We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money you will pay”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ashok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ashok
Ranked #163 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not worth the money you will pay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

Having enjoyed a hotel in Mumbai and then the radisson blu in Delhi from the website and pictures I had seen I thought I was in for a treat at the ashok. I arrived and landed hard back to reality. It is nothing what it appears to be but it photographs beautifully. The reception looks grand and is full of staff that don't really know what is going on. Check in was smooth and then I was taken to the room. Terrible. I clearly am not stayin in one of the refurbished rooms. The view out the window was of satellite dishes and lots of them. The taps in the bathrooms have seen better days and the wifi is exceptionally slow and old style. This hotel in its day might have and probably was magnificent but it is not any longer. They need to spend some money and bring it up to date. I mean all other hotels of 5 star standards the basics of wifi is log in with room no and surname AND its very good. Here u have a very long username and password that's have to get every day from the reception and if you run more than one wifi device you need to ask for more. Anyhow, went in search of the Chinese and the Japanese restaurant that is advertised and alas they no longer exist ! One of the key reasons I booked the hotel was the variety of restaurants. The shops are over priced and nothing special. The lunch was well below par and the service if you can get the attention of the staff as all 17 were standing in a line watching the cricket.
Yes I won't be returning to the hotel and I won't be recommending it. It's expensive and not worth the money. There are plenty others that are far better value and superior in standard.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank kckenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    186
    125
    80
    76
See reviews for
65
71
50
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

It was the place where I attended a conference, and stayed during this conference, and I must say, it was a pleasurable experience for me. Since the day of my arrival to the day of departure I was indulged into the hotel's great hospitality. Though it was hectic and the staff have to work really hard to maintain, yet they always gave an aura of reassurance during my stay.

Rooms were neat, and comfy, just what was required for me during my stay.

I hope you will have a nice time here..

Happy traveling..

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank As-Saba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

i been to Ashok hotel delhi 1 years back as my flight is delayed so airlines booked this hotel.The Customer services is very rude to us and they are asking so there hospitality is bad. As per as rooms it seems they dont change bedsheets for a month as we seen many spots on bedsheets and dirty pillow covers.

I Never ever come back to this hotel in my future.and I warned to others Please be careful when you book this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 123FEROZE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Service is annoying: knocking on your door and walk straight up in your room putting pressure on choosing from the menu. Besides that Delhi is disgusting, this place is ok to stay. Close to the airport, easily reached by taxi.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKthetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Ashok Hotel for 2nts in September, 2012. I stayed in one of the renovated rooms. It was lovely, however there were no face cloths, and no top sheets on the bed. Canadians, or North Americans do not want to be next to a comforter that hasn't been cleaned daily, as sheets are. It is not hygenic. You need to address this. Also the rooms near the front/night club..left me without sleep for 2 nts. Very loud. The staff was very attentive, the breakfast staff very helpful, dinner was excellent..I don't understand the food complaints. I hope to bring a group to this hotel Oct. 2013..I hope all goes well. Wifi. was non existant for my stay. All in all though a lovely hotel, despite poor bedding..get some sheets!

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room, not near the night club...disturbing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bren67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa,Canada
Level Contributor
306 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We had a conference in this hotel in October 2012. The organization of the conference was excellent; the services provided by the hotel met international standards and there was a great cultural show one evening. The food was excellent.

We hired a car from the hotel to tour the city. The cost was reasonable , the car clean and comfortable and the driver as crazy as any other driver in Delhi. The tour desk was helpful to suggest places to visit. They did not offer any group sightseeing tour, only a private hiring of a driver. So you had to choose your own itinerary and places to visit.

There are several good restaurants in the hotel, including a vegetarian one where the food is excellent. Unfortunately, oyu cannot charge your meals on the room, and they don't take credit card nor US dollars. So you have to pay cash in rupees.

They have a large number of shops that sell local handicrafts and fabrics. Strangely enough, there is no place where you can buy practical things like toothpaste for example.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

It's not the worst place I have ever stayed but the shine on the Ashok is wafer thin at times.

I stayed in what I think was a renovated room. Excellent bed, good pillows, working amenities and reasonable food tried to make the stay good, but management needs to look beyond the foyer to understand how a guest may feel.

The biggest beware I would provide to any occupant is to watch the room doors. This is an old building, so some things can be overlooked but hotel door rooms that self close should fully close, not snag on the latch. I was initially alerted when I realised in the middle of the night that there was too much light coming in around the door. A quick push fixed things but made me alert. I noticed that almost half of the doors on my floor were not latching properly as staff wandered in and out doing the cleaning.

The other issue is noise. The hotel has an active nightclub, and staying in a room overlooking the entry is absolute murder between midnight and about 4am. The exit strategy for night club patrons is to spill out, start and rev the car with the music fully up, then talk for around 30 minutes. There are plenty of staff around who must know how loud it is, so this appears to be part of the marketing strategy. Noise management is then perfecetd with the hall vaccuming strategy which starts at about 630-7am, killing off whatever other sleep you were hoping for.

My final issue would be the sheer number of staff. I know this is a government run hotel in India, but the sheer numbers of people hanging around the halls is creepy. I don't think I successfully made it out of my room and to the lift without being scrutinised once. While some might find this reassuring, I found myself worrying about my every movement.

This is a lovely building with some great assets, but desperately needs some professional attention both inside and out to get it near the rating they believe is warrented. There is no point wiping the pool benches, when the pool edges are caked in pidgeon poo.

Room Tip: NOT - NOT overlooking the arrival driveway or nightclub entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hop3fullyL0st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samrat
Hotel Samrat
#448 of 708 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#261 of 708 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#46 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
2.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#18 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,544 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Delhi
Hyatt Regency Delhi
#39 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashok

Property: The Ashok
Address: 50 - B Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110002, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#60 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashok 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing downtown hotel with distinctive royal feel completed with arches & turrets, situated in the Diplomatic Enclave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ashok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashok Hotel New Delhi
Ashok New Delhi
Hotel Ashok New Delhi
The Ashok Hotel
Ashok Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing