We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”
Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ajanta
Ranked #57 of 727 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 8 July 2010

AC machines and lights should have remote controls or switches near bed. A reading light also may be installed. Otherwise the stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SureshChandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjanta, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2010

We agree and appreciate your suggestions. All rooms will be checked and these facilities provided in the rooms that don't already have them.

Thank you
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,451 - 1,457 of 1,918 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2010

went there in march to stay over for day since my husband was arriving in delhi that day...
i was shocked to see the rooms the ones wich they had shown on website was completely different from the one's wich are actually present at the hotel.....

i would not recomend this hotel to any1 who r going with family.....

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samyukta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjanta, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2010

We have many types of room categories in Ajanta Hotel. However, we did not live up to your expectations and apologise.

Our Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

I along with my wife stayed in this hotel sometimes back. On the way back from Ajmer, Jaipur and Agra tour when we came to Delhi it was mid-night. As I had idea about Paharganj area where varieties of hotels are located, I asked the tourist bus driver to drop us at Paharganj bus stop. It was raining; luckily I got a taxi driver and asked him to have a round of Paharganj Area so that I can locate a good hotel. Seeing Ajanta hotel we got down here and at first appearance like the hotel. We booked one deluxe room for one night. It was spacious and clean room. Toiled was also big. Toilet had no amenities other than a soap and sachet of shampoo.

We were worried about food since we were hungry and it was quite late night but when we called room service we were surprised to learn the available items. Sandwich, biryani, south / north Indian foods, many items were available at that late night. We ordered mutton biryani and lassi which was served only in 10 minutes.

It was a unique budget hotel with all basic facilities. This hotel has tour and travel desks also where from we booked our air ticket for Delhi-Kolkata. They have small business centre also. This hotel is near to the railway station which is convenient for guests who come late night by train or require to catch early morning train. Old Delhi area where historical spots are located is just 30 minutes away.

This hotel has good restaurant also in the ground floor. Their breakfast menu is quite good.

In the budget range it is good hotel, I shall prefer to stay in Ajanta hotel again when I go to Delhi next time.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelpagla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjanta, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2010

Good to know you appreciated your stay at Ajanta Hotel. Thank you for sharing your views with everyone.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

My family traveled to Delhi and stayed at Ajanta Hotel. The staff was very friendly and provided excellent service. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Will def. return back to this hotel when I visit Delhi again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pshah0420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjanta, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2010

Glad you like Ajanta Hotel.
Hope you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

A decent budget hotel.Rooms were surprisingly big. Could have been cleaner.
Those wanting to access new Delhi railway station can opt for its convenient location.
Airport transfers should be re-confirmed to avoid confusion.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KANKARIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjanta, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2010

Thank you for sharing your views about Ajanta Hotel.

Our Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

The hotel is located within walking distance from the New Delhi railway station on a busy street packed with similar type hotels. I had booked the hotel for the convenient location as I had to catch an early morning train. The hotel provides one way travel from airport complimentary i.e. either pickup or drop. I had done an e-mail reservation and the taxi was available on time at the airport for pickup.
The room I was put up was on the ground floor and did not have any windows. The room was small and basic but clean. The hotel has a restaurant but I could not avail of the services as my travel plan did not permit it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bijurb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjanta, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2010

Thank you for your views on Ajanta Hotel. Next time you must try our tandoori (roasted in an earthen fire place) dishes in our restaurant. Our guests love them.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

The hotel is good value for money, the location of the hotel is very near to new delhi railway station. The airport is around 30 Km from the hotel. The hotel is situated at the heart of the city. It is a bug property with all the basic facility. They have airport drop facility. The room are quite big and comfortable. The room service is fast and of decent quality. The food is good but oily. But it is value for money. The staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjanta, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2010

Yes, a lot of clients come to us because we are so very near the railway station and also Connaught Place, the main shopping area of Delhi. Glad you liked our hotel and service. Also thank you for your suggestion. Our restaurant has been instructed to go easy on oil.

Hope to see you again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#48 of 727 in New Delhi
1,156 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#53 of 727 in New Delhi
1,734 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#23 of 727 in New Delhi
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#59 of 727 in New Delhi
857 reviews
Wood Castle
#21 of 727 in New Delhi
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Address: 36 Arakshan Road | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#44 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £22 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotels
Ajanta Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing