We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok if it wasn't so wet”
Review of Hotel Namaskar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Namaskar
Ranked #539 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Jaipur
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ok if it wasn't so wet”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

One of the more quiet places in the Pahar Ganj area. That doesn't mean it is quiet, but it's not as noisy as other hotells here.
The room for 650rs was okay with one big bed and two small ones, but the room were extremely damp and had alot of black mould on the doors (propably on the walls also, but it was overpainted).
The little pool of water outside the bathroom never dried out.
There was hot water, but such low pressure that you couldn't take a hot shower (but an ice cold one was possible).

The staff did their job and wasn't unfriendly, but thats it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    27
    46
    36
    42
See reviews for
7
52
42
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stay here for the service. They helped arrange a driver, itinerary, check trains, and anything else we needed assistance with. We had been emailing before we arrived and they promptly responded and set everything up for us. The room was not so great though - we got what we paid for.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Yael-Meirav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival they gave me a Free taxi ride into town... That was not what it was: i was straight away taken to a Travel agent...he did not stop pushing me to buy a trip. Very agressive. This was organised by the hotel: lousy treat! Never trust these guys. Bad Experience

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

This was the first place I stayed in India. I didn't want to review it until I had experience other places. Even with my first impression. I was pleasantly surprised. Booked online and everything was set for me. Showers worked. Rooms were clean and the prices were awesome. The staff is very helpful and kind. The location is brutal to find initially but the location is great for seeing the sites as soon as you know the area. Close to the metro station and easy to find tuk Tuks. Great cheap restaurants close by!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I stayed in hotel Namaskar for a total of about a week and a half during my trip around India. It's a bargain at 400Rs a night, the staff were friendly and helpful and they can arrange airport pick-up/luggage storage if you want it. Some people have said that the storage is not very safe (there are no locks provided), but I doubt you'd find anything more secure in a budget Indian hotel and I felt totally at ease leaving my stuff there.
The rooms I thought were cleaner than most I'd been in, had western-style toilets and shower heads too! You couldn't see out the windows, but at least it had some. In one of the rooms I had there was no sink but it wasn't a problem, I just used the foot tap thing and the bucket provided.
The beds were the most comfortable I experienced in India, the pillows weren't lumpy and most were double sized.
The fan worked great too - I never needed the highest setting. Really I thought it was a great choice for a first solo backpacking trip to India and perfect location right in the centre of Pahar Ganj - if that's what you're looking for. Easy to find if you look for the restaurant opposite too and there is an internet cafe right next door.
The public urinals at the bottom of the street did make for an unpleasant daily assault on the senses but if that puts you off then maybe you aren't ready for India!

Obviously if you want luxury; hot showers, A/C etc and are prepared to pay more for it then this isn't the choice for you but for backpackers on a budget wanting to meet others and explore the tourist hub that is pahar ganj then this is perfect!

Room Tip: Ask to see before you commit to make sure your fan/taps work etc and it is what you asked for. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Do NOT, whatever you do, stay at this hotel.

I booked this last minute the day before I arrived in India. Huge mistake. While they kindly picked me up at the airport, this was only because the place is so poorly located any tourist would have no chance of finding it left to their own devices. (Indeed, even once you've arrived, returning to it after you've been out in Delhi can be a complete nightmare.) However, my major gripe about the place is that you can't just jump in a rickshaw and get out of the place. Rather you're forced to endure being sent to 'tourist information', which is a hard sell process to get you to buy house boat trips to Srinagar (in November!), etc (at extortionate rates too boot) . It felt like I was a prisoner in my own hotel. You can do much better for accommodation in Delhi, e.g., places around the Main Bazaar, such as Metropolis make so much more sense. Other travellers take heed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetMourns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bikaner, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Its cheap and cheerful and you get what you pay for. Its clean and the staff are very helpful and have a great storage service and can arrange taxi pick up to and from the airport. It can be a little noisy but this is Pahar ganj...

I will use again without hestitation.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darraghmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Welcom Inn
#486 of 716 in New Delhi
3 reviews
Hotel Shivam International
#393 of 716 in New Delhi
18 reviews
Hotel Maanvi
#509 of 716 in New Delhi
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Hans International
#391 of 716 in New Delhi
21 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Major's Den
Hotel Major's Den
#305 of 716 in New Delhi
26 reviews
Hotel Payal
#209 of 716 in New Delhi
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Namaskar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Namaskar

Property: Hotel Namaskar
Address: 917 Chandiwalan | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Hotel Style:
Ranked #539 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Namaskar 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Namaskar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Namaskar Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing