We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Rooms . Centrally Located.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ashok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ashok
Ranked #163 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Rooms . Centrally Located.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I have stayed in Ashok few times for conferences. The overall experience is good.

Rooms quality is good. Spacious Room.

Room Dining has nice and delicious food. The service is very slow. They can take even an hour to give an extra plate (provided they remember to deliver it.)

Value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siddhantvats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Ashok, New Delhi and for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. Your generous praise about the hotel, rooms, staff and food is very encouraging for us.
I look forward to welcome you again!

Regards,

Goutam Chatterjee,
goutamchatterjee@theashokgroup.com
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    183
    124
    78
    76
See reviews for
64
69
50
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I spent four nights in the hotel and stayed in a spacious two-room suite with a balcony which commanded a panoramic view of the city. It was a well-appointed suite with wall-to-wall carpet, a large flat-screen (easy to operate!) TV in every room, plenty of drinking water, an electric kettle and ingredients for making tea/coffee, a comfortable bathroom with several toilet articles, a national daily delivered every morning, free wi fi connectivity as well as access to the swimming pool and gym. The suite also had copies of the Bible and the Gita. The Coffee Shop serves a good buffet breakfast. The staff is courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front yard are likely to be quieter. Noisy musical programs are sometimes held...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermes_Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Ashok!

Glad to note that you were delighted with the services and facilities of the hotel during your recent stay with us.

Indeed, the hotel has scores of well-appointed Executive, Luxury and Deluxe suites besides Presidential suite that frames the stunning panorama of Delhi’s skyline.

We look forward for an opportunity to serve you again!

Regards,

Goutam Chatterjee,
goutamchatterjee@theashokgroup.com
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel last month. Excellent Location. Its really Majestic. Sprawiling Lawns, Specious Rooms, Many dining options and not to forget 'Oudh' Restaurant.
Slow but efficient room service.
Smile and Warmth are remarkably missing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeeKay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Ashok!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and sharing your feedback with us.

Indeed, the hotel is conveniently located and massive. Spread over 25 acres, hotel offers an extensive array of nine dining options, seven banquet venues and additional three outdoor venues under one roof.

Your generous praise about our award-winning restaurant “Oudh” is highly appreciated. Your other remarks have also been noted for the constructive use and betterment.

Regards,

Goutam Chatterjee,
goutamchatterjee@theashokgroup.com
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

i am pretty impress from the coffee shop in the hotel with their food and service.
location is perfect for enjoying your food with instrumental music.
as i believe if there is provision of swimming pool view from coffee shop it will be great to sit there and njoy your food.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidhant64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from The Ashok!
Thank you for your kind patronage and wonderful feedback.

Glad to learn that we impressed you in a number of ways and you liked the food at the coffee shop overviewing our splendid swimming pool. Indeed, the melodious synthesizer adds charm and multiplies the dining experience at the coffeeshop.

Look forward for an opportunity to serve you again!

Regards,

Goutam Chatterjee,
goutamchatterjee@theashokgroup.com
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
modasa,gujrat
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Location is good, it's size is mind blowing. Our whole conference was literally absorbed in it.rooms are good but being government property, maintainance is bit let down. How ever, staff is very polite and courteous and prompt in service. Lawns are massive. Equally mind blowing are no. Of restaurants . Audh had been a favourite. Front lobby now appears bit dated, but check in is ok

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manishpatel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Ashok!

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Ashok, New Delhi and for reviewing us on Trip Advisor.

Delighted to learn that we could impress you with the grandeur and world class hospitality. Your generous praise about the hotel, rooms, staff and food especially about our award winning “Oudh” restaurant is highly appreciated. Your suggestions & observations are equally valued and important for us to improve our services.

Would look forward to welcome you again!

Regards,

Goutam Chatterjee,
goutamchatterjee@theashokgroup.com
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
174 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Admit it - we all go to a star place not alone for the grandeur and facilities - but also for the care and hospitality that they provide. That is what separates them and makes them special or earns them stars.
Sadly - this hotel is grand in structure, has heritage on its side - but the service leaves lot to be desired. Bell boys are not around - at check in you have to ask for to be served rather than the desk persons asking - room service takes ages to come - maintenance and upkeep is not that great - there is noise outside of construction and tankers all night - you need to find your way to the coffee shop and look for place there - all tell tale sign of I DAMN CARE hospitality.
On plus - the breakfast spread on coffee shop was one of the largest - and yes the room service is slow - but the food is yum.
Overall - not recommended for the price and stars that they have

Room Tip: Don't stay on ground floor - take the higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMITSPVERMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Ashok!

Thank you for the feedback, which I read with disappointment and interest.

Glad to know that we impressed you with our grandeur and magnificent structure but at the same time deeply disappointed to learn that, you were dissatisfied in a number of ways.

Your feedback is important and has been taken constructively to do even better. All the concerns raised have been shared with the concerned departmental heads for greater improvement.
Inconvenience regretted.

Regards,

Goutam Chatterjee,
goutamchatterjee@theashokgroup.com
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambala, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a good four star hotel in the most posh area of Delhi. It is the most economical & fits in your budget with all the four star facilities. It is quiet spacious with good ambience and a decent services.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vikavarm256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Ashok!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and sharing your wonderful feedback with us. Located in the Diplomatic Enclave of the city, the hotel is an embodiment of hospitality & is a “Five star Deluxe Property”, The Flagship Hotel of India Tourism Development Corporation.

Indeed the hotel is quite spacious and offers the best convention facilities with well-appointed 550 rooms, nine dining options and seven banquet venues with additional three outdoor venues under one roof.

We look forward for an opportunity to serve you again!

Regards,

Goutam Chatterjee,
goutamchatterjee@theashokgroup.com
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samrat
Hotel Samrat
#475 of 706 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,329 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#255 of 706 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
1.3 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#23 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Hotel The Royal Plaza
#73 of 706 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashok

Property: The Ashok
Address: 50 - B Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110002, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#61 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashok 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing downtown hotel with distinctive royal feel completed with arches & turrets, situated in the Diplomatic Enclave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Ashok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashok Hotel New Delhi
Ashok New Delhi
Hotel Ashok New Delhi
The Ashok Hotel
Ashok Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing