Rooms are large, very comfortable and and the request for twin beds was met. There is a nice pool area. The whole hotel gives the impression of a different age but I don't think it is more than 40 years old.
All the staff was, as usual in India, charming.
The cocktail bar was professional and made a martini that was sufficiently good that I had two.
Unable to get into the (fully booked) Indian restaurant we went to the Chinese restaurant where I had a delicious and elegantly served meal: until I got my chopsticks out.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms overlooking the swimming pool are sort after
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeDaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
You will be surprised to know that we have been around since 1952!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and please do get in touch with me directly when you are next here with us I shall personally ensure you reservations at Dhaba are done promptly.

Please do follow us on facebook for regular updates about what is happening at The Claridges and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My room for the last three visits has been one of the Claridges rooms. Same room in fact as I do enjoy having a balcony to sit out on that looks down on the pool area. Kind of hard to see it now with the growth of the trees but quiet none the less. Room has everything you could want but I do wish they would include a board and iron just in case you want to do your own pressing.

Service is always excellent here, nice friendly staff that are there to help with anything. Buffet breakfast is very good and what I like best is that they rotate those menus so those of us staying for a few nights can taste different things. Wish more hotels would think of that. Also love the fresh juices and if you like eggs, they can make those any way you like.

They have a business center (wish the free internet was available in the lobby instead of having to go to the business center so you can use your own equipment) and health club where you can have a massage if you like.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICanTravelPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for writing and letting us know about your recent stay at The Claridges.

As much as you look forward to your stays with us, we too look forward to welcoming you back, every time you return. I am delighted to read that we have consistently met with your high expectations and I also look forward to your next visit with us. Incidentally, we do provide an ironing board and an iron upon request however on your next stay we will ensure that this is kept in your room in advance.

We are reviewing the internet access in all public areas and you will be pleased to know that we will soon have a solution to this. Do follow us on facebook for regular updates as well as upcoming events at The Claridges.

Once again, we thank you for your continued patronage and I eagerly await your next visit to The Claridges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 716 in New Delhi
2,730 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#11 of 716 in New Delhi
2,911 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 716 in New Delhi
2,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#40 of 716 in New Delhi
3,764 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
0.5 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 716 in New Delhi
2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claridges New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claridges New Delhi

Property: The Claridges New Delhi
Address: 12 Dr Apj Abdul Kalam Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#20 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Claridges New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridges, New Delhi is located in the heart of Lutyens Delhi. This gracious three-storied hotel is within close proximity of the business districts, diplomatic missions, shopping centres and historical landmarks like the India Gate and Rashtrapati Bhawan. The hotel offers a wide choice of accommodation ranging from well-appointed, deluxe rooms to luxury suites, some with their own private terrace. The rooms are amongst the most spacious in Delhi and are a blend of classic and contemporary styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Claridges New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claridges Hotel New Delhi
Claridges Hotel New Delhi
The Park Hotel Delhi
Claridges New Delhi
Hotel Claridges
Claridges Hotel Delhi
The Claridges Delhi
Claridges India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing