We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel for Delhi Sight Seeing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Claridges New Delhi
Ranked #25 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel for Delhi Sight Seeing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

Good location in the middle of New Delhi, not very far from all the main sights and is an oasis in the heart of Delhi.
We had two suites facing onto the car-park. Rooms were spacious, clean, nice bed linen and bathrooms. Breakfast were really nice, lots of choice and especially cooked to order eggs, pancakes as well as Indian fare.
We also ate in the Indian restaurant called Dhaba - has some nice curries although the butter chicken was disappointing and the atmosphere tends to be a bit claustrophobic - no windows, too many staff, tables too close together and too hot.
The pool area is pleasant to sit around, as is a nice grassed area to the front of the hotel to sit and have drinks. But don't order wine here - is incredibly expensive.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmellasoprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    973
    621
    193
    77
    56
See reviews for
324
761
130
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

They constantly rip you off in any shape or form, they lie to you and completely take advantage of you whenever possible. They charge a miscellaneous tax that they can't even tell you what its for of $1200 rupies per night, they don't tell you this tell you're checking out. They told me that local phone calls were free from the room, then called me a liar and said that they never said that and charged a minimum of $100 rupies per call. They lied to me and told me that The Taj Mahal hotel was a 20 minute drive from their hotel and told me to take the hired car which is $2200 rupies. The Taj Mahal hotel is only a 5 minute walk from their hotel, they just wanted to charge for the outrageously expensive hotel car, the drive would have cost $50 rupies in a taxi. Then they don't even charge $2200 for the car, they actually charge you $2800 and then another luxury tax is added on top of that. The drivers lie to you and only take you to places where they receive commission, I wanted to go to Chandni Chowk, but the driver lied and told me it was closed due to cold weather. I thought it sound bogus and then he took me to a very expensive shop instead. I found out later that I'd been lied to and that it wasn't closed. On top of all of this, the electricity is constantly going out, during my 3 night stay it must have gone off 20 times. I didn't use the elevator for fear of getting trapped during a power outage. The pool and jacuzzi aren't heated either, so don't plan on using them if your staying here.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinPh0t0grapher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

Our family of 6 spent one night in this hotel. It is a luxury hotel and the rooms are great but the bathrooms are small.

The staff have a bit of an "attitude"

The hotel is fine for a break from the madness of India but is a bit bland

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterGrobler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

The Claridges rooms are spacious and offer a blend of old world charm and modern amenities. I loved the pillow menu and the numerous choices available. I was told that the mediterranean restaurant is fantastic although I did not get a chance to try it. The Dhaba had amazing north indian food and the kids traveling with us freaked out on the colorful pastries at the Ye Old Bakery

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grj11188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2010

Only stayed one night, and would stay again. Only downside is that the staff obviously pushed to get tips for very little activity

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kneemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Ischl, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

It was our first trip to India and The Claridges was our starting point; we felt very comfortable and we sensed this place as a save haven to return after long, interesting but also exhausting sight seeing tours. Clean and quiet rooms, nice people and really excellent food; highly recommended,
T.u.I. Seidel, Bad Ischl, Austria; Nov.2010

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas_seidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

Hotel is located at centre of Delhi with good facilities. Interiors are good and remind us of old glorious past. Food is good. Did not find staff that cordial. Gym, Spa, Steam, etc facilites were good. But Internet room was not upto mark. Infact there systems were infected with virus.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank syshende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#17 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,602 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,837 reviews
2.8 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#8 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#18 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,544 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#47 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claridges New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claridges New Delhi

Property: The Claridges New Delhi
Address: 12 Dr Apj Abdul Kalam Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Claridges New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridges, New Delhi is located in the heart of Lutyens Delhi. This gracious three-storied hotel is within close proximity of the business districts, diplomatic missions, shopping centres and historical landmarks like the India Gate and Rashtrapati Bhawan. The hotel offers a wide choice of accommodation ranging from well-appointed, deluxe rooms to luxury suites, some with their own private terrace. The rooms are amongst the most spacious in Delhi and are a blend of classic and contemporary styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Claridges New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claridges Hotel New Delhi
Claridges Hotel New Delhi
The Park Hotel Delhi
Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges Delhi
Claridges Hotel Delhi
Claridges India
Hotel Claridges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing