We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you need a budget hotel, you can choose this one”
Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ajanta
Ranked #61 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 12 July 2010

As this was the first hotel we stayed in India, it was a shock to me that going upstairs, leaving behind the lavish lobby, the room was mediocre, the horns of the cars were too loud, there were electricity failures in the night and this hotel is located in one of the busiest areas of Delhi. The dust is enormous and the room is a little cramped, but the bed was comfortable, although the glasses of the windows are not really noise-proof. The bedsheets and the bathroom not clean, thank God we had Detol with us. The real con is the nice restaurant downstairs, the ok food and breakfast and the owner of the hotel who gives you real guidance on your trip.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank korinna79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjanta, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2010

We have a 24 hour power back up system, so it is extremely rare for the electricity and the generator to go off. But you did have issues and we did not come up to your expectations. We apologise to you and also thank you for appreciating Ajanta Hotel's restaurant.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,878)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,414 - 1,420 of 1,879 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2010

it is a good hotel , close to Rly station and other important places. food is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanganabhatla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjanta, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2010

Being centrally located is a big advantage for Ajanta Hotel. Glad you enjoyed the food. Hope you tried our tandoori dishes. Look forward to your next visit.

Thank you for sharing your reviews.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

I was wondering how could I get there in the night 10:30, with my last minute travel plans but as they promised to get me an airport pickup, there started a relation.

I was taken to the hotel by driver and was surprised to see the hospitality at that late hour. The room was clean and neat and well set , so as I wanted after a hard day at work and a 3 hr travel.

I enjoyed the location advantages when I could reach the hotel taking a walk from the famous New Delhi Railway Station in a few mins.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriyeshGovind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjanta, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2010

Thank you for your appreciation of Ajanta Hotel New Delhi.

Our Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Ajanta Hotel is excellent hotel in New Delhi situated in heart of city near New Delhi Railway + Metro Station, 5 mins drive to Cannought Place + Palika Bazar, Rooms are very nice and service is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandeepBilaspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjanta, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2010

Thank you for your appreciation. Since you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again. We have a special discount for return guests.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

located in central delhi with really nice rooms and very hospitable saff.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jiteshgupta1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjanta, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2010

Thank you Sir,

Our main USP is our central location. We look forward to your return visit.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

AC machines and lights should have remote controls or switches near bed. A reading light also may be installed. Otherwise the stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SureshChandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjanta, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2010

We agree and appreciate your suggestions. All rooms will be checked and these facilities provided in the rooms that don't already have them.

Thank you
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

went there in march to stay over for day since my husband was arriving in delhi that day...
i was shocked to see the rooms the ones wich they had shown on website was completely different from the one's wich are actually present at the hotel.....

i would not recomend this hotel to any1 who r going with family.....

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samyukta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjanta, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2010

We have many types of room categories in Ajanta Hotel. However, we did not live up to your expectations and apologise.

Our Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#51 of 715 in New Delhi
1,127 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#55 of 715 in New Delhi
1,717 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#24 of 715 in New Delhi
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wood Castle
#15 of 715 in New Delhi
1,133 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#65 of 715 in New Delhi
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Address: 36 Arakshan Road | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £19 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotels
Ajanta Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing