We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
YMCA Tourist Hostel
Ranked #200 of 909 Speciality Lodging in New Delhi
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Really bad experience. The room was expensive (50€) with molds on the wall, a bad smell, hair in the sheets, high humidity. Fortunately we had sleeping bags!! There was no matress, just a plank of wood and some stuff under the (really dirty) blankets.
It's good only for horror movies.
Awful experience, we complained, the guy at the desk said the manager was not there!
To avoid, definetely!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciospett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    44
    40
    25
    27
See reviews for
19
17
33
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tokyo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

I am a frequent traveller to Delhi. There is no other place than YMCA when you want to save your time and money.
It is a simple hotel, don't expect 5 star service. But You will get a peaceful atmosphere here by staffs who take care of you warmly.

Foods are enough, Wifi is now available (Rs.200 for 12hs, Rs.300 is for 24hs).
AC and room heater are faciliated.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AppleBagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
261 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The rooms are spacious. Very friendly staff. The food in the restaurant in the building is very good. The rooms are spartan in amenities, but clean and well cared for. Economical and safe place to stay for a couple of nights. A/C and Tv is available. Some attractions in Delhi are right around the Facility.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank simpleman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I needed to visit Delhi on a short trip. My mum travelled with me. As a member of YWCA, I was able to book a room in advance. We travelled in December which was cold season. So it was nice to reach the hotel & be taken straight to the room without much waiting to complete registration.
Having called ahead helped as they were expecting us.
When we got to the room, the room was clean. Not much in the way of amenities but it did contain the basic essentials like soap. The room was large & comfortable.
The towels provided looked like they had seen better days, but we had carried our own.

Buffet meals were provided by the hotel. The meals were quite tasty. And I enjoyed all the meals except for the last day when I ate some fried thing that gave me a stomach bug.

They staff were very helpful at all time. They organised transport for us informing the drives where we needed to get to. And on the last day, pre arranged a cab to the airport for us.

All in all a good stay at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Call ahead the day prior to travel even if you book online. Let them know what time you intend to ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fernvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I've travelled India before and the YMCA tourist hostel is THE WORST place I have ever stayed, quite an achievement for my travels.

The rooms were an abomination, mattresses had bed bugs and the bathroom never had hot water despite the website saying they did. Upon complaint, they didn't care and said the manager wasn't in to sort it and wouldn't be until the next day.

My friend went out for dinner one evening and on my return he'd taken the key by mistake, the staff refused to get the spare key as they "weren't authorised" and I couldn't enter the room till my friend was home.

I used the in-house laundry service, and it's the greatest regret I've ever had. Having given them a few t shirts, some shorts, and underwear, I'd specified PLEASE do not mark my clothes in the wash, they said no problem. When they first came back, they came back with stains on and numbered with a sharpie, which showed up on the back of my clothes. Long story short and a few more washed later, they basically bleached my clothes so much some holes were in them, and they tried to say I gave them in that state in the first place. I got £50 out of them in the end, but most definitely my biggest regret ever.

Even if offered £100 a night, I probably would NOT stay at this hostel. Horrible staff, food that made us both ill, and facilities that make the street look tempting.

Room Tip: Choose a good room? You'd be better on the street. Trust a seasoned traveller here, you will fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Bangkok
Level Contributor
76 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

This is my second stay at this New Delhi YMCA. My room is on the fifth floor and is just next to the common bathroom. For rooms with common bath, there seem to be three rooms on each floor sharing a bathroom. One bathroom consists of two WC rooms and one shower room. The room is clean and so is the bathroom. Its furniture and decoration is just the same as the room with bathroom. Wifi only in the lobby area (without password). I used the swimming pool for a few times. It's good but you need to bring your own towel. I paid the breakfast and dinner rate and I think it's better to have dinner somewhere else for this extra 400 Rs. The place is easily reached from IGI airport by taking a bus that goes to Connaught place (fare 75 Rs in September 2013) and get off when the bus turns left from Asoka road to Jai Singh road. The conductor was fairly helpful if you need to ask. Another way to and from the airport is to take the metro to the Shivaji Stadium station. It's 120 Rs and the station is about 8-10 minutes walk to the YMCA. The airline check-in counter at Shivaji Stadium station wasn't open when I was there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Banlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed couple of times in this hotel. This hotel is a basic stay for those who don't expect much in terms of service. They prefer not to be wash the linen regularly so as to save water. The overhead tank ran out of water once early in the morning because of which I almost missed my early morning flight. They provide complementary breakfast even though room rent is low. Besides all this I will still continue to stay in this hotel because of its location and affordability. If you want to use the swimming pool, you may also do so.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelAddictVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.3 mi away
Imperial Apartments
Imperial Apartments
#418 of 708 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Janpath Guest House
Janpath Guest House
#441 of 708 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Connaught Royale
Hotel Connaught Royale
#170 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#103 of 708 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palace Heights
Hotel Palace Heights
#27 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA Tourist Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA Tourist Hostel

Property: YMCA Tourist Hostel
Address: Jai Singh Rd. | P.B. 612, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 909 Speciality Lodging in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — YMCA Tourist Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you all know, the Indian society is popular for its hearty hospitality. Therefore, we at the Tourist Hostel (New Delhi YMCA) thoroughly believe in the popular Indian saying –“ Atithi Devo Bhava “ which means ‘Guest is God’ ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your YMCA Tourist Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca Tourist Hotel New Delhi
Ymca New Delhi
Ymca Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing