We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would highly recommend Ajanta to all my...”
Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ajanta
Ranked #62 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
“I would highly recommend Ajanta to all my...”
Reviewed 7 August 2010

I would highly recommend Ajanta to all my friends and relatives. From the rooms to the service, everything is A+!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnybarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjanta, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 13 August 2010
Very glad you enjoyed and appreciated the services at Hotel Ajanta.
Thank you for sharing your views.

Our Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    677
    319
    132
    155
See reviews for
317
487
321
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I stayed at Hotel Ajanta Jul 19th and 20th 2010. We booked two superior rooms, one for my wife and me and the other for my in-laws. The hotel is situated in a very congested neighborhood and very noisy. Service was not existent. From the room, when I tried to call reception, the phone was never picked up.

Because of rain one of our rooms was completely flooded. Our suitcases on the floor got completely wet. The hotel staff was very unhelpful. Repeated requests to change the room were completely ignored and at the same time they insisted that we pay the complete amount for the room. Overall, we had a horrible stay at this hotel.

The Hotel tries hard to market intelf to tourists. If oly they spent part of those efforts into serving their guests. I will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WizardOfTheEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

delhi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2010

the room service is very good ...24*7 .the food is delicious.
the rooms are luxurious . the location is very good .i like the free pick up from airport

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sazidsajju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjanta, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 6 August 2010
Glad you enjoyed the food and stay at Hotel Ajanta.
Thank you for your review.

Our Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Being a business traveler, Hotel Ajanta is very good option to stay and is at the City Centre and close to the Pragati Maidan. One way airport transfer is complimentary from the hotel. Room service of this hotel is good too. They have inhouse internet cafe and speed of there bis quite good. Surely recommend to my business traveler

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rishu_Jain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjanta, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 5 August 2010
Thank you for your appreciation of Hotel Ajanta. Look forward to having you and your friends stay with us.

Our Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2010

There are no words which can describe the feeling whwn you are in such a beautiful place such as New Delhi. My room in Ajanta hotel was really spacious, clean and cool. The staff was always ready to help and the services were good. Best part was the buffet breakfast, i did not expect such good breakfast in budget hotel. Really elaborate

Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank blazingfear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjanta, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 31 July 2010
Thank you for sharing your good opinion about Ajanta Hotel with others. Our aim is to make all guests leave with good memories about our hotel.

Beat Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Overall the service was quite good with the staff being courteous and prompt and room was well maintained . Liked the serenity the most , exactly what we were looking for on this holiday more.Ideal location to relax as well as for Leisure travellers.Everyone around there was very sincere,Amazing location, Amazing property, Amazing ambiance, Amazing food...basically everything abt this hotel is really good...anyone whoeevr goes to this destination must stay here. This did give us a personal and homely feel as... more

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohitgoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjanta, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 26 July 2010
Glad you enjoyed your stay at Ajanta Hotel and thank you for sharing your views. We hope to see you again.

Our Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

My biggest problem with Ajanta was there rather ruthless and sneeky tactic of trying to get you to book some travel/tours with them. Upon arrival you will be told that your room is being made up and that you can wait in the attached office. In the office they will of course try and sell you all sorts of trips. What was most disconcerting was that our "talk" in the office was observed by one of the senior hotel staff members, probably making sure that we were asked the necessary questions. She didn't address us once.
By no means am I against Ajanta trying to make some money however this is NOT the way to do it, especially if the hotel guests have just arrived from a gruelling transatlantic flight. Be honest, be upfront and don't use underhanded pressure. That was my biggest issue. The good points of this hotel are the free transfer to or from airport, the restaurant, the cheap in room snacks and drinks. The hotel has a rooftop that needs some major work. Arakashan Road where the hotel is located is extremely busy, noisy and so on. There are powercuts but that is just India and not a fault of the hotel! Ajanta, change your sales tactic and I would be more than happy to recommend you.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjanta, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 20 July 2010
All points taken down and passed on to the people concerned.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#50 of 716 in New Delhi
1,696 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#55 of 716 in New Delhi
1,073 reviews
Wood Castle
#15 of 716 in New Delhi
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Amax Inn
#26 of 716 in New Delhi
696 reviews
Hotel City Star
#23 of 716 in New Delhi
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Property: Hotel Ajanta
Address: 36 Arakshan Road | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotels
Ajanta Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing