We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ajanta
Ranked #64 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

This was a very good hotel. The atmosphere was warm and inviting. We were picked up from the airport, which we recommend as the airport is extremely busy, even at midnight when we arrived. We arrived and the staff were every helpful and efficient, and were for our entire length of stay. The food on offer was very good as well in the attached restaurant. The room was spacious, and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was slightly smaller with no hot water, but with the heat of Delhi, that didn't matter. The only issues we had was the smell of paint stripped that dominated the halls and corridors as apparently they were redecorating, and the location was in a very noisy area, although situated very close to New Delhi station. Very good hotel and will recommend in the future.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Becki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    659
    315
    132
    154
See reviews for
299
476
312
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

It was lovely, pleasant,comfortable & memorable stay at Hotel Ajanta. My B"day was celebrated in family like atmosphere to my utter surprise by staff in general & Gunjan in particular. It was such a warm hospitality that I had a feeling of Home away from Home. Hotel Ajanta is best suited option in central locality. Overall cleanliness, attitude of employees & quality of food is exemplary.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhoopendra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitarganj, Uttar Pradesh, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

It is nice to stay at Ajanta either business or family trip with homely atmosphere. Taste of the food is really good one more big advantage it is in walkable distance from New Delhi Railway station near to Connaught place.

Room Tip: corner suits are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ardhendu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

First time we stayed in Ajanta we had good experience hence we gone their again but their service and quality have dropped to lowest ever. Reception was very rude and arrogant, room had very noise air conditioning unit, bed wasn't ready, safe didn't work. Our booking included free internet but reception wanted to charge us for wifi access, but after showing email confirmation they did gave us free wifi but was very intermittent. after the checkout they wanted to charge us for 1 soft drink can that wasn't in the freezer, made a big drama for that, at the end we did offer to pay for it then told us not require for us to pay. was very disappointed when we spend over RS10,000 and made a big argument over RS 25 soft drink.

Room Tip: Get everything in writing, don't go to outer building as A/C unit is very noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shiraj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Whenever I have stayed in Ajanta, it has always been a nice, pleasant and hassle free stay.
I will recommend this as the best option in Paharganj area and as best option with these tarrifs.
Best hotel for families and couples in its tarrif range !
Room service is very good too.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally good and have adequate space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annonymous_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Great hotel with pleasant and helpful staff. The location is close to many famous sights. The standard of the room I stayed in was good. It was neat, clean and had air conditioning. I recommend this hotel for travelers to Delhi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was my first hotel during my recent trip to India. The hotel arranged pick up from airport which was great as I was traveling alone from UK. Customer Service was great, room was clean, kitted out well, few extras. Good selection at breakfast. Great location, right in the middle of it all, close the metro and train station. I would def stay here again when I come back in the future.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#46 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#49 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wood Castle
#13 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#67 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Property: Hotel Ajanta
Address: 36 Arakshan Road | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#42 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotel Delhi
Ajanta Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing