We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel with real bad staff”
Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ajanta
Ranked #61 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Jodhpur, Rajasthan, India
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel with real bad staff”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

It is really difficult to get a good economy hotel in Delhi, specially in this area of Delhi. Ajanta hotel is one such hotel which full fill your requirements like cleanliness, good rooms (at this price). However the staff at Ajanta is really not trained well, they behave real badly. They are often rude with guests and never smile.

I reached there early and requested an early check, first the guy refused very rudely, when i insisted he asked for extra 500 Rupees, i requested that for 2 hour early checkin it is too much than he replied back to me real rudely "It is your wish to wait in lobby or.....". I was really shocked to see such a treatment.

Break fast was not at all good, the choice of food was not much and also was not at all tasty.

If you really do not care about staff and can arrange food from outside than go to this hotel else search elsewhere. I personally will never go back :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puneetrao78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Glad you liked our hotel and competitive tariff. And really apologise about your experience. We are talking to all concerned. It is imperative for us that all guests leave our hotel with good memories.

Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    677
    319
    132
    155
See reviews for
317
487
321
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tanjay, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

I booked online and confirmed it with the hotel receptionist with a pick up from the airport. So airport pick up and checking in upon arrival at the hotel was fast.

Everything went well and made internal arrangement with the driver (provided by the hotel for airport pick up) for a city tour and Agra/Taj Mahal tour which cost me 5000 rupees. Cheaper than the package the hotel is offering which is 9000 rupees. I had a great tour for a good value of money.

One thing I hate with my stay in the hotel was due to some of the staff which keeps on asking for tips. I do give tips everytime I got satisfied with the service rendered to me. What annoys me is when they asked for tips for a lousy service.

Hotel surrounding was a bit scary with stay dogs just few steps away from the hotel entrance and the street was so busy and noisy.

But overall stay was okay...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AceAbrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Glad you enjoyed your smooth pick up service and your tour, however we take no responsibility for any tour not booked by us.
We also disapprove of frequent tipping, and would have liked you to identify the staff while you were with us.
Please let us know of any complaints while you are with us.
All cities in India are busy and noisy. We ensure your rooms are comfortable and quiet.
Though this is not excusable, sometimes the staff do not speak English so well - and may appear rude.
And when you have a bad start- you feel as you did.
Please accept our apologies
Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed in the Ajanta for 4 nights recently, found the actual hotel to be ok, the room and shower were acceptable.
It's the front of house staff with their hard sell tactics as soon as you arrive that you need to be careful of. As soon as we had checked in we were shown into the managers office and given the hard sell. Fortunately we only booked the tuktuk tour around Delhi which was cheap and quite good. The following day we wanted to go to the F1 grand prix, the previous day we were quoted 1500, but because we didn't book it the price went up to 2300 which we had no choice but to pay. The driver we were given was hopeless, he had no idea where the racetrack was and we had to navigate ourselves!!!
Given that we felt cheated over the cost of the taxi we decided to check out the price of going to the Taj Mahal, the manager had quoted us 9000. By walking 50m up the road to the Hotel Godwin the price came down to 6500 including a personal guide!!
As already stated there's nothing much wrong with the hotel, just don't trust the management..

Room Tip: Arakashan Road it very busy, so a room at the rear of the hotel is the best option if you are a ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoveIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for choosing Expedia select award winning Hotel Ajanta for your stay in New Delhi .We are glad that you found our hotel worthy of your praises and the tuk tuk tour of Delhi cheap and enjoyable .

As regards the cost of going to the Grand Prix in a air conditioned car is rs 2300 as the site of the Grand Prix is very far from the city and in a different State and Rs1500 is the cost of the car within City Limits.The cost of trip to Agra by a normal air conditioned car, including ministry of tourism guide is Rs 5500 which is published in our travel book ,Rs9000 was quoted for a Volvo SUV which included entry fees to the Taj Mahal ,Meal in a 5 Star hotel and Ministry of tourism approved guide .

For any further clarification please feel free to write to us at info@hotelajanta.com

Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I had to go to Delhi on an emergency official visit, I randomly checked in at a hotel in Arakashan road, When I saw Ajanta from outside, It appealed to me as a classic wester Hotel. I walked in Ajanta and it was so full , I had to take up the Deluxe Suite at the top floor ! When I walked in to see my room, It was so spacious, luxurious and cozy! The balcony just adds to the glamour. The right kind of set up for me. All this they told for a very frugal price.

The complimentary breakfast was also great! The staff were well reciprocative but not adept professionally!

The best part is the roof top restaurant ! The day times, I was a weary traveler, I just had to take a few steps, to have my meal ordered to my table.

Overally, a great Experience for me at the heart of Delhi.

Will suggest to Others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anveshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you Sir, Happy to know you liked our breakfast, hotel, decor and also the pricing. We hope you give us another change to pamper you.
Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Staying at the AJANTA hotel, was brilliant as we were traveling around north India the Ajanta hotel provided a brilliant base for us to plan our journey and recuperate from traveling.
The service was immpecable and the staff were always happy to help. Any questions were always answered and the reception staff were very efficient when providing us with information for the best places to eat and shop ( a real must for India).
In short the AJANTA hotel helped to make our holiday special and memorable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anitaandcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
1) Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Ajanta Hotel in Delhi for your stay. I am so glad you were very happy with all the travel assistance and hospitality. Our travel team is capable and experienced and it is our ultimate aim to make every guest have a memorable holiday.
We appreciate your spending time to send us a lovely review.
Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Booked from home as this was our first stop in India. Arrived near midnight with the promise of a car waiting, but they forgot. Man on the phone explained how too book a taxi and how much it should cost. Arrived, paid and were taken to our room. Clean, open, no windows but we didn't care. Breakfast is plentiful, and Omelette Man ensured all your omelette needs were satisfied. Hotel manager (who reminded us of Charlie Sheen) was super helpful in making us feel really insecure in our holiday plans, and he attempted to change a lot of them - be strong and don't let him bully you. In a nice way of course. All staff are friendly, and the hotel across the road (owned by same people) has cheap wifi. Cool roof top bar with a pretty awesome view of crazy crazy Delhi. ABout a 10-15 minute walk to the main market and maybe add an extra 5 minutes to your walk if you're heading to Connaught PLace. Ajanta is super close to the New Delhi Train Station. Would stay there again just to see my old friends - Charlie Sheen and Omelette Man.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meagan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
2) Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We take every point in all reviews very seriously and make amends where necessary. Good to know you intend to come back. Just for information, we have a special discount for return guests.

Please contact the reception.

Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

A nice hotel in the heart of Pahar ganj. Also renowned as well (No issues with the rickshaw). A bit far off from the Metro (Well Pahaganj is somehow). Auto to Metro New Delhi 40-60 Rupees. Better to take the auto for Rajiv Chawk instead(60 bucks). 10 minutes by foot though.
Nice room with 24 hr hot running water (loved this!)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annonymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest,

If you call us up, we can provide a complimentary pick up or drop off at the metro.

Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#51 of 716 in New Delhi
1,696 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#54 of 716 in New Delhi
1,073 reviews
Wood Castle
#15 of 716 in New Delhi
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Amax Inn
#27 of 716 in New Delhi
696 reviews
Hotel City Star
#23 of 716 in New Delhi
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Property: Hotel Ajanta
Address: 36 Arakshan Road | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotels
Ajanta Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing