We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tricky to review...”
Review of The Suryaa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Suryaa
Ranked #19 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Spectacular breakfast buffet and really nice lobby. However, the hotel suffers from several drawbacks.... Mostly am attitude of ostentacious-ness. They act like they are 5 star but are less. For example, they charge absurd prices for laundry services and other things but they just aren't at that level. The rooms are not up to a luxury standard either... Non functional furniture, showers that flood the bathroom with an inch of water, located in a hideous neighborhood.
The staff is mixed as well. Some front desk staff should never be in service. While others (eg Sukriti) are some of the best I've ever encountered and made the stay extra special.
Last word : If you can find a good deal staying here, it is definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Beware of rooms with the stupidest showers ever constricted... They pour water out onto the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindynor41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PankajMathurGM, General Manager at The Suryaa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and reviewing the various facets of our hotel. Though we are glad to know that you were impressed with our associates and offerings, we regret that we couldn’t extend a completely satisfying experience. Your review has been shared with the entire team and we are in the process of amending the lapses that you encountered in our services.

Once again, we thank you for staying at The Suryaa New Delhi and sharing your valuable input on this forum. We hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you with a par excellence stay experience at our hotel in New Delhi.

Your feedback is important to us!

Best Regards,
Pankaj Mathur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,470 - 1,476 of 2,194 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

Extremely courteous staff....... ! Very Clean and comfortable rooms......!..Food was pretty decent...

I really enjoyed the Sunday Special Brunch at Essence!!......

A very good stay altogether!....Thank you for the excellent service.!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aditirungta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PankajMathurGM, General Manager at The Suryaa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We express our gratitude for sharing your experience following your stay with us.
Located in the heart of South Delhi, The Suryaa New Delhi represents the amazing blend of traditional Indian hospitality and modern luxuries. It is heartening to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and were more than satisfied with our amenities, upkeep, dining options and ‘services so memorable’. Our associates are happy and motivated that their efforts in making your stay pleasant didn’t go unnoticed. We also thank you for dining at our newly opened restaurant, Ssence and letting us know about your gourmet experience.

Once again, thank you for summing up our merits on this forum. It was indeed a delight having you at our hotel in New Delhi and we hope you would soon honor us with a revisit.

Your feedback is important to us!

Best Regards
Pankaj Mathur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The hotel is located at New Friends Colony which is approximately 45-60 min from airport. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well maintained. The service is prompt and front office extremely courteous.Duty Managers are helpful and ensure your stay is comfortable. Buffet spread at breakfast is huge and caters to all tastes.Dining experience was good too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoolTraveller36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PankajMathurGM, General Manager at The Suryaa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your experience on this forum. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel in New Delhi and found our services and amenities in sync with your expectations.

Located in proximity to the major business hubs of South Delhi and fitted with advanced conferencing facilities, The Suryaa New Delhi is designed to meet the needs of modern business travelers. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our world-class facilities and were also impressed with our ‘services so memorable’.

The entire team appreciates your mention of the different facets of our hotel and looks forward to being at your service in the future. Thank you again for your patronage and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Your feedback is important to us!

Best Regards,
Pankaj Mathur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Although I checked out in the morning of my last day in town, my flight back to Hong Kong did not leave until after midnight. But I was able to get a lot of work done in the lobby on the wifi system, which the management kindly arranged. This made my business trip to Delhi very productive.

Room Tip: ADA rooms are good for those in wheelchairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gershon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PankajMathurGM, General Manager at The Suryaa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from The Suryaa New Delhi and thank you for sharing the recent experience you had with us on this forum.

We are happy that you were impressed with the detailed attention given by our associates. It is our objective to extend a hassle-free and ‘ever so memorable’ experience to our guests and we are glad to know that we succeeded in our endeavors.

We thank you again for giving us an opportunity to serve you during your business trip to Delhi.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits.

Your feedback is important to us!

Best Regards,
Pankaj Mathur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were treated exceptionally by all staff. My husband was admitted to hospital on the last day of our holiday, and if it wasn't for the help of Atiq Rahman, at both the hospital and hotel, I don't know what I' d have done. Thanks to everyone who helped us.
The breakfast buffet was superb, as was the dinner experience. Staff extremely helpful, can't do enough for you.
Would definitely recommend a stay here. Have travelled all over the world, this hotel ' s service was second to none.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PankajMathurGM, General Manager at The Suryaa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your exceptional stay at The Suryaa New Delhi on this forum. We are glad to know that our associates could take care of you and provide an experience ‘ever so memorable’.

The Suryaa New Delhi is a luxury hotel in New Delhi that blends opulence with comfort and provides a par excellence stay experience. Though we regret that your husband got sick on the last day of your stay, we are pleased that our associates could assist you in the best way possible. Your kind appreciation of their thoughtfulness has been duly conveyed and they are glad to have their efforts acknowledged through this review.

We thank you again for your recommendation and look forward to being of service whenever you visit the city.

Your feedback is important to us!

Best Regards
Pankaj Mathur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

not even wortha single penny.....the worst experience one can have is staying in this hotel. This is the only grand looking hotel in new friends colony but nothing is grand here. You are being befooled from the very start. From salon to breakfast quality, everything makes you guilty to chose this hotel. They, many times deny to provide you valeet service and ask you to park your vehicle somewhere outside. No signs of guilt, no proper hotel management team, they dont feel sorry for their deeds. Shower in bathroom is disgusting. All in all it is not a hotel worth staying in Delhi, especially at the price they charge. WORST HOTEL EVER

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sparsh g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The hotel Suryaa is a building more than 20 years old based on my understanding. The hotel is located in the New Friends Colony area which is not very near to the city center. The ratio overall quality/room rate is excellent: in my rate I had included airport pick up and drop off, the breakfast (good) and free laundry for three items per day. The lobby is large, bright and quite elegant. Common areas are well maintained. The room I stayed in was well sized except for the bathroom which I found a bit small. Some mold in the bathroom, the status of the power sockets which are not well functioning and the smell of the room are signs of the age of the building. Nonetheless staying at this hotel is fine considering that the small hiccups are promptly solved and the little inconveniences are compensated by the attitude, the commitment and the kindness of the staff which is the real added value of the hotel. From the valet parking guy, to the receptionist, from the duty manager to the laundry boy, everyone is always smiling and trying to anticipate the customer needs. My special thanks go to Mr. Mohammad Tahir, Room Division Manager, and Mr Sukriti Mathur, the housekeeper, for the elegance and the kindness they have treated me with.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giuizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PankajMathurGM, General Manager at The Suryaa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for giving us a chance to welcome you at our hotel in New Delhi. At The Suryaa New Delhi, we cater to business and leisure travelers from across the globe. It makes us happy to know that the expertise of our associates added value to your stay experience. We also thank you for your special appreciation of our associates, who indeed go above and beyond to extend ‘services so memorable’ to our guests.

Once again, many thanks for checking-in with us and sharing your experience with other travelers on this forum. It was a pleasure having you at our hotel and the entire team looks forward to being at your service whenever you visit the city.

Your feedback is important to us!

Best Regards,
Pankaj Mathur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Lalit New Delhi
#36 of 779 in New Delhi
4,318 reviews
Roseate House New Delhi
#8 of 779 in New Delhi
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eros Hotel
#29 of 779 in New Delhi
1,384 reviews
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#25 of 779 in New Delhi
2,982 reviews
Le Meridien New Delhi
#20 of 779 in New Delhi
3,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suryaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suryaa

Address: | New Friends Colony, Community Centre, New Delhi 110025, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#17 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#27 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#67 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £65 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Suryaa 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Suryaa, New Delhi with its host of facilities and services is designed to meet your business and personal needs. Our 244 well-appointed guestrooms and suites are elegantly designed and the delectable dining options, technologically advanced conferencing features, exquisite recreation facilities as well as warm and attentive service are just some of the things that make The Suryaa, New Delhi a preferred destination.The hotel is in close proximity to the world-renowned Apollo Hospital & the Escorts Heart Institute. A Shopping arcade and other recreation facilities are within walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Suryaa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Suryaa New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Crowne Plaza New Delhi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Delhi
Crowne Plaza Hotel New Delhi
Crowne Plaza Delhi
Crowneplaza Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing