We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel to stay”
Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ajanta
Ranked #57 of 727 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 4 August 2010

the room service is very good ...24*7 .the food is delicious.
the rooms are luxurious . the location is very good .i like the free pick up from airport

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sazidsajju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjanta, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2010

Glad you enjoyed the food and stay at Hotel Ajanta.
Thank you for your review.

Our Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,439 - 1,445 of 1,918 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2010

Being a business traveler, Hotel Ajanta is very good option to stay and is at the City Centre and close to the Pragati Maidan. One way airport transfer is complimentary from the hotel. Room service of this hotel is good too. They have inhouse internet cafe and speed of there bis quite good. Surely recommend to my business traveler

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rishu_Jain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjanta, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2010

Thank you for your appreciation of Hotel Ajanta. Look forward to having you and your friends stay with us.

Our Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

There are no words which can describe the feeling whwn you are in such a beautiful place such as New Delhi. My room in Ajanta hotel was really spacious, clean and cool. The staff was always ready to help and the services were good. Best part was the buffet breakfast, i did not expect such good breakfast in budget hotel. Really elaborate

Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
Thank blazingfear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjanta, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2010

Thank you for sharing your good opinion about Ajanta Hotel with others. Our aim is to make all guests leave with good memories about our hotel.

Beat Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Overall the service was quite good with the staff being courteous and prompt and room was well maintained . Liked the serenity the most , exactly what we were looking for on this holiday more.Ideal location to relax as well as for Leisure travellers.Everyone around there was very sincere,Amazing location, Amazing property, Amazing ambiance, Amazing food...basically everything abt this hotel is really good...anyone whoeevr goes to this destination must stay here. This did give us a personal and homely feel as... more

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohitgoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjanta, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2010

Glad you enjoyed your stay at Ajanta Hotel and thank you for sharing your views. We hope to see you again.

Our Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

My biggest problem with Ajanta was there rather ruthless and sneeky tactic of trying to get you to book some travel/tours with them. Upon arrival you will be told that your room is being made up and that you can wait in the attached office. In the office they will of course try and sell you all sorts of trips. What was most disconcerting was that our "talk" in the office was observed by one of the senior hotel staff members, probably making sure that we were asked the necessary questions. She didn't address us once.
By no means am I against Ajanta trying to make some money however this is NOT the way to do it, especially if the hotel guests have just arrived from a gruelling transatlantic flight. Be honest, be upfront and don't use underhanded pressure. That was my biggest issue. The good points of this hotel are the free transfer to or from airport, the restaurant, the cheap in room snacks and drinks. The hotel has a rooftop that needs some major work. Arakashan Road where the hotel is located is extremely busy, noisy and so on. There are powercuts but that is just India and not a fault of the hotel! Ajanta, change your sales tactic and I would be more than happy to recommend you.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjanta, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2010

All points taken down and passed on to the people concerned.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

overall, the Ajunta hotel met our expectations and i would recommend it for a short stay only, but thats more down to its unappealing location than anything the hotel does wrong. see more below:
the Ajunta organised our pick up from the airport. we were nearly 2 hours late but the driver was not at all concerned. he was waiting outside arrivals with the hotel name on a piece of paper along with about 50 others - so it can take a while to find your man.
the hotel is located very close to the railway station and its not the prettiest part of town. its a narrow road lined with shops, hotels and tour agents bustling with people, cycle rickshaws, autos and cars all trying to go in different directions. this was made worse by the fact the road is being dug up to install a new sewer pipe.
once inside reception we were greeted by the staff, efficiently checked in and taken to our room. the room had 2 single beds, a tv (no remote) a/c, mini bar (no alcohol) and some snacks. the bathroom had w/c, basin and shower head with towels, soap and a hair dryer. all clean. the window was covered by curtains which when raised, revealed frosted glass- no view. i suspect that there isn't much of a view from any window judging by the view from the rooftop - not a glimpse of anything faintly interesting, just tops of buildings, generators, washing etc.
we were guided to a bar -True Blue - about 250 m away around the corner, the only one around. you enter through a heavy metal door. inside its indiian style - that is dimly lit and all male. we had one drink each and left as it was not particulalry enjoyable. we went back to the Ajunta for dinner and it was quite good. attentive service and well cooked. no alcohol is available here. prices were more than we had become used to, but we weren't inclined to go hunting around the streets for somewhere else.
next morning we checked out and walked round to the railway station which took around less than 10 minutes.

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank roam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjanta, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2010

Central Delhi is a very busy area. The preparation for common wealth games has added to this, roads are being repaired broadened, sewers dug and pipes etc placed. Please be assured that this is a government undertaking and has to be completed before the games. We agree this is causing a lot of inconvenience but is temporary. Since you are happy with Hotel Ajanta and only the surroundings are bothersome, you will be pleased to know that you will not have any problems as all the ongoing work should be over very soon.

We regret all inconvenience and thank you for your generous and gracious review.

Our Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

I had to do a last minute booking and had switched over from Ginger to here as they confirmed they wont extend me a extra day as its overbooked. My client had come from China and he had chinese budget :-) . The main concern was to be in City and also be safe and able to move around without difficulty. Though initially I was worried about the service quality as this was only internet booking, and I had idea how Paharganj area hotels usually are. This was much differnt. I challenge that no hotel in this budget is so user friendly. The staff was very cooperative. Hotel rooms were okay but much better than those in viscinity. Food is good too. The best being they have complete setup inhouse and very transparent in their dealing. They really value customer satisfaction

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPSchennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjanta, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2010

Dear Sir,

Very nice of you to share your views about Ajanta Hotel. And glad to be of assistance always.

Our best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#48 of 727 in New Delhi
1,158 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#53 of 727 in New Delhi
1,734 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#23 of 727 in New Delhi
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#59 of 727 in New Delhi
860 reviews
Wood Castle
#21 of 727 in New Delhi
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Address: 36 Arakshan Road | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#44 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £22 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotels
Ajanta Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing