We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dilli Haat

Dilli Haat
Book In Advance
More Info
US$69.00*
and up
Private Delhi Tour: Lotus Temple, Qutub Minar and Dilli Haat
Ranked #37 of 412 things to do in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Our Indian friends took us there to shop .but its a rip off when they see your a foreigner . but our friend told us act like you don't know us at the shop and we will get it for you for cheap ..for example if they told us 10$ she will get it for a 1$!!!!!! RIIPPPP OFFFFFF

Helpful?
1 Thank mirnag89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    307
    116
    23
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great Shopping Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We went her early in our trip and I was exceptionally pleased. Paying to enter made it a very civilized shopping experience. There were many Indians shoping so it is not just for tourists but there were no hard sell tactics, limited (although still a fund aspect of the engagement with the shopkeepers) bargaining and no desperate please for money. We ended up getting some jewelry for my wife and a set of textiles. While I love the street scene in Delhi, it was nice to have a more serene shopping experience and the quality seemed very good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MCF3114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Place for tourists-Glimpse of all states”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Dilli Haat - Haat means a market place, so dilli haat is market place where all people/culture/food everything come together from all Indian states. Dilli haat is a great place to see glimpse of entire indian culture at one place. Hence it's a popular destination for tourists in Delhi. You can eat/shop and see cultural shows help at different pavilions of indian state. To name a few pavilions, It has rajasthan, Jammu & Kashmir, maharashtra, gujrat, sikkim and so on... You can buy handi-crafts, souvenirs, rugs& cashmilon shawls, silk from kashmir etc. etc. There are authentic food stalls from each state. Do try rajasthani thali and gujrati dhokla and fruit beer.
Ticket price is rs. 15 and 10 for adults and children resp.
Place for shoppers and foodies.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nitasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishikesh, India
Level Contributor
1 review
“Amazing mix of culture and Traditions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The place is for youngsters who want to hold hands and walk around.. sit at the tables of the several restaurants and spend time looking into each others' eyes...The places comes to life in the evenings with some or the other state sharing their cultural shows and program. You can also find handicrafts but be careful of the prices. Girls can be seen bargaining but the foreigners find the place economical.. i guess they get flown away in the colorful atmosphere around them which casts a spell on them..

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adventure_Factory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good place to hand out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

A flee market of sorts for indian handicraft from different parts of India, sometimes you get very good stuff. The stalls keep changing, so the things on sale keep changing. Bargaining is absolutely ok, if you are good at it you can knock off anything from 10% to 50% of the quoted price :). Although there are food stalls from almost every state, the place is famous for it north east indian food, momos, thupas and fruit beer (non-alcoholic). The food and the UP (Lucknowi) stall is also very good, kababs are always yummie :). Can be a hot and exausting place during summers, car parking can be a struggle but it's also walking distance from a metro station, so metros an option too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank gameruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dilli Haat also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Dilli Haat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing