We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but not 5-start”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Claridges New Delhi
Ranked #25 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Gaithersburg, Maryland
2 reviews
“Nice, but not 5-start”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

I have traveled to New Delhi three times total on business and have stayed at the Oberoi and Grand Hyatt previously. The Claridges is a beautiful hotel but not as lavish as the other two. Upon arrival, there was a mix-up in our reservations and perhaps due to either a busy week or a discounted group rate, our group was given bare-boned rooms with two twin beds in each. The rooms were fine, comfortable enough, but my room's view was barricaded so I got no natural light. The heat also did not function very well and noise from the hallway traveled into the room quite easily. The restaurants were fine, but not spectacular, and the service was often very slow. They did have a great breakfast though, especially good for business travelers, with all of the standard breakfast items plus good variety, but be prepared to wait a while for coffee and tea. Their business center was composed of only two computers so there was often a wait. Lastly, it seemed as though one member of our group was given a customer satisfaction survey at the end of each meal as well as at the end of our stay at The Claridges. One survey would have been sufficient, but I was asked to fill out four over a five-night stay.
Good location, nice outdoor garden, clean, and friendly. The staff was probably the nicest part of the experience but I would not recommend The Claridges for business travel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p_thurman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    972
    619
    193
    77
    56
See reviews for
324
759
130
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

The hotel was built in the 1950's and has only 3 floors. It has the feel of an older hotel but is impeccably clean and up to date. We stayed in 2 different rooms; the first was an upgrade to a suite with a very large sitting room that was a bit underfurnished, a comfortable bedroom, seperate dressing room and a very small bathroom. Unfortunately or fortunately depending on the season it overlooked the pool which is an area off the ballroom where party goers spill out and so does the noise but the sound proofing was pretty good so we slept through. Our second stay we had a refurbished room on the top floor which was lovely, spacious and tastefully decorated. There is a good selection of restaurants, the lobby is spacious and comfortable, the staff are attentive and the pool area is very nice. However the best place to hang out is the garden in front of the hotel where you can sit under an umbrella all day with a cup of tea, a drink or a snack and watch all the local businessmen meet and greet. It is well located and easy to get to.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsJHatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

Stayed at the hotel at the start of a Golden Triangle tour and so pleased we chose to stay at a hotel with a bit of history. Having been in Mumbai on business the previous week and not really feeling as though we were in India, The Claridges changed all that. Beautiful gardens and public areas are combined with attentive staff and well furnished, comfortable rooms. We had ground floor rooms which looked out onto the large pool area. Would recommend the chinese restaurant "Jade" and the gorgeous outdoor Mediteranean restaurant "Sevilla" (although it was really too hot in June to enjoy eating outdoors). Also, the Hotel is famous for its beautiful patisseries.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

Our room was booked for us by a travel agent. Upon entering hotel, we were impressed with the decor of the lobby etc. However, we were shocked when we were led to our room which was located in what seemed like a second class wing of the hotel. The room looked like a shabby version of the pictures we saw on the hotel's website. Also, we had requested a second bed for a third person, and this was just dumped at the front of the room between the main bed and the bathroom. We had to move it to the side of the room ourselves. When moving a small couch to make room for this bed, we discovered a huge amount of dust underneath which went everywhere. Yuck.

The bathroom was also lacklustre. It was very dated, and the sliding door to it rocked forward and backward everytime we slid it shut. The shower, while large, had very poor drainage. I ended up using the hand-held shower because the water flow was lower and resulted in less standing water.

The Indian restaurant downstairs served tasty North Indian food, but it was ridiculously overpriced (US$100 for mineral water, 1 starter and 2 mains).

The breakfast buffet had a decent spread, but service was very slow. One morning I waited more than 30 minutes for pancakes.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verusha82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
245 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

If I were going back to Delhi I would stay at a different hotel. We had problems with noise. We changed rooms. That didn't solve the problem, as the doors have about a 1inch gap from the marble floors. So every hall way conversation from other guests somehow got amplified into our room. I was so annoyed at 2 and 3 and 4 in the morning with the noise of other guests banging doors and going between rooms that I started complaining to management. I finally stuffed blankets around our door which help to muffle the noise. And there was an exhaust fan in the bathroom that couldn't be turned off. So it was a quite noisy stay in an otherwise lovely room. Restaurants were quite expensive. This hotel didn't meet my expectations.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

I stayed here a couple of nights before I started a tour from anouther hotel. The hotel is not in a busy area so it was a good way to ease into the chaos that is delhi. It is near the museums and art gallery. Check in and out took a long time. There was one person attending to the check-in and out and at peak times there was a wait.
The rooms are comfortable and the pool is a nice place to recover from the jetlag or cool off from a hard days sight seeing.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brettbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

Good location in the middle of New Delhi, not very far from all the main sights and is an oasis in the heart of Delhi.
We had two suites facing onto the car-park. Rooms were spacious, clean, nice bed linen and bathrooms. Breakfast were really nice, lots of choice and especially cooked to order eggs, pancakes as well as Indian fare.
We also ate in the Indian restaurant called Dhaba - has some nice curries although the butter chicken was disappointing and the atmosphere tends to be a bit claustrophobic - no windows, too many staff, tables too close together and too hot.
The pool area is pleasant to sit around, as is a nice grassed area to the front of the hotel to sit and have drinks. But don't order wine here - is incredibly expensive.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmellasoprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#18 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,601 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
2.8 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#8 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#20 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,541 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#47 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claridges New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claridges New Delhi

Property: The Claridges New Delhi
Address: 12 Dr Apj Abdul Kalam Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Claridges New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridges, New Delhi is located in the heart of Lutyens Delhi. This gracious three-storied hotel is within close proximity of the business districts, diplomatic missions, shopping centres and historical landmarks like the India Gate and Rashtrapati Bhawan. The hotel offers a wide choice of accommodation ranging from well-appointed, deluxe rooms to luxury suites, some with their own private terrace. The rooms are amongst the most spacious in Delhi and are a blend of classic and contemporary styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Claridges New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claridges Hotel New Delhi
Claridges Hotel New Delhi
The Park Hotel Delhi
Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges Delhi
Claridges Hotel Delhi
Claridges India
Hotel Claridges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing