We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pick up”
Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ajanta
Ranked #56 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 31 January 2009

We booked one night through Expedia for A$52.15. My main reason for choosing this hotel was that we were arriving at 10pm on New Years Eve and the Ajanta offered a free airport pick-up. The pick up from the airport worked perfectly.
Our room was clean but plain and too small. It was like a king-sized bed in a single room. There are reasonable rooms at the Ajanta but you may be lucky to actually get one. The second night we stayed there, on our return journey, was better furnished but still too small and just stank of smoking. The clothes in our bags smelt of smoke days afterwards. It was disgusting.
The final room that we stayed in before flying out was better furnished and more spacious. But that was after paying for a very expensive tour that we purchased from the in-house travel agent. There are six different standards of room according to their website and I do not know the standards of the rooms in which we stayed. Whatever the initial cost of a room, that is the place from which to negotiate a better price. Everything here has the rider of 'by Indian standards' and should be negotiable.
The Hotel Ajanta is in a street of hotels. It is fairly close to the New Delhi Railway Station but with the degree of difficulty in just walking down the street, you still need a rickshaw or autorickshaw to get there with luggage, or back, start from Rs20. The area is walking distance from Connaught Circle, without luggage.
The restaurant is small but quite attractive. First morning there was a breakfast buffet for Rs200 which was expensive, but convenient. Another morning, at a reasonable hour, we had to walk into the darkened restaurant and tell them to open up. The food is okay and the service is 'Indian standard'.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaisyClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,967)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,648 - 1,654 of 1,968 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2009

We were in New Delhi last month for my cousin's wedding. We stayed at the Ajanta hotel for about a week and a half, and it was a great experience overall. The staff was very polite and friendly. The lobby staff went out of their way to help us find the things that we needed around town, like finding shops, etc. I would definitely recomment all my friends to go stay there if they go to India. Thanks Guys!! - Sunny Parmar & Family.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sunnybarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjantaHotel, Senior Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2009

Dear Mr sunny,

Appreciate your feedback on our services, we work hard and smart to ensure our clients have a memorable stay ,from all of us at Ajanta Hotel we look forward to being of service to you and your family and friends again.

Regards

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2009

very good hotel to stay in if ur goin to delhi u have a good time goin place up north ask & it will be delivered at room thats how good the service was ........ you would not have lift a pen

regards nakul

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nnakal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

I arrived in Nov in Delhi with my mom. We booked Ajanta online because it was easy. As expected we were picked up at the airport. The rooms were not as nice as the photos online, at all. We arrived late so had little choice. The next morning a woman introduced herself, we later found out she ran Capital City Tours, Mrs. Kher. She asked us our plans. She made us believe she was booking trains for us and mid range hotels. The price for 2 was $1700 for 10 days, we thought it was a lot, but it was 7 am and we were in a foreign place. Next she said it was complimentary to be toured around Delhi, so we went. That was when we discovered we hired a personal driver for 6 days. He was nothing but annoying! He would only take us to places where he got commission, fed our mind with crazy stories about being poisoned and raped, and complained about his job the entire time. He also was falling asleep while driving and refused to pull over to nap. Most of the hotels were really nice, one was disgusting. He was supposed to stay with us for 6 days - but we let him go a day early because he was so obnoxious. Then we were on our own for the next 4 days- nothing included in the original $. The last day of our trip we had prepaid for an overnight train ride and a hotel in Mumbai through Mrs. Kher. Unfortunately we were in a bus accident (side note: dont take busses most of the drivers are drunk). My mother couldnt continue to travel so we began booking flights home early. We called Mrs. Kher she was super nice saying she would help us with what ever needed and she would refund us our $100 for the last portion of the trip. It is 2 months, 3 phone calls, and many emails later and we still havent been refunded. On the phone she would say check in 2 days, it just went through, I'll send you confirmation. NOTHING. She fed us with lies to shut us up, so now I am writing this so people know it is a bad business and if something unfortunate should happen they will only lie to make you happy but not follow through.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank crazyindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2009

Stayed here in November for 2 days
- friendly, curteous staff, clean rooms
travel agency in hotel was v useful and got a great deal to stay overnight in Agra travelling down by train. Incidentally, hotel is v close to the train station in delhi.
would gladly recommend this hotel to friends/family staying in Delhi.

Stayed: November 2008
Thank sunshine5381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2009

Traveled to Delhi in December 2008 from San Francisco last minute with a few buddies and booked the Hotel on a friends recommendation who had stayed there before.

I was glad to find the hotel better than expected, and great value for money compared to other hotels in the busy touristy neighborhood.

The rooms were clean and spacious, Internet connectivity was great. The hotel staff was courteous, with good service and helped plan our trip in Delhi. We were also able to book tours to Agra & Jaipur through the Hotel in a private taxi last minute at very reasonable rates.

On the way out our flight was delayed due to fog in Delhi and missed our connection back to the states. The Hotel accommodated us last minute for 2 days and provided to and from transportation from the airport promptly in the middle of the night.

Highly recommended place to stay for travelers.

Thanks Ajanta.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Modlmrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2008

We had a really hard time finding a hotel in Delhi but chose Hotel Ajanta for its proximity to the New Delhi train station as we had a early morning train to catch to Agra. The hotel is not in the best neighborhood but I think you could say that about most of the hotels in India. It was only a short walk to the station and was quite comfortable, save for the extremely noisy neighborhood. The best part though is probably the attached restaurant. Breakfast wasn't anything special but after a long day of sightseeing, dinner at the restaurant was superb.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lhtennispro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#38 of 777 in New Delhi
1,236 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#20 of 777 in New Delhi
811 reviews
Wood Castle
#32 of 777 in New Delhi
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#55 of 777 in New Delhi
1,773 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#39 of 777 in New Delhi
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Address: 36 Arakshan Road | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £19 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotels
Ajanta Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing