We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly traditional hotel”
Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ajanta
Ranked #56 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Very friendly staff and great restaurant . This hotel is right at the heart of the real traditional India I loved it. Nice spacious rooms. I have stayed there on 3 different occasions and each time the experience has been positive. This part of India can be quite daunting especially if your a first timer but the staff at the Ajanta are helpful. I'm a single female traveller and found it most suitable

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jooliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Expedia Insider‘s Select 2012, (The only hotel in Delhi to get this award), Agoda gold circle 2012 & Make My Trip Platinum Pick award 2012 award winning Ajanta Hotel for your stay in New Delhi.

We are delighted that you found our services and efficiency up to the highest standard.

Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,054 - 1,060 of 1,971 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

During my visit to new delhi in January I stayed in this Hotel. I was provided a good double bedroom with a very nice and clean washroom and a minibar also.Reception staff was helpfull. Room service was also good .But the most attractive thing which i liked there was there food.It was really delicious .
The bad thing was the mattress .it was springy and due to that whole night i could not slept well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mishrack_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

My true rating for the Ajanta would be better than poor but worse than average.

For the price and the area in Delhi, the accomodations were surprisingly clean and comfortable. Hot water, fairly comfortable beds, and reasonably priced average food. If your are careful to avoid each staff members way of skimming the profits you will have a decent place to stay in Delhi.

Don't let them put you in a room you did not book and if you book online bring a printout of the room photo you booked, a copy of the receipt showing taxes included in the price quote, as well as the confirmation printout. For us, on check out, the counter staff tried to tell us we had not paid taxes and without proof we had, he attempted to put an extra charge on our bill and asked us to pay the tax in cash to avoid any extra charges from our card company. When we insisted to put the entire bill on our card because we knew our cards foreign transaction fee rate, he whispered softly to his cohort and then found a "problem with our paper work." It appeared we had been quoted a price with tax included and he would be denied his bakshish for the morning.

On check in, ask to go directly to your room. The staff apparently hopes to prey on jet lagged and tired minds and will tag team berate you to sign on to a tour package the day of arrival. We seriously felt like we were being attacked by vultures when we arrived. Simply say you are not going to plan a tour until you get rest and food and some time to gather your thoughts. And ultimately there are other, better, less conniving tour agencies in Delhi if you look.

If they offer you tea when you arrive, ask if it is complimentary.

Ask for a room with a window unless you like interior cell like quarters. That is the first room they took us to.

Every staff member, whether in the restaurant or behind the counter will ask you to pay in cash and I can only assume they pocket any cash they get. If I owned the hotel I would be looking for new, trustworthy staff member to ensure survival as a tourist hotel.

Again though, If your conscious of all the scams, and don't trust the staff in you room then it isn't a bad place to stay for the price. Especially if your goal is to get quickly out of Delhi because the hotel is safe walking distance from the train station.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 184Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Expedia Insider‘s Select 2012, Agoda gold circle & Make My Trip Platinum Pick award winning Ajanta Hotel for your stay in New Delhi.

We are glad that you found our hotel "nice and clean, decent and a safe place to stay in Delhi".

We are sorry that there was a bit of confusion about your T.A. reservation voucher produced by you.

We offer you a complimentary stay whenever you visit Delhi again.

Assuring you our best services, we remain.

Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

First let me say our stay was good, we booked for one day stay, The hotel is good and our stay was pleasant, what went bad - The location is horrible. Do not buy any packages from the hotel they will rip you off. The railway station is just 400 meters from the hotel but when we asked them where it was they asked us to pay 400INR to drop as early morning to the station, but at that time we were not aware that just a turn from the lane is the station. We booked the cab for 5.30 morning and went on it after it crossed the turn there was a huge traffic block and the driver told us sir this left building is the station you can walk to the gate, and we had to walk to the station to get to the train on time.

By evening we had our trip to Manali through Volvo and we were stuck in the train on our return, we called the hotel and arranged a cab to take our luggage to the place where we board the bus and they agreed and charged us 250INR, but since the train got late we got late to reach the bus station, and when we got there we found was that our luggage was left on the foot path with none around. One Mr Sharma was send to us. We had to take a taxi from there to catch the bus and while we took our bags from the footpath to the car and was about to go this man Mr, Sharma came in from no where and asked for his taxi fare which he collected 300INR from us without giving the balance, and saying that he has waited for hours. which was actually 30 minutes.

The way the guy handled our luggage was very unprofessional. The hotel is responsible for the persons who are appointed by them to cater to the needs of its customers. I will never ever go back to them.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kollam003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Expedia Insider‘s Select 2012, Agoda gold circle & Make My Trip Platinum Pick award winning Ajanta Hotel for your stay in New Delhi.

We are glad that you found our hotel "nice and clean, decent and a safe place to stay".

There was no offer of any travel package to you and therefore, your comments are unfair.

The luggage was sent to you upon your S.O.S. and specific request to help you catch

connecting bus, as your train was late and the courier was to paid by you directly. Normally we
don’t extend this service.

Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Stayed at Ajanta on numerous trips through Delhi and always found it great value. The travel desk is awesome for organizing trips through out India we have done three trips Rajasthan,Agra,Jaipur,northern India all the way to Gulmarg and the drivers were great Deepak especially. The hotel has a good restaurant and wi fi is available for a small charge.Would have no qualms in recommending this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: December 2012
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently for two nights, staff are over bearing and was asked/served by 5 different members of staff in the restaurant. They jump on you as are all trying to get tips. The room was small and was very noisy as seemed to be next to a dog pound. If you need to stay here I recommend you are firm with the staff, book your own taxis and pack earplugs!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This was my first hotel in India and not expensive at all so I was amazed the standard was so high in my room and the general areas. The staff were really amazing and so friendly. I was an older lady travelling alone and they helped me get the dreaded simcard and a new handset, train tickets and generally supported me during my stay. Wonderful people and excellent value for money. Of course you need ear plugs and an eye mask - but this is India!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#38 of 777 in New Delhi
1,238 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#20 of 777 in New Delhi
812 reviews
Wood Castle
#32 of 777 in New Delhi
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#39 of 777 in New Delhi
964 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#55 of 777 in New Delhi
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Address: 36 Arakshan Road | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £19 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotels
Ajanta Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing