We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality and Frugality AT ITS BEST.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ajanta
Ranked #63 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quality and Frugality AT ITS BEST.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I had to go to Delhi on an emergency official visit, I randomly checked in at a hotel in Arakashan road, When I saw Ajanta from outside, It appealed to me as a classic wester Hotel. I walked in Ajanta and it was so full , I had to take up the Deluxe Suite at the top floor ! When I walked in to see my room, It was so spacious, luxurious and cozy! The balcony just adds to the glamour. The right kind of set up for me. All this they told for a very frugal price.

The complimentary breakfast was also great! The staff were well reciprocative but not adept professionally!

The best part is the roof top restaurant ! The day times, I was a weary traveler, I just had to take a few steps, to have my meal ordered to my table.

Overally, a great Experience for me at the heart of Delhi.

Will suggest to Others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anveshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you Sir, Happy to know you liked our breakfast, hotel, decor and also the pricing. We hope you give us another change to pamper you.
Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    660
    315
    132
    154
See reviews for
299
476
312
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Staying at the AJANTA hotel, was brilliant as we were traveling around north India the Ajanta hotel provided a brilliant base for us to plan our journey and recuperate from traveling.
The service was immpecable and the staff were always happy to help. Any questions were always answered and the reception staff were very efficient when providing us with information for the best places to eat and shop ( a real must for India).
In short the AJANTA hotel helped to make our holiday special and memorable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anitaandcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
1) Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Ajanta Hotel in Delhi for your stay. I am so glad you were very happy with all the travel assistance and hospitality. Our travel team is capable and experienced and it is our ultimate aim to make every guest have a memorable holiday.
We appreciate your spending time to send us a lovely review.
Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Booked from home as this was our first stop in India. Arrived near midnight with the promise of a car waiting, but they forgot. Man on the phone explained how too book a taxi and how much it should cost. Arrived, paid and were taken to our room. Clean, open, no windows but we didn't care. Breakfast is plentiful, and Omelette Man ensured all your omelette needs were satisfied. Hotel manager (who reminded us of Charlie Sheen) was super helpful in making us feel really insecure in our holiday plans, and he attempted to change a lot of them - be strong and don't let him bully you. In a nice way of course. All staff are friendly, and the hotel across the road (owned by same people) has cheap wifi. Cool roof top bar with a pretty awesome view of crazy crazy Delhi. ABout a 10-15 minute walk to the main market and maybe add an extra 5 minutes to your walk if you're heading to Connaught PLace. Ajanta is super close to the New Delhi Train Station. Would stay there again just to see my old friends - Charlie Sheen and Omelette Man.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meagan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
2) Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We take every point in all reviews very seriously and make amends where necessary. Good to know you intend to come back. Just for information, we have a special discount for return guests.

Please contact the reception.

Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

A nice hotel in the heart of Pahar ganj. Also renowned as well (No issues with the rickshaw). A bit far off from the Metro (Well Pahaganj is somehow). Auto to Metro New Delhi 40-60 Rupees. Better to take the auto for Rajiv Chawk instead(60 bucks). 10 minutes by foot though.
Nice room with 24 hr hot running water (loved this!)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annonymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest,

If you call us up, we can provide a complimentary pick up or drop off at the metro.

Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

My mum and I had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Ajanta. We had a fabulous room with a lovely balcony with four Frangipani trees (my favourite!).

The Reception staff were superb, incredibly cheerful and friendly and really helpful with everything. My 81 year old mum got a bug and I was very concerned about her becoming dehydrated, Rahul and Gangan were so kind, and arranged a taxi to get to the hospital to see a GP - even though hospital was five minutes away, my mum wasn't well enough to walk.

Room service was really good, and the room cleaning supervisor who also topped up my mobile, ran errands including all the laundry was wonderful.

The indian food that I sampled at the Hotel was delicious, we didn't enjoy the English or continental as much.

I strongly recommend the Ajanta as a place to stay - room 404 was fab!

Room Tip: Have already mentioned it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest,

So very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and have so many lovely things to say. All of us would happily go out of our way for our guests, particularly if they are unwell. We like our guests to feel this is their home away from home.

Glad you appreciate our service.

Regards to you and your Mum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kozhikode
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

It was my family vocation trip to Delhi. Stayed for four days. It was a memorable visit for my entire family. Very neat & spacious rooms, helping staff & good environment. Very much accessible for railway station & very much famous to all taxi drivers if you are coming from airport or so. Over all a great experience. Will stay again on next visit. A good location for new comers to Delhi & for sight seeing travelers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anoop909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest,

So good to know your family vacation at our Hotel was memorable and enjoyable. Yes, a lot of guests choose our hotel for our service and our being so centrally located.

We look forward to your visiting us again.

Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Not a great area, first time in Delhi and single female travelers, we weren't happy with the location. The rooms are average at best.
You're treated like human ATM. When booking a taxi to Rishikesh was told that it shouldn't matter the price as I earn dollars not rupees, thanks Mr $3000-Hermes-belt, but I think you're doing just fine! You're not shown to your room until they have tried to sell you every ongoing tour/hotel/bus ect. possible.

Only upside was the rooftop.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Travel-Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You choosing to stay in Expedia Select award winning hotel.

Our IATA Travel Agency has offered cost efficient / safe travels to millions of tourists.
We even took it upon ourselves to cancel your tickets.

We would request to please communication at our Email: info@hotelajanta.com

For us understand further the reason of you annoyance & take corrective measures.

Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#48 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#50 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wood Castle
#13 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#42 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Property: Hotel Ajanta
Address: 36 Arakshan Road | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#42 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotel Delhi
Ajanta Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing