We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel
Ranked #110 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Almaty
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good stay for one night”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We booked through Booking.com.
The hotel provides free airport transfer, it is really close to the airport, which makes it very convinient, taking into account heavy city traffic.It is a luxurious style hotel, but not 5 star in terms of rooms, it needs repair. However, the staff is great, very polite and helpful. The restaurant food is fairly good, as well as the service. There is a large swimming pool surroneded by the beautiful garden, where you can relax. Internet is paid and very low speed, can not hold skype conversation and access can be used on one device only. In my opinion a little bit overpriced, both hotel and internet. They have plans for repair and other improvements, so i would give them a chance.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bella_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVERMA, Manager at The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for taking the time out to place the review in regards to your stay.

We were especially delighted to read your positive comments you made about the Team and the Services. I had shared the review with the entire team, they are truly inspired by your comments and really happy to note that their efforts were well noticed and much appreciated.

but yes, we had noted your feedback in regards to the Wi-Fi/Internet and further to the Property update we are very much in process for the same & been performing taking the areas part by part and moreover we would be finishing the same soon.

It was really pleasure to serve you, should your travel plan brings you to New Delhi, please do not hesitate to write us your reservation.

We look forward to Welcome you again at The Uppal.

Thank you

Best regards

Chetan Verma
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    152
    71
    43
    24
See reviews for
89
92
46
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We booked this through Agoda.com and were quite pleasantly surprised what our $100/night room bought us. It was a five star hotel and had quite nice appointments throughout the hotel. You may chuckle at the sign on the entrance that says "arms and ammunition not allowed". We had the buffet for dinner, which was good, though both of our stomachs rumbled for a few days after. Wifi was expensive, but overall we were pleased. Our driver did have a hard time finding it, so it pays to have them call ahead.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sierratravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I stayed at the Uppal last week for one night (thankfully). I've stayed at this Hotel in its earlier avatar 'Orchids' Ecotel and i have good memories from the previous stay. Given that i was on a business trip, proximity to the airport nd reasonableness were my main criteria. I wasn't looking for other features such as multiple restaurants (which Uppal lacks, by the way).

I was checked-in swiftly; however, the staff pedigree did not reflect what you would expect at a 5 star property. My room was fairly clean (other than the peeling of paint in certain parts of the ceiling),but the beds were hard. And my air-conditioner wasn't working. So the reception quickly sent their maintenance guy, who managed to rectify the problem, albeit temporarily. I got back to the room in the evening and there was a foul smell, although they had done a turn-down service. And the air-con wasn't working again, meaning the air wasn't getting re-circulated and the room smelt like a pig sty.

So they sent someone to 'freshen' up the room and the staff literally bombarded the room with an aroma spray, which left me choking. The air-con did not work through the night and boy, was i glad to check out the next day!

I would not recommend this hotel to anybody as there are cheaper hotels which care more about cleanliness and maintenance.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tres-passerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Nice to find an eco friendly hotel in Delhi. Surrounded by acres of greenery and even a small executive golf course! Loved the great service, well trained and friendly staff. Rooms were well equipped with modern amenities. They figured out my husband's birthday from his passport and had a lovely cake waiting for us in the room! Nice touch. Free airport pickup is an added benefit. A bit noisy a night from all the wedding parties but otherwise we loved it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sitaananth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Good special Ecotel Hotel. We loved and enjoyed our dinner and breakfast. Sheaf had well explained the variety of food. Its law rise building & its value for money. Near to airport so may not be held up in traffic. You can see greenery almost from all rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chetankpandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

The drive from Indira Gandhi airport to Uppal was longer than expected, but it is actually very close to airport runway. Hotels own pickup and drop service very reliable. Pleasant surprise once you pass the Hotel gate. Posh building, nice lobby, friendly staff. Good restaurant and breakfast buffet. Room was perfect and clean. Nighttime a bit noisy, as wedding catering were clearing their dishes behind the hotel. Due to jetlag it didnt really bother us, all we wanted was a decent place to rest until our connection early next morning. I had been looking forward to a relaxing swim as this helps after a long flight. Unfortunately, due to the wedding party, gardens were not accessible to hotel guests. However, after we complained we were shown to some garden area secluded from the party so we could take a rest in the outdoors. Front desk handled it gracefully.
At checkout we were charged for breakfast for 2 days - impossible as we left before breakfast time. Then it was reduced to breakfast for 1 day, charged Rs. 600. While our booking confirmed breakfast included - but we paid as we were tired of arguing. After all they gave us an early checkin w/o any extra cost. All in all, a good place near the airport, but watch yr bill when you checkout.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snövit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Either the owner or the person in charge of the place claims that this is a 5 stars hotel. By no means The Uppal (an Eco-hotel? Really?) is a 5 stars hotel. I decided to stay there for my last 2 nights in India (January 2013). It’s close to the airport: fair enough. There’s a taxi driver waiting for you outside (allegedly “for free” but the service is displayed in the Guest Bill so DON’T TIP THE CHAUFFEUR!) the airport. OK, it’s a Tata, an Indian kind of sedan, not luxury but it’s a car, and after chaotic Varanasi you don’t give a damn. Since it is winter I was expecting the AC to be working at its best: my room was freezing! I asked the receptionist –who didn’t speak any other language apart from a weird version of... IN-glish?- to repair the heater... guess what? They brought me a “heater” made in the Soviet Union (I’m not joking). The internet is EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE for Indian standards (I lived in India for almost 6 months... the regular fare is 50 rupees or 40 rupees pay as you go... the Uppal charged me 1000 rupees per day... and it sucks! I couldn’t connect to skype and not even youtube loaded any videos). I wanted to go outside and visit the premises (the alleged “dreamy garden”) that after the wedding season resembled more like a circus than a dirty & smelly garden, really, it was pathetic. The pool, as many other reviewers have pointed out, has seen better times, and there were wild dogs! In a hotel! Crazy! The food was pathetic (the restaurant looks like a Costa Cafe. Breakfast was disappointing... all the cakes seem to have been purchased in Greggs... really). I ended up paying 17000 rupees for 2 nights. I asked for a weight scale 5 times: none was provided. I headed outside for a walk and they stopped me as it’s “forbidden” after 10 pm (never heard such a thing from a so-called 5 stars-hotel). I asked for a taxi to take me to the Hard Rock Cafe to purchase some stuff: 1500 rupees round trip (and the driver expects you to tip him!!!!!) and when I finally left that pigsty, the personnel didn’t even say bye. In conclusion, I strongly discourage you to stay at this dirty, ugly, smelly, horrendous and expensive hotel (they don’t even provide the toilettes with toothpaste... the website states that “2 bottles of drinking water are provided free of charge every day” which of course is a lie). Don’t go there! There’s a Radisson Blue that charges more or less the same but with a far-superior quality... and doesn’t claim to be 5 stars. Aníbal.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, but please, LISTEN TO ME!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anibal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.5 mi away
The Umrao
The Umrao
#15 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atrio A Boutique Hotel
Atrio A Boutique Hotel
#161 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton New Delhi, Airport Highway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lemon Tree Premier, Delhi Airport
1.7 mi away
Red Fox Hotel, Delhi Airport
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn New Delhi International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel

Property: The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel
Address: National Highway 8 | Near the Igi Airport, On Dwarka-Samalkha Link Road, New Delhi 110037, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#95 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Uppal - 5 star Hotel, New Delhi. is spread over an expanse of 10.5 acres of scenic grandeur and greenery. The Uppal is located in close proximity to the industrial suburbs of Gurgaon and Delhi and 4 kms away from the Indira Gandhi International airport, New Delhi and 7 kms away from the Domestic airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uppals Orchid Hotel
Uppal's Orchid Hotel
Uppal Orchid Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing