We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rescued a lost passport” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ajanta
Ranked #64 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Denpasar, Indonesia
1 review
“Rescued a lost passport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Thank you so much to the staff at Hotel Ajanta. I arrived and found my passport lost at check in back in Varanasi. The staff were able to call my previous hotel and get it delivered back to me very quickly!! I am really grateful. They also booked my train fare and accommodation at the Taj Mahal. Staying at this hotel was inexpensive and very easy. I recommend this hotel and it's staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monisay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, an Expedia select 2012 award winning hotel.

Yes our staff is adequately trained to take care of any problem our overseas guest many face.

Thank you once again.

Regards,

The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    659
    315
    132
    154
See reviews for
299
476
312
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Arpora, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I am pleased to write about our stay at this lovely hotel with such friendly people and very cosy decor.We had a tastefully done huge room and enjoyed some delicious food downstairs.It is very near the train station,but you cannot hear the trains.
After a tiring train journey from Rajastan,we could almost not be recognised.
The hot rain shower was delightful and refreshening.Another thing to mention is the coffee in their Cafe Vogage .Also cupcakes were delicious.
We would like to thank them very much.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j9923485901-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We enjoyed reading your positive comment about our hotel as much as you enjoyed staying with us.

Yours comments on our colonial building, food in our restaurant (Cafe vagabond) and services are most encouraging.

Thank you for taking time to write about our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back with us to enjoy an even more enjoyable stay.

Warm regards
Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Beautiful hotel entrance, but they should put the same effort into getting the same feel in the rest of the hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. We had booked a room some time ahead of our trip, but they had given our room to someone else when we arrived, and we got a room with a bathroom in the hallway. We managed, of course, but when it wasn't what you payed for.....
Breakfast was included, was amazed how smelly the eggs were, maybe just a one-time coincidence but...
My friend asked for filtered water or juice mid-breakfast, and was told to go to her room and get a bottle there. They have a rooftop "restaurant".. it's not amazing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tuvistuvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,
We apologize that you did not have the best of times at the Ajanta Hotel. We have gone through all your points of concern and have addressed them suitably.
Hope you visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a week in November and felt this was average. The place is very close to CP which is an advantage for shopping lovers. I stayed in ground floor... the room was very small and had wooden flooring. Though the room was cleaned everyday it looked dirty because of the flooring type. Had too many problems with AC and there were no electric plug points other than the one the TV wire was plugged… had to struggle to even charge my mobile... it had no ventilation either which was suffocating May be you shouldn't stay in the low range offered in this hotel. The room opposite to our room looked nice and large.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the low range rooms offered at this hotel... definitelty not if the stay is more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmforu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear guest,
We have changed all our cutlery and crockery and the breakfast menu has been revamped.
Regards,
The Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

very helpful personal. Car and driver for 10 hrs sightseeing well organised at a good price. breakfast was ok. room was clean and our stay was wthout any trouble. airport pick up and drop off worked well.




  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank weiwie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Yes, we provide cars for Delhi and actually for all over India at reasonable prices. Guests find our airport free pick up service very helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murshidabad, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The main reasons why I booked this hotel was: 1. Their location near the New Delhi railway station and 2. the free airport pick up. Well it is not entirely free as you have to pay the parking charges of Rs 140. And the location didn't disappoint me. The staff were friendly. Our room was clean. The breakfast was good, although the spread was limited. I had to catch an international flight at 0415 hours and they arranged me a taxi to the airport.
Now on the flip side, the rooms are very noisy, maybe due to the location. the wi-fi is horrible, it almost never works. But it is a budget hotel and I cannot ask for more. had these two things been better, I would have given this hotel an excellent rating.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms facing the Aarakshan road, the are inevitably noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrKaushik1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
The airport pick up service is indeed free but we request the guest to pay only the government parking fee at the airport. This can be paid directly by the guest to avoid any misunderstanding. Delhi is overall noisy and we can’t deny that, for this reason, we have started making all our rooms soundproof. The WIFI system has already been revamped.
Thank you for your suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Hotel Ajanta is one of the many hotels aimed at foreign tourists lining Arakashan Road, in Paharganj, close to New Delhi Railway Station. It's a convenient location for arrival and onward travel, and for visiting Old and New Delhi, although the area itself is a little insalubrious.

I don't know what the smarter rooms are like, because I took the cheapest budget option. It was small and very basic, though relatively clean and comfortable.

Ajanta comes recommended by the guidebooks. I'm a bit suspicious when a travel guide recommends one hotel over a number of identical ones in the same area. It can be an incentive for that one to become complacent, knowing that they'll get business from the recommendation. The others around it may be working harder and offering better value to earn a reputation. I wasn't massively impressed by Ajanta (though it was better than at least one other I tried), and I'd suggest shopping around.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thephenocryst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#46 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#49 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wood Castle
#13 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#67 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Property: Hotel Ajanta
Address: 36 Arakshan Road | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#42 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotel Delhi
Ajanta Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing