We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very great staff”
Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ajanta
Ranked #60 of 733 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Everyone, from the director, the manager, the guest relations officers, the room boys, the utility, they are all super nice. They met our needs with efficiency and fast service,and with smile. True to their promise, free wifi, free airport transport, good breakfast, absolutely good tour packages at very reasonable prices. They truly made our holiday a very memorable one. Special thanks to Zahoor for the great help he was to us in arranging a wonderful tour package for our 15- day holiday.

Manuel and Grace
Philippines

Room Tip: The rooms at the back side of the hotel are quieter and warmer. We went there when temperature in De...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuel0663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

865 - 871 of 1,932 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Ajanta for four nights, with a break in the middle for a one night trip to Agra. Our experience was great! The staff were uniformly friendly and eager to help. The rooms were clean, minimally decorated but clean and comfortable. Picked up and returned to the airport with no problems. Wonderful value with free wifi, free breakfast and free bottled water in our room. We had dinner each night on the roof top restaurant which we enjoyed very much - our waiter was so warm and friendly. I read that the area is dicey, but since we took taxis everywhere that the hotel arranged for us, we didn't have any problems. They also arranged for a driver for our overnight trip to Agra who spoke good English and pointed lots of interesting sites along the way. We'd definitely return!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I usually go for 3 star clean and budget priced hotels and this one was terrific.
I enjoyed the upgrade on arrival without even asking. Great room looking over the street about 2nd or 3rd floor, for 2 of us.(My son and I). Front desk staff helpful and organized a 4 day trip when I arrived. Yes, they do as ask if you want advise/ help so just listen what's on offer and decide. I said yes and apart from being a longer drive time than i expected it was a good budget priced side trip that was worth doing.
I enjoyed the music in the street whenever a wedding party went by (twice) I would go back here it is in a great location

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenny49Geelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

absoulutely fantastic hotel, the hotel rooms are clean, very helpfull staff always ready to help you, fast and unfaltering free wifi but for that need to take password, there is instant and constant hot water available 24 hours for shower and for hot beverages. breakfast staff were attentive, and quick to clean tables. fast food service. delicious ikdis.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisathom1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Visited New Delhi on a business trip. Felt Completely at home. The rooms are neat and clean the bathroom almost sparkling. I just could not find any faults here. There was a heater in the room to take care of the cold weather, which of course I did not use it. Do go up to the roof top restaurant, the view is great from here. The hotel is located in a busy area of New Delhi, making things accessible. Ask for a room on the higher floor. The room service is very quick, and people are extremely friendly. The hotel was full with people from across the world.

Overall a great stay. One caution, book your room from the website, to get the best room discounts. This will also include a airport pickup. Make sure you book the right rate.

Have a great stay :)

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZubinBilimoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My wife and I are at the Ajanta now after having booked through a travel site (I won't mention which one). I would recommend booking direct to get the best price. They picked us up from the airport as promised after I had emailed our arrival time and even after we were delayed for two hours. Service is great and we feel totally safe here in Pahar Ganj. The restaurant serves excellent food and I fear that I will not be losing any weight while in Delhi. Raj has helped immensely with travel bookings saving us long queues. He charges a small service charge but this is laid out up front and to my mind is worth the money for services rendered.
Wifi is good but you need to get a password every day.
We asked for late check out and were charged Rp500 to stay till 5pm which I think is pretty reasonable.

Room Tip: Can't give any tips sorry as have only had the one room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glajma19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, General Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing a positive review. We are glad to know that you had a memorable stay in our hotel.

Yes, now we have quickest booking engine ‘revboost.hektorplus ‘ to facilitate seamless booking.

We are also happy to note that our travel consultant could help you with your travel arrangements.

Next time, please do try our newest thematic coffee shop ‘Café Voyage’ serving finest Italian Coffee.

Thanking you for choosing Expedia select 2012 award winning hotel.

Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

As a Corporate visitor, I had stayed at Ajanta Hotel from 29th Jan - 1st Feb '14 to attend SAATE at Pragati Maidan. I was accommodated at Ajanta (Sweet Home) Room No. 2014. A Unique Hotel with contemporary decor, fully stacked mini-bar, a nice coffee at the Voyage Coffee Shop. The Linen were nice and new, the room was spacious with a cozy rest-room. Everything was just fine for the price, and was value-for-money. The food was exotic with highly prompt room service menu. We had a small get-together at Rooftop Restaurant of Ajanta, and the food was scrumptious. The tangdi kabab was absolutely succulent and tasty, and so was the Mutton Roganjosh. It was a great combo with Dal Makhani and Indian breads like Kulcha, Naan and Roti. The paneer tikka was also very nice. Overall I would rate the Hotel, its F & B, service personnel to be friendly with the assistance of Travel desk counter willing to take you anywhere in Delhi. I was told that this is the oldest hotel in Arakashan Road, New Delhi. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShantanuWhiteLotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#40 of 733 in New Delhi
1,203 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#22 of 733 in New Delhi
780 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#53 of 733 in New Delhi
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#50 of 733 in New Delhi
904 reviews
Wood Castle
#21 of 733 in New Delhi
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Address: 36 Arakshan Road | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £20 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotels
Ajanta Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing