We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent stay!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ajanta
Ranked #58 of 701 Hotels in New Delhi
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

A nice place to stay:
1. nice, clean rooms,
2. great room/customer service, (24*7)
3. excellent support staff, always helpful.
4. worth the money.

After checkout in afternoon, they provided 1-2 hrs. in evening to freshen-up as my train was in evening, that too complimentary. They actually offered this at the time of checkout when I requested that I need to keep the luggage in their hotel as my train is in evening, that how supportive the hotel staff is.

Room Tip: After arrival at hotel, always check the room, toilet etc before booking/making payment. Good hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArunAgarwal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    650
    310
    130
    153
See reviews for
297
467
308
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

My stay at Hotel Ajanta was very comfortable, posh and yet a bargain. I could get around the city with their transportation without any hitch. I can say that any non-resident of Delhi can easily go around the city using auto services provided by the hotel and it provides a very large number of autos and taxis all the time. This hotel is very close to the heart of the city. Their breakfast served in a great variety, and hope to see additional items in south Indian style also in near future to accommodate Southern vegetarian menu. I will love to stay in this hotel whenever I visit Delhi. The Hotel has a wonderful staff in all areas and I will highly recommend to stay at this hotel.

Prabha Maruvada

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prabha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel is one of the reasons I enjoyed my trip so much! The complimentary breakfast was first class, the customer service was beyond amazing and it was a great location that made traveling very easy during our trip. A must stay for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mishra1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Hi, I am Anna from Mauritius..I have been to Delhi four times so far and I stayed with Ajanta..They provive a good service overall, the rooms are clean generally and they have 24hrs service..I personally liked the friendliness of the staff, the cordial atmosphere and they made me feel special as a guest.. I also made friends with people of different nationalities during my stay at Ajanta..;its a good hotel for foreigners, I recommend Ajanta hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rizwana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

i spent a good amount of time in this hotel, and they have the most friendliest staff especially. Santosh Kumar was one of the people who worked there , and i had a very pleasant experience I highly recommend to stay at this hotel .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie03805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, General Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Expedia Insider‘s Select 2012 award winning Ajanta Hotel for your stay in New Delhi (The only Budget hotel in Delhi to have won this award).

We are happy to note that you found our staff members friendly. It’s a team effort to keep our guest happy.

Hope you visit us again.

Best Regards,

The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I spent a few days in this hotel,and the managers,especially the food and beverage and the Front desk,were excellent.They were courteous and prompt.The rooms are clean and the other staff are also helpful. We overslept and were about to miss our train from New Delhi railway station and the front desk Manager sent 3 people to help us pack and sent us to the station by car(free).
The location is in the middle of Pahargunj's tourist area and we just walked in after a bad experience at a nearby hotel. They have a very good 24 hour bakery with free WiFi and also a desktop in the cafe.
The only negative was their travel office staff who quoted ridiculously inflated prices for everything.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in the lower floors ,they are cooler. The hotel seems to have different sizes,so have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kadambini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, General Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Expedia Insider‘s Select 2012 award winning Ajanta Hotel for your stay in New Delhi (The only Budget hotel in Delhi to have won this award).

We are indeed happy to learn that entire team put up a cohesive effort to make your stay comfortable to win positive comments.

We do make a huge attempt to please our guest every which way

Yes, our 24 hour coffee and bakery serves finest Italian lavazza coffee, shakes and all herb sandwiches. We are particularly happy that you appreciated it

Thank you once again…

Best Regards

The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Frankly speaking, I feel that this hotel should be ranked much better than what it currently is.

Booking :- Called the hotel reservations over the phone and they accepted the reservation without any fund transfer. Interestingly, this hotel also has a 12 hour reservation facility, with same day day checkout, which we availed.

Location :- The hotel is located on Akshardham road, very close to the New Delhi Railway station. It is approx 7-8 min walk from the station and if you have luggage, it is recommended to hire an auto rickshaw for approx Rs 30/- to 50/-.

Rooms :- We opted for a standard room, which had a large king size bed, a small sofa, ac, mini fridge, tv, etc and the room was well stocked with snacks and water etc. Overall the room and linen was very clean.

Food :- We opted for food to be delivered in our room. The food was tasty and was of good proportion.

Overall Experience :- Wonderful value for money. If one needs to spend a few hours in Delhi for a paltry sum, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Try to opt for a room on the backside in case you get affected with road side noise. Higher floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debadatt2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, General Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Expedia Insider‘s Select 2012 award winning Ajanta Hotel for your stay in New Delhi (The only Budget hotel in Delhi to have won this award).

We are immensely pleased to note that our hotel reservation staff was quick to respond to your reservation.


We pride ourselves as a colonial beautiful British architecture property. We are fortunate to have very large spacious rooms and most of them face a huge park on the north wing.

We are particularly happy that you found room amenities more than adequate, and room linen of top order.

We are also glad that you found “SUPER FOODS” in restaurant good.

Thank you once again for giving us an opportunity to serve you…

Best Regards

The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#43 of 701 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#47 of 701 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wood Castle
#13 of 701 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#70 of 701 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Property: Hotel Ajanta
Address: 36 Arakshan Road | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#42 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotel Delhi
Ajanta Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing