We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not upto the mark”
Review of The Ashok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ashok
Ranked #219 of 727 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I had been to delhi for a business trip.i had heard the name of this hotel through my friends and decided to stay here. But as i had heard the hotel was just opposite. The service was not upto the mark and even the food served was nt worth. Overall i felt its n worth paying it.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashu041982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Ashok!

At the outset, kindly accept my profound and sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused during your recent stay with us. Though, the hotel is known for its class service and delectable food but I am distressed that we could not match your expectations.
We always appreciate hearing from our guests, especially regarding places for improvement and hence would wish to know if there is any specific experience that you want to share with us to enable us to do even better.

We look forward for an opportunity to serve you & make your stay a memorable one.

Regards,

Goutam Chatterjee,
goutamchatterjee@theashokgroup.com
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Check-in was confused. Bathroom was/is dirty and the room hadn't been dusted in ages, if ever. I asked for a taxi to see some local sights and was provided with a wreck without A/C, then was badly ripped off by the driver. I would think the hotel would vet such services. Breakfast is fine and some of the staff are friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for one that's been cleaned recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flyingfish2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Ashok!

It is most unfortunate to read your feedback and comments on the experience with our team. The issue raised by you is distressing and we are looking into it with great concern. However, we request you to share your stay details with us to enable us to investigate the matter in depth since unfortunately; we neither could locate your stay details nor is there any such complaint recorded in our log.

We, indeed thank you for sharing your experience, as we believe that feedbacks enable us to do even better. It would rather be appreciated if you could write to me & share your concerns in detail.

Regards,

Goutam Chatterjee
goutamchatterjee@theashokgroup.com
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel is by the govt.,for the govt and of the govt.!
Awesome lobby..stunning chandeliers and hmmmm..yah... dats it!
This hotel being a govt owned property works like a sarkari hotel only.
Very slow room service..breakfast spread is just ok..taste is bad..superbad
The staff gives importance to dere VVIP guests(MP's MLA's etc) others can keep waiting!
When u ask a waiter to get you a Dosa you might get a reply like "There are too many people there..Eat something else"..Yup..True Story.
Anyways..I was there for a wedding..stayed there for 1 night.
Awesome Location..VVIP Zone..u might find MP's at the next table eating breakfast with you.
Hotel needs renovation..there are paint marks everywhere..the carpet has holes...the lobby sofas have torned cushions..
The only thing good about this hotel is the history and the location.
Rooms are too small..Washrooms have leaky taps..and Wifi doesnt work!!
I would have given it 2 Stars..1 Extra star because i met Hema Malini there!;)

Room Tip: Pool Side was ok..facing Hotel Samrat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank varun k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Ashok!

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

Indeed, I am deeply disappointed to learn that we could not forge a connection between your expectations and experience. It though, always is our endeavor to ensure that our guests experience the best possible service during their stay but it seems that we fell far short of our goals this time. We have taken your feedback constructively and will ensure, as always, that we learn and improve where we can to provide exceptional guest experience.

I look forward for an opportunity to welcome you again!

Regards,

Goutam Chatterjee.
goutamchatterjee@theashokgroup.com
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I choose this hotel because of his history, but unfortunaltely it was the past history of his significence. This hotel must be renovated. The staff of the hotel wants to get money whatever the do, it was really not nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aldona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Ashok!

Thank you for your feedback and contribution.

I am distressed to learn from your feedback about the happening and would infact, wish to speak with you personally. Unfortunately, we could not locate your booking details and hence could not contact you. It would indeed be appreciated if you could drop in a mail to me and share your concerns in detail.

Hoping to hear from you soon!

Regards,

Goutam Chatterjee,
goutamchatterjee@theashokgroup.com
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This trip was to Delhi to attend the wedding, the wedding took place in the Asoka itself, it was great staying there, and the staff was very friendly and helpful, food was very good, every day I use to get a call from gust relationships manager to know about my comfortable. Each and every thing was taken care; from the time check in till check out. I am great full to all the staff and management team. The more I like in this hotel was the antiques and interior decoration.

Hope to come back again for the best hospitality service …….

Room Tip: pool view in higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jameslingam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Ashok!

Thank you for your generous feedback and appreciation. I am glad that you had a memorable experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Regards,

Goutam Chatterjee,
goutamchatterjee@theashokgroup.com
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

It's always a official visit for me, I always liked this hotel...starting from lobby, restaurant, pool,etc...rooms are comfortable only one thing is depressing which is cleanliness of the room, even corridors are not well maintained. Upper floors are better. Wifi connection is always poor in new wing rooms. Food is up to the mark. Some of the staffs are sincere...overall experience is average...

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank nancy2nidhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Ashok!
Thank you for the feedback and contribution. I am glad to note that you always like staying with us.
I have reviewed each of your comments and have shared your concerns with the departmental head for immediate corrective action. At The Ashok, we continuously strive to better our services and provide our guests with an outstanding experience.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again!
Regards,

Goutam Chatterjee,
goutamchatterjee@theashokgroup.com
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I was on a family trip to Delhi recently. Selecting a good hotel in Capital city was a tiresome job for us. A friend of ours had recommended Ashok Hotel. Frankly speaking, we were quite hesitant in checking-in there as it being a govt. owned property ;). But upon his insistence we finally agreed to give it a chance. No doubt the hotel is huge & magnificent but for a comfortable stay service does matters esp. when you are with family. We had a warm welcome at the reception.
To our amazement, the rooms were very neat and clean and hygienic too, the housekeeping services were very good, well behaved and the staffs are very friendly. The food was lovely. Travel desk staff were helpful in providing us with Delhi route map. Though it was just a 2 day trip, we enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sks3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goutamchatterjee, General Manager at The Ashok, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Ashok!
Truly thank you for your feedback and kind words of appreciation. They really mean a lot to us!
I am glad to know that you had a enjoyable stay with us and liked our property and food. Here, we value our guest’s feedback and shall work towards providing even better services at all times to ensure a warm, comfortable and memorable stay.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Goutam Chatterjee,
goutamchatterjee@theashokgroup.com
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samrat
Hotel Samrat
#402 of 727 in New Delhi
152 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#39 of 727 in New Delhi
4,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#276 of 727 in New Delhi
102 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Delhi
Hyatt Regency Delhi
#44 of 727 in New Delhi
2,411 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#38 of 727 in New Delhi
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashok

Address: 50 - B Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110002, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#68 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £85 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ashok 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing downtown hotel with distinctive royal feel completed with arches & turrets, situated in the Diplomatic Enclave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ashok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashok Hotel New Delhi
Ashok New Delhi
The Ashok Hotel
Hotel Ashok New Delhi
Ashok Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing