We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”
Review of Hotel Namaskar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Namaskar
Ranked #544 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

It's very well located, in the Main Bazar area in Delhi. Close to the airport train, metro and connoaught place.
It isn't fancy, but it's clean enough and there isn't hassle. You pay the room's price, which is fixed and you may ask for information if you want. They will fix you with some taxi to go to the airport (that will cost the same price as the metro) what may be more comfortable.
In the region you will have lot's of options of places to eat and to have some cheap shopping.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivanzp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    27
    46
    36
    42
See reviews for
7
53
42
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here in November 2012. We were on a "as low as you can" budget, came here first because it was recommended on the guide. Left because they would not bring the price of their room down. We went to almost every other budget place in the area (Paharganj), and we found slightly cheaper, but infinitely dirties and dodgier. For the sake of 50 or 100 rupees we decided to go back to Namaskar. Good choice! as we both got the runs and had to end up staying here for over a week.

Fortunately the place was nice enough, definitely nicer looking than in most of the pictures here, they must have renovated it. Cleanish room and toilet, quite clean bed clothes, did not encounter any cockroaches (we were in the third floor, no windows), toilet was a sit down (luckily, as I said above...). It is a family run hotel, they are all very nice and friendly. They do not work with hawkers on the street and they will not hassle you to stay with them They certainly don´t need to because it is the nicest cheapest place in the area and they are always busy.

If you are arriving to India for the first time, I would not recommend staying in Paharganj straight away. Go to another area and stay somewhere for 1,000 - 3,000 rupees for a couple of days. Then come here and gradually adjust.

The area is the typical backpacker nightmarish fare. Lots of "hippy" souvenir stores, lots of western food available etc etc. It is very well communicated though, so you can get out and about to the more "normal" parts of town, such as Connaught place or Nehru place. Delhi is very very modern, and Paharganj does not represent it at all. So do get on the metro, you will enjoy it, it is so new!

On a side note, nearby this place (on the right hand, as you look out the door), there is a very very good cyber café. The owner is very knowledgeable, it has fast connection (one of the best we found in the whole country), and he won´t try to screw you. Also he can help you with any technological questions if you want to go shopping while in Delhi.

Room Tip: There is a few rooms in the ground floor. Try NOT to get those. Rooms with balcony are nicer but mor...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank masaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed 2 times in this hotel: it was the first hotel when we arrived in India and also the last, when we got back home. The rooms are very simple, not very clean, just imagine a room with a bed... The first time we slept in a room on the first floor. This room had a window, no A/C but a fan, and a bathroom which was very small, a little bit dirty but okay... The managers are very nice and willing to help you.
The second time we slept in an A/C room on the groundfloor (room 6). This room is spacy but quite depressing as there is no window. The bathroom was far more better than the first time (with a sink, bigger, better shower).

The second time however we had some troubles with the nightkeeper of the hotel. We arrived at 7 o' clock in the morning and got a room. We only stayed 1 night because we had our flight home the next day. The nightkeeper was quite annoyed that we arrived early because he didn't sleep a lot I think... after a day delhi-visiting, we arrived back at the hotel that evening and again, it was that nightkeeper who was sitting there. He was still very annoyed with us and said we had to check out before 8 in the morning! (normally it is 12, everywhere in the hotel hangs a paper with 'check out time 12 noon') We were suprised and asked why, and he said because we arrived at 7 in the morning. We had to check out before 8, or we should pay him 300 rupies more (he said).... we were quite angry and absolutely not amused, but also, we didn't believe this sudden rule of him. So we said we wanted to hear this from his boss, and he became even more angry. We went to our bed and checked out at noon, when the bosses were sitting there. They didn't say anything about this sudden rule, we didn't have to pay more and they were very friendly..

So it is a pity that this nightkeeper tried to make us pay more for his own wallet... don't listen too much to that boy, just talk with the real managers!!

Room Tip: ask to see some rooms before deciding... some have windows, some haven't... the bathroom can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NelVerbeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Hessen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Considering that it's a backpacker hotel, you do get good value for your money. Hotel has undertaken extensive renovation, rooms are painted, bathrooms are new and lobby area is quite spacious. Okay, it's loud but that is India, it's loud everywhere unless you go to the five star places. Service is very nice and always helpful, the more you specify your needs the more forthcoming is the staff. I've been staying there many times in the last five years, and the most important feature for me is safety.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank al37-65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The area is absolutely horrible (but is the backpacker zone in Delhi)... Very depressing arriving straight there!!! The owners are very nice and helpful... The rooms are horrible, try to get one on a top floor (cause with the noise the staff do and the noise from the street you wouldnt be able to sleep in the first floor)...
Its walking distance from the subway/railway st/airport express st which is very convenient!

Room Tip: Top floors....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arizazealuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I have stayed at Hotel Namaskar (Paharganj, New Delhi) four times in the 3 1/2 years. Staying as long as 1 1/2 months.

But first, any (especially Western) visitor to India (including Paharganj in New Delhi) should recognize that you are in the Third World. Life is not what you are used to. It takes some work to adapt to the lack of facilities, etc. YOU need to adapt your perspective to adjust to it.

That said, I will stay at the hotel Namaskar again. The stars of the place are the two brothers who run it.Both have been very correct in management, The prices are posted and correct. They are both very up-front and straightforward. And they consider the client first. When they make a statement, that is correct. There is a sign next to the front desk: No visitors allowed in the rooms. It is a hotel, not a party palace nor extra curricular activities mansion. Most people prefer this.

I have stayed in other hotels in Paharganj where they push and push trips on you. Staff at Namaskar give advice and help, but have never pushed anything on me. I definitely rate they as much better than the others I have seen.(Almost all life in New Delhi is "Pushy" by western standards, you have to get used to it.)

The prices at Hotel Namaskar are very correct. If you want Western style hotels(where you pay for it), Paharganj is not for you. It is also a well known hotel in new Delhi. The TukTuk drivers all know where it is located. It may be difficult to locate the first time(Paharganj, Main Bazaar, then 15 meters down the ally next to the "Citibank" ATM machine)

I think safety is important. No visitors in the rooms is important. The doors use padlocks. I carry my own (hefty) padlock, which is fine for the staff.And bring plenty of keys!! I also carry three sets of keys in different places around me.

In the years I have traveled in Asia, I see more and more often a (younger) single woman and as well as small groups of two or more women traveling. I see them walking in the street as well as staying at the Hotel Namaskar. I have several (European) meditation women friends who have traveled and lived in Asia (alone) for up to six years. We all go to the same Vipassana meditation retreat centre in Lumbini Nepal.

There are much worse and more expensive. Definitely worth the stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adm187155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosseto, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I have been 2 times at namaskar hotel. the location is very good, just in the middle of main bazar in paharganj. it is very cheap, around 400 rp a day and you get what you pay. Lot of places in paharganj where you pay a lot more to get the same.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauroculicchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Welcom Inn
#488 of 716 in New Delhi
3 reviews
Hotel Shivam International
#400 of 716 in New Delhi
18 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Major's Den
Hotel Major's Den
#301 of 716 in New Delhi
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Hans International
#396 of 716 in New Delhi
21 reviews
Hotel Maanvi
#515 of 716 in New Delhi
48 reviews
Hotel Payal
#201 of 716 in New Delhi
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Namaskar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Namaskar

Property: Hotel Namaskar
Address: 917 Chandiwalan | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Hotel Style:
Ranked #544 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Namaskar 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Namaskar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Namaskar Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing