We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel convenient to train station”
Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ajanta
Ranked #58 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent hotel convenient to train station”
Reviewed 28 December 2008

We had a really hard time finding a hotel in Delhi but chose Hotel Ajanta for its proximity to the New Delhi train station as we had a early morning train to catch to Agra. The hotel is not in the best neighborhood but I think you could say that about most of the hotels in India. It was only a short walk to the station and was quite comfortable, save for the extremely noisy neighborhood. The best part though is probably the attached restaurant. Breakfast wasn't anything special but after a long day of sightseeing, dinner at the restaurant was superb.

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Disliked — Noisy neighborhood
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lhtennispro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    671
    316
    132
    154
See reviews for
308
482
320
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2008

We highly recommend this hotel!

We booked our trip through lastminute.com and then found www.hotelajanta.com and organised our FREE complimentary pick up from the airport.

We booked the superior room which was very spacious with a super-king sized bed, air conditioning, TV, table and chairs, kettle, mini bar (with shop price drinks & snacks), shower en-suite and towels.

The restaurant was lovely too - proud staff, tasty food and bargain prices!

About a 15 minute walk to Connaught Place or a cheap 50R ride by auto rickshaw.

  • Liked — Spacious room
  • Disliked — Road noise
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WarwickshirePink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, WA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2008

We booked a deluxe room with airport pickup before we left for India. The airport pickup went well and was appreciated since we arrived about 2 am. The deluxe room had no window and the toilet leaked. They showed us two other deluxe rooms but one had no window and the other had a tiny window however the toilet didn't leak in this room. The TV worked in both rooms. The rooms were clean enough. The restaurant was adequate but nothing special. We used their travel service to book a tour and that went well. I would recommend Capital City Travel.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JuniperToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2008

This was not a bad hotel and the rooms were fine - though we had booked two double rooms for two couples, and one couple got a room with ensuite bathroom and double bed, and the other couple got two single beds and use of a bathroom across the hall. The hotel has a pretty good restaurant and there is a shop selling bottled water etc just across the road. The worst thing about the hotel however was the noise - I could barely sleep all night because of horns blasting and dogs barking. Having said that, a lot of the other hotels I was considering booking seemed to be on equally busy roads if not worse. The Ajanta did seem pretty expensive for what it is - we paid the same price in a smaller town (Gwalior) a few days later for a much better hotel. Having said that, the Ajanta is probably a lot better than some of the more 'budget' accommodation available and we had no problems other than the noise. The reception will also exchange foreign currency and travellers cheques which was helpful.

  • Disliked — Too noisy
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smileycat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
123 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2008

Needed a place for 10 hours between flights (overnight).
Booked it as they had a good website (with OBVIOUSLY carefully selected angles of photos). We were exhausted and were shown a bad room in some mildew corner of the hotel. No windows, basic bathroom, sterile vibe. So, went to see another. And another. Al the same bad boring feeling. Probably worth about 7-8$ a night if not for AC. But really just a very dark place with a nice (and far too busy reception with rather dodgy people). I you have taste and are with a lady, forget about this place for anything more than one emergency night.

  • Liked — Free airport pickup
  • Disliked — The fact the driver wanted 3$ for turning on AC. That says everything.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuitcasedSoul_MGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2008

Hotel Ajanta was ok with us. After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor, my wife and I were apprehensive about staying here. Well, the airport pickup went without a hitch. They claim to be close to the airport, but are more like central Delhi, about 40 minutes from the airport. The neighborhood is the real Delhi, lots of interesting stuff going on in the street. We even got to watch a performance of the Ramayana in a small park adjacent to the hotel. Staff was friendly, but we didn't book anything through the hotel. You can avoid that kind of pressure by staying on a night-to-night basis. Our Superior room was a little small but quite clean by Indian hotel standards. In retrospect, the bad reviews on this site reflect more about Indian hotels in general than Ajanta specifically. We only stayed one night as a layover and this was fine, we got a little taste of Delhi with no problems. If you’re staying for a week a more in Delhi, it might be fun to treat yourself to a fancier place for a couple nights. But considering some of the other possibilites for Delhi hotels, Ajanta is more than adequate.

  • Liked — Taste of the real Delhi
  • Disliked — No beer in the restauant
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2008

We have been coming to India (so in and out of Delhi) continuously over the last 10 years and now we do business out of Delhi. Having tried the very cheap (100 rupees) end of hotels and the very expensive (£50 a night) we have settled very nicely in the middle with Ajanta. We have never experienced anything other than friendly and polite service, clean rooms, excellent food in the restaurant and all our business contacts are impressed with standards too when they visit for meetings. So we give it the definite thumbs up and will continue to use as our Delhi base without hesitation. Nicholas and Laura Barwick, UK

  • Liked — Location, friendliness, restaurant
  • Disliked — rooms are basic - there are no frills or atmosphere to the rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tigermasala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#49 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#53 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wood Castle
#14 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#29 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Property: Hotel Ajanta
Address: 36 Arakshan Road | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#47 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotels
Ajanta Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing