We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Claridges New Delhi
Ranked #34 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed at The Claridges recently, and what a civilized experience it was (rare in our country)! Everything about the hotel is gracious and aesthetic - most importantly, the staff behave so well. I found the ambience very relaxing. I've got a good mind to escape there whenever life gets too stressful.

Room Tip: I put up in a standard Claridges room - it's big and spacious with a high ceiling and overlooked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neel707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for the feedback on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed the services offered. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team members, who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations, every time you stay with us. We look forward to your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,006
    650
    197
    82
    57
See reviews for
339
782
133
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Unique and Romantic Ambience”

5 of 5 starsReviewed 3/11/2014

HI
I had the opportunity of having dinner at Sevilla Restaurant last November 2013, located at the The Claridges Hotel and Resorts New Delhi, It provides outdoor as well as indoor seating, although it was November the atmosphere was great along with the ambience, but if it got cold it also has available heating, the floor was made of glass surface with running water right under your feet which gave you a soothing feelings as you sat having your dinner,

As I entered the restaurant my breath was taken away by the outdoor streaming lights and lanterns hanging from branch to branch and the beautiful canopies with candle light center pieces.
I could not help noticing the excellent dressed staff in the background, but most of all I was taken back by the gentleman standing at the entrance, who slowly approached my friend and myself to greet us, he was distinct with dark hair, dark eyes fair complexion and a smile to light up the skies, and a firm hand shake when he introduced himself as the Assistant Manager Ashwani.
The service was excellent, and as we sat down to dinner we had our first glass of red wine in Delhi, which left that smooth perfect taste on your tongue which was the suggestion of Ashwani, it was excellent service all the way,
The fish and the stake was cooked to perfection, the prawns and lamb was tender with just the right salt and flavour, I was looking for a restaurant on the last night of my stay in Delhi that was different and unique and I found it in this place.
Finally it was time for desert and well OH I forgot I was in a Spanish restaurant and requested Gulab Jamun OOOPS!! but was gracefully reminded by the waiter Rohit that I was in a Spanish restaurant so no Gulab Jamun, but after learning that I loved apple pie and my friend loved chocolate he recommended the apple pie tray for me and chocolate tray for my friend it was an excellent choice and tasted great.

I wanted to taste something different from the regular Indian food I was having for the past ten days, and although I am from Florida where I am surrounded by spanish food this spanish restaurant was of a much different taste in every way.
So I suggest if ever you are in Delhi visit this restaurant it is located in the Claridge Hotel & Resort.
But you do have to make reservations in advance, and if you are the romantic type like me, request a flower decorated canopy with candle lights and all, and if you are with that someone special you will fall in love all over again..

Here is the address----- 12 Aurangzeb Road,New Delhi - 110011.

Room Tip: Did not stay at the Hotel but did experience the Dining at the Sevilla which was marvellous , maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Many thanks for sharing your dining experience at our award-winning restaurant - Sevilla! We are delighted to know that you relished the ambience, décor, food and service. We strive to provide the best value and experience to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward. We are grateful for your kind words and truly value your patronage. We do look forward to your next visit at Sevilla, and in fact, your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lincs.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Having stayed in most other chain hotels in Delhi, we decided to try out this old colonial property. It certainly did not disappoint us. We had booked a club room but were upgraded to a suite.

Being club guests, we were received by the chauffeur at the airport. Our luggage was taken care of and we were quickly whisked away in their luxurious vehicle to the hotel.

A major disappointment was that the club lounge was closed for renovation as far as we could make out. We had to phone the reception to make enquiries relating to the club benefits. We were informed that the bar on the ground floor would provide the drinks we were entitled to. The bar had a good assortment of spirits and beer but more importantly, the kebabs and fish served to us we're truly sumptuous.

The sprawling lawn was the best aspect of this hotel. A great place to have a cup of Darjeeling!! To find such a hotel surrounded by such a vast garden in the middle of this capital city was incredulous.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arun c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking out time to review our property on Trip Advisor. Your encouraging comments about our rooms, food, the lawn and other service areas have been received well and accepted with gratitude by the team. We deeply regret that you were not able to use the Club Lounge during your stay and sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused, however you will be pleased to know the new and revamped Senate will be launched shortly and I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again to experience the new Senate. We thank you once again for your generous comments and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

From the mayhem of the journey from the airport, to the tranquillity of The Claridges in the wonderful Lutyens area of New Delhi. We were on an organised tour of India, with The Claridges being our first stop for two nights, returning again a couple of days later for another night.

We were made very welcome, and every member of staff deserves to be congratulated on their courtesy and understanding (looking after us lost Brits!).

The rooms we had were very good. As we were booked in under the tour I'm not sure what grade we had, I just know that the first room was on the third floor with a balcony right over the main entrance, giving us splendid views of the garden, and the amazing and surprising greenery of Delhi beyond.

Good though the rooms were, the food was even better. All the meals we had were in the Pickwicks restaurant, and I think were the best we had in all the two weeks. Buffet style meals are not always my favourite, but at The Claridges the quality and sheer range (Indian to European) were a delight. The only downside was it was far to easy to over indulge, as we just had to try everything! And once again a great thanks to all the staff, moving seamlessly around in the background. How they manage to refold your napkin the moment you step away from the table without being spotted is still a mystery to me.

The hotel location, the Lutyens area of New Delhi, is a wonderful setting. Just down the road is the Gandi Smiriti (literally a couple of hundred metres) which is well worth a visit, but leave a bit more time than the hour we had. Also within easy walking distance are the 90 acres of the Lodi (or Lodhi) Gardens, a wonderful tranquil spot full of school children and locals walking their dogs or doing their morning exercises in a well tendered garden. Some interesting temples and tombs to visit too (well, it wouldn't be India with out them).

Just a short distance from Lodi is the "go to" Khan market. If you have a few days spafe a great place to get made-to-measure clothing. I was measured for a Jacket the afternoon we arrived, had the fitting the next evening and collected the finish item on our return 3 days later.

And if you are really brave, get there and back by Tuk Tuk. around 20-30 Rupees each way (yes, that's 20p).

Overall a very pleasing experience, and a great way to start what turned out to be a truly memorable (for all the right reasons) visit to India. The hotel also looked after one of our bags we didn't need for the few days we were away.

Thank you, The Claridges, for making us glad we came.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panman1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Greetings from The Claridges New Delhi! Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback.

We are absolutely delighted that the services and products of our hotel have left a very positive impression on you and we have shared the same with our team. Our team is highly motivated and would ensure that we improve our commitments to guest satisfaction even further.

We thank you once again for your support and it will be our pleasure to have you stay with us when travel brings you to New Delhi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed at The Claridges for 3 nights during our Great Rail Journeys trip to India and the Palace on wheels, The hotel is lovely,rooms are enormous and well appointed. All the staff are friendly and efficient. Food great, great start to the holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very much for choosing The Claridges during your recent visit to New Delhi and for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are extremely delighted to know that you had a great stay and your positive impressions about the hotel, especially the rooms, service, staff and restaurants are very encouraging. We thank you once again for taking time and writing about your experience and we hope to see you soon when your travel brings you to The Claridges New Delhi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here twice during our honeymoon; the first time staying in a suite and the second in one of their standard rooms. Both were lovely.

The hotel is undergoing refurbishment as we found on on our return, as we were offered an un-refurbished room - which was fine - other than it being too noisy as it was near other rooms being upgraded. A quick call to reception and we were offered another room on the other side of the hotel.

The continental showers in the upgraded rooms are amazing.

The hotel restaurants and had room service were excellent. Food was well presented and full of flavour.

We enjoyed our stay and found the hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful.

We would have no hesitation in returning if we're back in Delhi.

Room Tip: The refurbished rooms have great continental showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonLB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time out to post your comments on TripAdvisor! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the restaurants and room service in the hotel. In order to deliver a better experience to our guests, some of our rooms are being renovated and we are trying our best to complete the refurbishment as soon as possible. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I've stayed at The Claridges 4 times now and it is a great hotel with some excellent rooms but one we were given at the back of the hotel overlooked what seemed to be a builders yard. Very friendly and helpful staff but what lets this hotel down is its average but expensive for India food. Breakfasts are great apart from the miserable packed breakfast they provide if you have to leave early in the morning. Their buffets in Pickwicks are a bit limited and uninspring, A la carte in the Dhaba is average - I've had better in roadside resaurants for half the price. As for the Sevilla - a sort of Spanish resaurant - the linguine we had was awash in oil and verging on the inedible and again not worth the money. I dropped a contact lens on the floor and had to search under the bed for it. Underneath was deep in dust and had clearly not been ceaned for ages. However a fine hotel if only the food was better. Eating away from the hotel is difficult
.

Room Tip: Get a room if possible that overlooks the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodandMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
We thank you for your feedback on this forum. As for your food & beverage experience in the hotel, we would like to inform you that we truly value your opinion and have made a note of it. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 716 in New Delhi
2,888 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 716 in New Delhi
2,686 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#22 of 716 in New Delhi
2,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 716 in New Delhi
3,643 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
5.1 mi away
Maidens Hotel
Maidens Hotel
#11 of 716 in New Delhi
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claridges New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claridges New Delhi

Property: The Claridges New Delhi
Address: 12 Dr Apj Abdul Kalam Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Claridges New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridges, New Delhi is located in the heart of Lutyens Delhi. This gracious three-storied hotel is within close proximity of the business districts, diplomatic missions, shopping centres and historical landmarks like the India Gate and Rashtrapati Bhawan. The hotel offers a wide choice of accommodation ranging from well-appointed, deluxe rooms to luxury suites, some with their own private terrace. The rooms are amongst the most spacious in Delhi and are a blend of classic and contemporary styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Claridges New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claridges Hotel New Delhi
Claridges Hotel New Delhi
The Park Hotel Delhi
Claridges New Delhi
Hotel Claridges
Claridges Hotel Delhi
Claridges India
The Claridges Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing