We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OLD HOTEL - NEEDS REPAIR”
Review of The Ashok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ashok
Ranked #171 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“OLD HOTEL - NEEDS REPAIR”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Beautiful hotel, from outside. Needs repair and maintenance. Free wifi, but does not work everywhere. Decadent hotel, unfortunately... Bathroom seems badly cleaned. Good point: free bottles of mineral water in the breakfast, to take out during the day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaniMM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Ashok!

Thank you for the feedback and contribution.
I always believe that feedback is the best source of learning & is an opportunity to gain insight to improve the services & standards.

With regard to the maintenance issue highlighted by you, I would like you to know that the renovation/upgradation work keeps happening in the hotel in a phased manner and the hotel did undergo a massive renovation at the time Commonwealth Games 2010.

Since the hotel is spread over an area of 25 acres and has a large inventory of 550 well appointed rooms, an array of 12 dining and entertainment options with recreation facility , 7 banquet venues and additional 3 outdoor venues under one roof so it becomes a little difficult to withhold the entire operations. But yes! We are intending to do the upgradation strategically so that the operations too are not hampered.

I look forward for an opportunity to see you again!

Regards,

Goutam Chatterjee,
goutamchatterjee@theashok.com
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    188
    128
    80
    77
See reviews for
66
70
51
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo/Brazil
Level Contributor
161 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Maintenance could improve a lot, just like breakfast and wifi range. Wifi is free, which is a good point. Sometimes there was a problem with the key to the room. It wasn´t the worst cenario, but could get better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tzanoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Greeting from The Ashok!

Thank you for choosing The Ashok and giving us an opportunity to serve you.

I am disappointed to learn that your stay was just okay and could have been better. Although we strive to ensure that our guests experience the best possible service during their stay it seems we fell short of our goals this time.

We are learning from each and every comment and feedback, as they make us better at what we do. We, once again, thank you for the comments, as they will make us better in our service delivery. The issues highlighted by you have been minutely noted and shared with the concerned departmental heads for remedial action.

Inconvenience regretted.

Warm Regards,

Goutam Chatterjee.
goutamchatterjee@theashokgroup.com
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2013

MY MONTH STAY AT THE ASHOK HOTEL WAS VERY MEMORABLE. The hotel is located in the epicenter of the city within the diplomatic enclave which allays any security fears. The beautiful people at the reception ahd in the restaurant are a good cause of the need to want to recheck at 5he hotel ashok in the near future.the food is quite international and of course with a touch of indian delectable cuisine.the rooms are exquisite, the basketful of fruits which is usually an everyday feature on the room tables is fantastic.moreso, the location in relation to the airport is strategic and to the other markets such as city walk, vasant vihah, cannaght, delhihad is very convenient...my stay there was memorable and efforts to be there again next year are already underway

Room Tip: Explain your needs at the reception and they will suit you
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank kingston m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Ashok!

It was truly our pleasure to have you with us and serve you. Here at Ashok, it is always our endeavor to provide the most exquisite experience to our guests and I am glad that our team did it again!

Set in the prime location of Delhi’s Diplomatic Enclave, The Ashok is located in the safest & centralized areas of Delhi. Hotel indeed is located in the heart of Delhi and is very well connected to most of the south Delhi markets and malls

Your kind words of appreciation about the hotel would certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to even do better and excel.

I look forward to welcome you again!!!

Warm Regards,
Goutam Chatterjee.
goutamchatterjee@theashokgroup.com
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Seychelles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed for one month at the Ashok Hotel and it was wonderful!! The staff took care of me and my room looked just perfect when i got back after a long tiring day...the location is just in the heart of Delhi and it is close to almost everything essential...a beautiful lady comes to talk to you every morning to check if everything is ok in the room and if you are enjoying your stay...Ashok is a great choice for a 5-Star stay in New Delhi!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel_Debra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from hotel The Ashok!

I truly thank you for taking out your valuable time & sharing your experience with us. It is always our earnest endeavor to provide you with the highest level of service and to ensure that your stay with us is most enjoyable. I am glad to note that your nearly a month long stay was enjoyable & you had a pleasant time with us.

Your kind words of appreciation about the services & facilities are encouraging for us in the quest of striving for excellence. Your generous praise has been shared with our guest relations department for whom your words are tremendous source of inspiration.

I look forward to welcome you again!

Warm Regards,

Goutam Chatterjee.
goutamchatterjee@theashokgroup.com
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandigarh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Ashok probably is the largest but the most ill managed 5 star hotel in Delhi. Huge area, amazing structure & architecture but the stay at the hotel is a complete turn off. The staff is unconcerned with your arrival at the hotel. I had to carry my 3 pieces of luggage on my own, first to the reception, then to the room. The room carpet was dirty & stinky. The cupboards was open & needed repair. the tea kettle was dirty too. The bathroom is big but again, having a strange smell. The room service was pathetic, with no one appearing despite 3 calls. At the restaurant, I chose to order a-la-carte for dinner, than the buffet. Here again the service was very very slow. Would never stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerYG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Ashok!

Thank you for patronizing The Ashok and sparing your valuable time for sharing your feedback with us at length. I understand from your feedback that your overall experience with us was not up to your expectation & you were dissatisfied with certain services.

We always appreciate hearing from our guests, especially regarding places of improvement. We will most definitely learn from the concerns highlighted by you and use this feedback as a tool to upgrade our product & services. Your comments have been shared with the hotel team to ensure that we do even better.

I look forward for the pleasure of welcoming you again & assure you of our best services in future.

Warm Regards,

Goutam Chatterjee.
goutamchatterjee@theashok.com
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Worst experience in a hotel !

- no electricity for half a day
- room cleaning will not clean until you are in the room. You can call as much as u like.
- requested a microwave in the room which didn't work .
- hair dryer doesn't work
- all lights go on and off in the night every 10 mins entire night
- room service will not keep your child's meds in their freezer as a hotel policy. Mrs Das the lady in charge of room service was v rude and said she didn't care if we complained she has been doing this for many years.
- the bathroom shower gels and soap tubes etc require a pin to open them each time or the liquid will not come out.
- bathroom gets flooded as flooring not level after each shower.
- 3 of our friends stayed with us on the same floor as we come to India together and they all hated the hotel. Even the US motels are better. Am sorry to have taken them here.
- cashier at the front will get annoyed if you change currency or get change with him as 'that's not his job'.

Go to India every year and stay in the ITC Maurya which is superb but this time stayed at Ashoka for a wedding there and have vowed never again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Radhikamathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from hotel The Ashok!!!

We thank you for your recent stay at The Ashok & sharing your valuable feedback. We value our guests and work towards providing the best services at all times & always appreciate hearing from our guests, especially regarding places of improvement.

While we apologize for the inconvenience caused, we assure you that we are looking into this matter. May we request you to kindly share your contact details as we would like to get in touch with you regarding each issue highlighted with you.

We do hope you stay with us again and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Regards,

Goutam Chatterjee,
goutamchatterjee@theashokgroup.com
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

was in this hotel for 2 nights and had the suite. the room was remodled and was nice and good.
the hotel is very big and rooms are big as well.
servise was good - no complains and everyone tried to do thiers best.
the breakfast was ok but not a 5 star hotel breakfast.
location is excellent.
gym is nice and good but pool was very dirty.
All in all - i have mix feeling about the hotel. it seems it had royal past and was needing the small things to be fix in order to have a great future.
someone need to think about the small details in this hotel in order to make it much better and it is not with a lot of work and efforth but with small touch -for instance the noise that you have always from outside...the speed of service (wanted iron machine and it took so lond that it was usless when it reached) the handle of the bathroom that was broken and no one care about...etc...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benny-rehovot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Ashok!

I thank you for sparing your valuable time & reviewing us on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to learn that you liked our renovated rooms and various facilities of the hotel. Although we strive to ensure that our guests experience the best possible service during their stay it seems we fell a little short of our goals this time.

We always appreciate hearing from our guests, especially regarding places of improvement. Your comments have been shared with the hotel team to ensure that we do even better. We will most definitely learn from the concerns highlighted by you and use this feedback as a tool to upgrade our product & services.

I look forward for the pleasure of welcoming you again & assure you of our best services in future.

Warm Regards,

Goutam Chatterjee.
goutamchatterjee@theashokgroup.com
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samrat
Hotel Samrat
#456 of 713 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#270 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
2.0 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,638 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Delhi
Hyatt Regency Delhi
#35 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashok

Property: The Ashok
Address: 50 - B Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110002, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#60 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashok 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing downtown hotel with distinctive royal feel completed with arches & turrets, situated in the Diplomatic Enclave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ashok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashok Hotel New Delhi
Ashok New Delhi
The Ashok Hotel
Hotel Ashok New Delhi
Ashok Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing