We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ashok
Nearby Hotels
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Taj Mahal Hotel(New Delhi)
US$217
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Leela Palace New Delhi(New Delhi)
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (655)
Filter reviews
655 results
Traveller rating
104
206
155
93
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
206
155
93
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrontier restauranthuge hotellobby managergrand hotelrooms are bigroom service iscomfortable stayoudhembassiesambience
Filter
Updating list...
368 - 373 of 655 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I have stayed for 1 night. I stayed on 7th floor and room was front facing. Its room is spacious and has all the amenities. It lack a pleasant feel despite all amenities. It is an old hotel but look really very old. The bathroom is good but had no bath tub. I tried food at coffee shop and room as well. The food presentability can be better but breakfast lack variety at coffee shop.The room was noisy especially when the announcement about driver and car was made. I could hear announcement till 4am and early morning hence could not sleep peacefully. The best part is its location,very close to best sights of city and just opposite british embassy. It is a highly secure place and big lawns.

Room Tip: Swimming pool facing
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drparmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Ashok!!!

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at The Ashok, New Delhi and I am delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay.

Set in the prime location of Delhi’s Diplomatic Enclave, The Ashok is located in the safest & centralized areas of Delhi. The hotel has got varied and large inventory of 550 well appointed rooms suiting the taste of every individual. We wish you had placed a request to us for a room with bath tub at the time of reservation or check-in & we would be happy to provide you the room of your choice. Nevertheless, we have made a note of it for future and we would ensure that you get room with a bathtub and not cubicles in your subsequent visit.

Regarding the variation of food menu, your valuable suggestions have been shared with our Executive chef & Coffee shop Manager. I am pretty confident that you would see a markable change when you visit us next.

I look forward to welcome you again!!!

Warm Regards,
Goutam Chatterjee.
Goutamchatterjee@theashok.com
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Beatuful hotel, spaciaous rooms ,ample restaurant and well maintained lobby makes it one of best hotels in delhi . The staff is cooperative and helpful,service is excellent but only thing which was monotonous was the coffee shop breakfast which was same almost everyday staff is cooperative and helpful,service is excellent but only thing which was same almost everyday

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ram15081990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Ashok!

I thank you for sparing your valuable time & reviewing us on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to learn that you had a great time with us & liked various services and facilities of the hotel. Here, at The Ashok, it is always our earnest endeavor to provide you with the highest level of service and to ensure that your stay with us is truly most enjoyable.

Your feedback regarding the breakfast spread has been shared with the Executive Chef and Coffee shop Manager for necessary action.

We look forward for the pleasure of welcoming you again!

Regards,
Goutam Chatterjee,
goutamchatterjee@theashokgroup.com
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This old world luxury hotel with a palace like ambience with comfortable rooms,choice of cuisines & restaurants with excellent & efficient room service,friendly & warm staff specially reception,lobby & the other departments as well ,always look forward to visit this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank Shirishbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Ashok!

I truly thank you for taking out your valuable time & sharing your experience with us. It is always our earnest endeavor to provide all guests with the highest level of service and to ensure that each stay with us is truly most enjoyable.

Your kind words about the hotel are very encouraging for us and will motivate the team to continue excelling.

We would look forward to see you soon!

Regards,

Goutam Chatterjee,
goutamchatterjee@theashokgroup.com
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This was a great hotel to plunge in. the ambiance is superberb and makes u feel calm and is comparatively cheap in its class but a delight to stay. the best part i enjoyed is the washroom, infact i would like to spend more time there, than in the living room. The service was good as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CVA901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Ashok!

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Ashok, New Delhi and for reviewing us on Trip Advisor.

I am glad to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us and you liked the washrooms so more than anything else!

Your generous praise about the hotel, rooms and services is highly appreciated.

I look forward to welcome you soon!

Regards,

Goutam Chatterjee,
goutamchatterjee@theashokgroup.com
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Have stayed here on previous occasions as guest of the Government of India since it a government owned property. What can one say about a Hotel run by the government even though it is under the ITDC, a government corporation. Pleasantly surprised to find that it is quite busy, I suspect it may be due to the various government agencies being forced to patronise it. Air India seem to be using it, then again Air India is also a government owned airline. However, to be honest there seemed to be other guests too!
The Hotel itself seems to be have bee renovated and looked decent but on closer inspection one could see the various cracks and other defects. The fittings in the room were all antiquated. The shower did not work well and the phone in the bathroom kept on emitting a continuous beep which I did not bother to report. The flush had to be kept pressed if you wanted it to flush properly.
Breakfast was fine but disorganised in the sense that the settings were quite haphazard. The Pork section with the bacon and other pork offerings were kept separately. The bacon was stringy and not crisp at all.
Its a fine property in a fine location and would be better run if privatised.
The convenience store at the petrol pump or gas station near hotel was a life saver for buying essentials and especially cigarettes. It is located to the right of the Hotel a few metres from the entrance. This a new development in India and quite welcome.
They have a full fledged spa in a separate building but did not try it out.
A sister property The Samrat is within The Ashok's premises and seems to be a new development.
The Taxis from the Hotel were a rip off!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thudor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashok I, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Ashok!

Thank you for using The Ashok, Flagship Hotel of India Tourism Development Corporation, a pioneering corporation in the field of tourism and a legend in hospitality.

Here, at The Ashok, it is always our earnest endeavor to provide you with the highest level of service and to ensure that your stay with us is truly most enjoyable. However, it seems that we fell a little short this time.

Though your feedback would be used as a leaning tool for future orientation but we wish you had gotten in touch with our duty managers regarding these nibbling issues, I am certain that these concerns would have been immediately taken care of and your stay could have been even better.

Your feedback regarding the breakfast spread has been shared with the Executive Chef and Coffee shop Manager for necessary action. Also if there is any specific incident with the hotel taxi service, kindly let me know and I assure you it would be taken up immediately.

I look forward for the pleasure of welcoming you again!

Regards,
Goutam Chatterjee,
goutamchatterjee@theashokgroup.com
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews