We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old World Charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Claridges New Delhi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Claridges New Delhi
Ranked #23 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

A great hotel and a haven of peace in a chaotic city. The room was huge with a separate seating area a bowl of fruit on the table and a comfortable settee and arm chair to sit on.
The room and bathroom were spotless with nice toiletries but you will need an adaptor if you don`t have round pin plugs
The restaurant food at night was great with a good menu and the breakfast was equally as good.
My only complaint (well there has to be one nothings perfect) they have a beautiful garden with comfortable seating and an outside bar but it shuts at 7.00, why?
One of my top hotels so far

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahammckenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed The Claridges experience. You will also be pleased to know that The Claridges Garden is wearing a new look with a great new menu – so my sincere apologies you were inconvenienced during your stay with us, however, I hope with the new look we have just launched, your next visit to The Claridges Gardens will be a much more memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    956
    601
    184
    74
    55
See reviews for
311
740
129
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

One of the great hotels of the world. We stayed three nights. Stylish, colonial style hotel located in the city's green and pleasant diplomatic quarter. Our rooms were sumptuous. The staff were, without exception, professional, friendly and dedicated to making our stay as pleasant as possible. The swimming pool is huge, with staff on hand to provide sunbeds and towels. The breakfasts were excellent and we dined in two of the hotel's restaurants, Pickwick and Sevilla, and found both to be excellent. No free wireless but you can use the computers in the hotel's business centre to check emails. We visited the impressive Lodi Gardens which are 15 minutes walk away. If we had more time I would have loved to borrow the bicycles that the hotel provides to tour the area which was designed by Edwin Lutyens. One little thing I loved about the hotel is that you can leave your shoes outside your door at night and they will be polished and waiting for you in the morning!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goseetheuniverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We truly believe that it is the little touches we offer our guests that go a long way into creating a memorable experience.

We are thrilled to read we met your high expectations. When you do visit us again, please get in touch with me directly and I can share some great routes nearby, which you will undoubtedly enjoy.

Look forward to welcoming you again to The Claridges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Good size rooms with all the comforts of a 5 star hotel, bed comfortable, great choice of pillows.
Breakfast was organised with a selection of western and and Indian dishes, different juices but no OJ?
Dhaba Restaurant fantastic food , friendly service and big portions, we let the waiter decide, who judged the correct amount as we would have ordered much more and it would have been wasted. The Spanish themed restaurant you enter by the car park which is not glamourous but once inside the setting is beautiful and you feel transformed to a spanish garden, the food was excellent and on the night we were there, there was a lady singing who was very good and added to the ambience. The only negative point is the pool, its very sterile and lacks the warmth exuded by the rest of the hotel and this could be rectified easily by adding some grass and plants.
This hotel is old world charm but has its place in todays modern society I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Your feedback is highly appreciated. We are thrilled to know that you had a memorable stay and have conveyed your comments to the team, who were equally delighted to have you stay with us.

I have noted your point on the pool and will definitely consider implementing this. You will be pleased to know though, that the pool is undergoing changes (with no disruption to services) and in a few months time the ambiance will be much more closer to your expectations.

I hope you will visit us again soon and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Great hotel ,nice decor and deluxe room had large with separate sitting area and large shower and bath. Swimming pool adequate for short break.Breakfast and evening meal in Pickwick resturant very good.Vodka bar empty so no atmosphere and drinks were expensive.
Had the afternoon tea on lawn which was good value 500r approx with tax and felt very British.
As a base good choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angelskyess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with The Claridges. We are delighted to read your feedback and have communicated your kind comments to our team.

I hope that you will visit us again and look forward to welcoming you to The Claridges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
276 reviews
269 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our last place to stay before going back home, our room was on the first floor (no bath, only shower), at the backside of the hotel, we had no view (unless you consider a sort of storage place a view) AND NO FREE WIFI !! (how is this possible in this kind of hotel)?

As we arrived in the evening, first worry was to find a place to eat, we went to their Sevilla resto (spanish food if you might wonder), where we had a 'tour and explanation' by a staff member, and then had to hear that it was full for the evening, finally after some insisting they found us a spot next to the bar outside, great ! Funny was the resto manager whom started explaining on the 170+ wines he had in stock and insisting on sharing his advice (towards the more expensive wines of course), and when finally we ordered one .. it was not in stock .. Food was good, although we should have stayed with tapas, as the main dishes were less tasty..

Breakfast is a real disappointment in this hotel, you sit in a far too crowded small unpersonal (not at all in the style of the rest of the hotel) 'refectory', some food is not even chilled, hmmm..

The business centre needed 3 people and 30 minutes to assist me on printing my on line ticket,
their pc didn't work, then the printer didn't work, then the cartridges were out.. pfff

A plus of this hotel is the small garden in front of the entrance, great to have tea/coffee in the afternoon, although they have no license to serve alcohol there, forget the beer in the evening.
The neighbourhood is quiet, not so easy to find in a big city.

Overall, we've had better around the world in this kind of hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
I am extremely concerned and disappointed to read about your experiences here at The Claridges. We are committed to ensuring that all our guests receive the highest levels of service at all times, so it is particularly disturbing to read your comments where there have been huge lapses in service quality. I assure you that these issues are being addressed with them, as I write and a corrective action will be implemented to ensure that such unfortunate incidents never occur again. I will contact you directly to offer you my apologies once again and also to share with you the remedial actions we will take with immediate effect. I do hope though that this has not marred your impression of The Claridges and I hope that I will have the opportunity to welcome you back again, in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at this beautiful hotel for a total of 8 days and from start to finish we were welcomed and offered outstanding customer service and hospitality.. The Front office Managers to the Pickwick's restaurant for breakfast and other eating places to the Patisserie shop were all an enjoyable experience, Having travelled and stayed at other hotels in the world ,The Claridges is our favourite thanks to the outstanding team and Mr Atul the GM.

We now look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sukhpal a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you indeed for the kind words - having you stay with us was equally rewarding and delightful. I do hope it will not be long before we can welcome you back again and eagerly look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Really enjoyed staying here. The staff constantly went the extra mile to make sure our trip was a cut above, the location is wonderful and the rooms are very well-equipped. Only the lack of a proper spa lets it down but it's certainly worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martkbritball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaridgesNewDelhi, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us but I sincerely apologise for the Spa not yet being ready. This is work in progress and in a short while, we will have Spa, that I am sure you will be able to enjoy when you next visit us.

I hope it will not be too long before we get to welcome you back and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
2.2 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 706 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,622 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#15 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,546 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#8 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,328 reviews
2.8 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,545 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#19 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claridges New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claridges New Delhi

Property: The Claridges New Delhi
Address: 12 Dr Apj Abdul Kalam Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#16 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Claridges New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridges, New Delhi is located in the heart of Lutyens Delhi. This gracious three-storied hotel is within close proximity of the business districts, diplomatic missions, shopping centres and historical landmarks like the India Gate and Rashtrapati Bhawan. The hotel offers a wide choice of accommodation ranging from well-appointed, deluxe rooms to luxury suites, some with their own private terrace. The rooms are amongst the most spacious in Delhi and are a blend of classic and contemporary styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Claridges New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claridges Hotel New Delhi
Claridges Hotel New Delhi
The Park Hotel Delhi
Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges Delhi
Claridges Hotel Delhi
Claridges India
Hotel Claridges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing