We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, inconsiderate staff, delay in registeration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel
Ranked #117 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh, India
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good hotel, inconsiderate staff, delay in registeration”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

At an outset, it is a good place for a short stay. Adjacent to Airport, good surroundings good rooms.
Reached there at 11.30 PM with a checkout at 8.00 AM the next day. The registration took over 45 minutes. The registration clerk insisted that O must sign the registration form which had details of the previous occupant. Even the ID details and credit card details were not mine.

After waiting for 45 minutes and series of illogical explanations by bell boy and the clerk, I decided to draw curved lines of the form and went to the room. I had no option at midnight to step out of this hotel. There is nothing near by.'

Sad experience. Will I visit again.... perhaps not. There are umpteen options nearer to airport in the Aerocity.

Room Tip: Choose the garden side room. It gives a very pleasant sight early morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AG1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVERMA, Front Office Manager at The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
I regret the inconvenience caused during your stay and would like to offer my deepest apologies for the same.

We hope you will not hold this experience against us and will offer us another opportunity to look after you in a manner that you expect and so rightfully deserve.

With renewed apologies,

Chetan Verma
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    152
    71
    43
    24
See reviews for
89
92
46
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Last month I had visited Delhi for business meeting. It was a incredible experience with the Uppal. I stayed there & found excellent ambience, beautiful pool, fine dining & excellent comfort room with highly motivated staff. I would like to recommend people there to avail good hospitality near by international airport

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Dharm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVERMA, Front Office Manager at The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us and we are grateful for your feedback.

We were especially delighted to read your positive comments you made about the Team and the Services. I had shared the review with the entire team; they are truly inspired by your comments and really happy to note that their efforts were well noticed and much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you again shortly.

Warm Regards
Chetan Verma
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I happen to attend my relatives ceremony at this hotel . Hotel is so clean with pretty ambience , Beautiful gardens . Food has lavish varieties & quality is appreciating . Staff is so attentive & takes good care of all its guests .
I would highly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ranu s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVERMA, Front Office Manager at The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for taking the time out to place the review in regards to your recent stay.

We were especially delighted to read your positive comments you made about the Team and the Services. I had shared the review with the entire team; they are truly inspired by your comments and really happy to note that their efforts were well noticed and much appreciated.

It was really pleasure to serve you, should your travel plan brings you to New Delhi; please do not hesitate to write us your reservation.

We look forward to Welcome you again at The Uppal.

Best regards
Chetan Verma
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

If your want to avoid the terrible traffic of New Delhi and find some nice place to relax, this Hotel is the right choice. The beautiful garden really can make you forget all the troubles.Room are nice and clean I was got a good sleep . Also the delicious food and kind staff....

I had a wonderful stay in here!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jun Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVERMA, Front Office Manager at The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us and we are grateful for your feedback.

We were especially delighted to read your positive comments you made about the Team and the Services. I had shared the review with the entire team; they are truly inspired by your comments and really happy to note that their efforts were well noticed and much appreciated.

It was really pleasure to serve you, should your travel plan brings you to New Delhi; please do not hesitate to write us your reservation.

We look forward to Welcome you again at The Uppal.

Best regards
Chetan Verma
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights in July 2014. Hotel is very spacious and ambiance is good. It is set up in the middle of green gardens and trees and gives very good effect. The staff is good and courteous. The food is good though not very good. Air conditioning in the rooms is not up to the mark and it needs improvement. Even at the maximum cooling, I was feeling hot and there was nothing they could do. The toilets do not have shower jets and you have to use toilet paper which is a big minus for Indian people. The overall room plan of hotel in not very impressive as all the rooms are built on the ground floor due to which you keep on moving in a square to reach your room. The rooms themselves are good, the room service is quick, the free wi-fi is good and the buffet breakfast is good though not very rich in variety. Overall a good hotel but it certainly needs improvements on the problematic areas mentioned above.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HimanshuShangari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVERMA, Front Office Manager at The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us and we are grateful for your feedback and was delighted to know that you had a great experience in regards to the room and services. other then few hitches which are noted in the review.

However, I note with great concern that the air conditioning was not effective and the toilet jets were not installed. the same would be discussed in the board for the betterment. Please accept my sincere apologies for the same we have noted your feedback and your preference for a room have shared it to the concerned team to address and to ensure it is not repeated. Your feedback gives us an insight towards the area of improvement from our side and we will focus more on training our staff to ensure that the service standards are consistently meet.

Thank you for putting together your thoughts and sharing it with us

warm regards
Chetan Verma
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This place isn't bad, but for its price it was hardly great. First of all it is not at all easy to find for your average Delhi taxi man, at least at night - had to stop at a few places and finally borrow some young dude's Google Maps screen to finally get there. Even on the actual street the signage is poor. Room itself is comfortable enough, if a bit overdone (heavy decor).

What really ticked me off is they charge you 750 Rs for a ride to the airport (the hotel is at the end of the runway) and then the driver expected a tip. Had it not been 5am and had we had a local cell phone we'd have called our own cab, but then I worried the driver wouldn't find it.

And when I handed over a 1,000 Rs bill to pay for this, the desk guy says "don't you have any change?".

A so-called 5 star hotel and you don't have 250 Rs? They had to fish around in their pockets - give me a break. I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVERMA, Front Office Manager at The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for taking the time out to place the review in regards to your recent stay.

We had taken a careful note on the communication you made on review and same has been taken in the meeting. We would be taking corrective measures for placing the signage's. further to the Taxi charges, sincerely apologies that you felt the taxi charges are on higher side. but any how we would consider your request for the same. We also have the proper cash denomination at our cash counter to avoid any in convenience to the guest.

It was happy to note that you liked the hotel and the room.

Your feedback gives us an insight towards the area of improvement from our side and we will focus more on training our staff to ensure that the service standards are consistently meet.

Should your travel plan brings you to New Delhi; please do not hesitate to write us your reservation.

We look forward to Welcome you again at The Uppal.

Thank you

Best regards

Chetan Verma
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agra, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Lovely landscaping and beautiful garden. very helpful staff,nice and comfortable rooms with attached sit out. Reception staff goes beyond to help you and fulfill the request. Duty manager the lady is very helpful and courteous to resolve the problems.
Nice breakfast choice choices, egg to order was live and cooked as per my taste.
Thanks to all staff to making my stay memorable.
Suggest to all of my friends stay with Uppal .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devrcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVERMA, Front Office Manager at The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Dev,

Thank you so very much for taking the time out to place the review in regards to your recent stay.

We were especially delighted to read your positive comments you made about the Team and the Services. I had shared the review with the entire team; they are truly inspired by your comments and really happy to note that their efforts were well noticed and much appreciated.

It was really pleasure to serve you, should your travel plan brings you to New Delhi; please do not hesitate to write us your reservation.

We look forward to Welcome you again at The Uppal.

Best regards
Chetan Verma
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
10.4 mi away
Hotel Uppal International
Hotel Uppal International
#559 of 716 in New Delhi
115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton New Delhi, Airport Highway
1.8 mi away
Pride Plaza Hotel Aerocity New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Delhi Airport
0.5 mi away
The Umrao
The Umrao
#58 of 716 in New Delhi
463 reviews
1.9 mi away
Andaz Delhi - A concept by Hyatt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel

Property: The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel
Address: National Highway 8 | Near the Igi Airport, On Dwarka-Samalkha Link Road, New Delhi 110037, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#95 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Uppal - 5 star Hotel, New Delhi. is spread over an expanse of 10.5 acres of scenic grandeur and greenery. The Uppal is located in close proximity to the industrial suburbs of Gurgaon and Delhi and 4 kms away from the Indira Gandhi International airport, New Delhi and 7 kms away from the Domestic airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Uppal Hotel - an Ecotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uppals Orchid Hotel
Uppal's Orchid Hotel
Uppal Orchid Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing