We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant eco-hotel in Delhi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel
Ranked #117 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Vlodrop, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A pleasant eco-hotel in Delhi”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I recently stayed here for the first time and it already feels like my home-away-from-home. The ambiance is refined but low-key. The staff are friendly and accommodating; they seemed to understand our needs and went out of their way to be helpful. For example, we left for the airport having forgotten to bring along the special vegetarian lunch their restaurant cooked and packed up for us. Just as we were deciding whether there was time to go back, their manager called the driver and instructed him to drop us at the airport to check in , then quickly zoom back to the hotel to get the lunch and bring it to us just in time. The only drawback is that the hotel hosts a wedding on their spacious grounds every night during the November-December wedding season - those weddings tend to be loud and last until midnight.

Room Tip: Ask to be housed on the courtyard during the wedding season - this will minimize the possibility of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahessori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    152
    71
    43
    24
See reviews for
89
92
46
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

As others have noted, the hotel is unable to offer any quiet rooms. I tried three. In two, noise from a wedding was blasting. The third, though away from the wedding, faced the airport and the plane noise was quite loud. I finally gave up...being too exhausted to move again..and agreed to stay in the room.
Additional issues:
- when I checked in, the receptionist insisted I had a reservation for 2 nights, and said if I wanted to depart early (my planned date of departure), I would have to pay the cancellation fee (which is the full payment for the night). Fortunately, I had my travel agent's book info, and was able to document the correct reservation. Absent that, I feel sure she would have insisted on billing me for the hotel's error.

- Despite assurances that the hotel had booked me into a non-smoking room, as requested, the room was certainly not non-smoking. When I pointed out the ash trays and matches! in the room, they finally agreed to move me to an actual non-smoking room.

- The gym is under renovation. No date on when it will be finished. I had hoped to work out between my flights, alas.

On the plus side, it is inexpensive. Ultimately though, if getting some rest is important, I would encourage you to go elsewhere - at least during wedding season.

Room Tip: Away from the airport AND away from the weddings. Good luck with that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doglover2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

i made two one night stopovers. It was convenient since I had a morning flight out the first time and the second time work in Gurgoan- staying here saved half an hour of travelling time.

The pick up at the airport worked without any hitch. The check in was ok but could have been quicker. The room is well appointed but not sound proofed.

The bar and the restaurant was acceptable ( do'nt be surprised that the hotel has only one restaurant even though it claims to be a five star property) and food - Indian which i chose - was good.

One problem I found was the noise - from numerous wedding parties in the gardens around and from air crafts).

Seems they have only one bell boy on duty always and it would be quicker to carry your luggage yourself.

Checkout was a bit slow - seemed that they want to check the minibar themselves even though I had declared that I did not take anything.

They will have a lot of competition once the IBIS and other hotels in the airport area under construction are operational.. so they will have to buck up their service

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monCochin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

We were upgraded so we are impressed obviously. Very luxurious and clean with personable staff. Close to the airport and with the new terminal makes a very positive place to chill out. Great restaurant and excellently appointed rooms. (Beware of wedding party discos).

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dupuytrens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Uppal Hotel is a good option for night-overs for Delhi Airport. The rates are good and the hotel provides an acceptable service and comfort for this price level.

It was not as close to airport as I tought. From domestic terminal it takes 15 minutes, from International it takes 10 minutes.
Its located in a nice garden. The check-in took sometime and but the staff was friendly.

I stayed only 5 hours in this hotel before my flight and only thing I was dreaming was a short but nice sleep before my flight. Unfortunetly the hotel was hosting a wedding party inhouse and my room was banging with music. The music didnt stop until 1:30am. The ac was not working well and the room was cold.

The restaurant serves 24 hours and the food is delicious.

Its good value for money but not the most convenient choice for nightovers before the flight since the hotel is not working as an airport hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meetjoeblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We stayed just the one night as it's convenient for the airport and we were flying out the next morning. We were very impressed. Everything excellent, with an astonishing breakfast selection. Clean, welcoming and professionally run - would recommend.

Not the place to stay if you're visiting Delhi for the first time as a tourist, as it's too far away from the 'sights', but as a stopover it is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MozSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

We prepaid for a taxi at the airport only for a driver to be waiting outside from hotel. A nice touch but I wish I had known.

The hotel itself is lovely in nice grounds but whilst convenient for the airport there is nothing about so you have to relax in the hotel.

The food is overpriced for India which is disappointing especially as you are a captive market.

I firmly believe that hotels should provide free wifi at least in the lobby. Not here. Access for a day is about R 1000 which is almost 20% of the cost of the room. The speed is slow, under 1.0 Mbps and most annoyingly, once you have connected one device, say a phone, it won't allow you to connect a laptop. I don't mean at the same time, I mean at all! Crazy!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
10.4 mi away
Hotel Uppal International
Hotel Uppal International
#544 of 715 in New Delhi
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Umrao
The Umrao
#58 of 715 in New Delhi
469 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pride Plaza Hotel Aerocity New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
ibis New Delhi Aerocity
ibis New Delhi Aerocity
#81 of 715 in New Delhi
1,313 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Muse Sarovar Portico New Delhi Kapashera
1.6 mi away
Roseate House New Delhi
Roseate House New Delhi
#3 of 715 in New Delhi
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel

Property: The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel
Address: National Highway 8 | Near the Igi Airport, On Dwarka-Samalkha Link Road, New Delhi 110037, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#95 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Uppal - 5 star Hotel, New Delhi. is spread over an expanse of 10.5 acres of scenic grandeur and greenery. The Uppal is located in close proximity to the industrial suburbs of Gurgaon and Delhi and 4 kms away from the Indira Gandhi International airport, New Delhi and 7 kms away from the Domestic airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uppals Orchid Hotel
Uppal's Orchid Hotel
Uppal Orchid Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing