We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and excellent restaurant”
Review of The Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Manor
Ranked #70 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2013

The Manor is a purpose built small luxury hotel in a gated community near the centre of Delhi. There is a wonderful sense of space and light in the hotel with full length windows, shallow staircases and good use of right angles. It is well furnished and well decorated. Staff are helpful nbut not obtrusive.

The real highlight is the Indian Accent restaurant which takes world ingredients and Indian spices to create something new and wonderful. We had amazing pork ribs and kofte; the vegetables were great too. For me, a real revelation was the creamy black lentils in a tangy tomato influenced sauce - taking a staple dish and turning it into something special. Oh, and also the pink peppercorn pilau rice where each peppercorn explodes in a burst of flavour when crunched. Really fabulous.

The rooms were pleasant, comfortable beds and well stocked bathroom. There were plenty of terraces which would be great in warmer weather. Our room (Room 12) was very quiet and peaceful.

The two slight reservations I had: the Friends Colony West was on a gridlocked road that had us waiting in traffic for over two hours to get in. Perhaps there is a back way that might have been better but our driver didn't know it. The other reservation is the wifi - painfully slow and quite awkward to access. I know hotels like to charge for wifi (though these days wifi is hardly a luxurious extra) but if it must be paid, there are simpler ways to do it without long, convoluted log in names and signing up to irritating plans that don't seem to match what is advertised at reception and only work on one device.

Overall, though, this was a really lovely, luxurious boutique hotel and we'd love to come back one day.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at The Manor and enjoyed your dining experience at our restaurant ‘Indian Accent’.

Positive feedback from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight. Your feedback has been shared with the entire team and they are grateful for the appreciation.

We regret the inconvenience caused due to wi-fi connectivity. Your feedback has been discussed with our service provider on a serious note, who has taken a necessary corrective action.

With regards to your feedback on wi-fi charges, we would like to mention that it was a decision taken by our management to make wi-fi available on chargeable basis after considering various factors. However, your feedback has been shared with the management for their perusal.

Our team looks forward to welcoming you again at The Manor.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed in The Manor for our first night in Delhi and loved it. Although we arrived quite early, we were allowed to check in and take a shower after a night flight: that felt great. The Manor is a wonderful place of peace and quiet in the hectic pace one experiences in the rest of Delhi.
My wife and I had dinner in Indian Accent and loved the Chef's Menu. It was a great start of our vacation.
One little disappointment: our children took room service for dinner and the portions were very small. It has to be said the prices for room service were also on the low side.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WDP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at The Manor and enjoyed your dining experience at our restaurant ‘Indian Accent’.

Your feedback on portion size of the food served has been shared with our Chef, who sends his apologies and assures you that he would be looking into it.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Delhi.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

This is a lovely boutique hotel in a very nice part of New Delhi. It is certainly more than comfortable accomodation. But for us the highlight was the restaurant Indian Accent the "Chefs Choice" menu. Amazing food.
Lovely staff. We were only there one night but would say it was one of the highlights of our Indian trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swimmer797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at The Manor and enjoyed your meal at our restaurant ‘Indian Accent’.

Your feedback has been shared with the entire team and they are grateful for the appreciation.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Manager

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Everything about the Manor is " .... it would be excellent if only...". To start with the staff are some of the best trained staff I have experienced travelling in India... except they didn't really have any idea what to do about a wheelchair user (it is very common to experienced this in India). Being well trained they called the hotel manager at 1am! This manager must be several cuts above the average hotel manager in India to deal with things like this at any time.

They found a room that we could actually get the wheelchair into the bathroom and helped us as best they could but the truth of the matter the hotel has recently changed management and they had not yet worked out what to do in providing a proper disabled access room but at oleast they recognised that this needed to be dealt with soon.

The area is a very posh gated residential enclave slighted blighted by a nearby fly-over. Apart from this the area is very green and very safe.

I thought the hotel was overpriced for the lack of facilities and any special redeeming features. The wifi is over-priced and given that the hotel lacks a gym, library, games room, pool or any other kind of entertainment it should have some good complimentary items to make it feel 'special' and justify its price. I have stayed in a Meridian hotel for a little over half this price.

There are no restaurants or shopping within walking distance and so you will need your own car or to order taxis to get anywhere.

We looked at the menu which was certainly more interesting than average but also very pricey but as we had a car we decided to eat out. I have heard their restaurant "Indian Accent" is very good. Certainly the breakfast was very nice though I am not sure whether a black-carpet is suitable for an eating area. We could see crumbs on the carpet and the table had a stained table cloth. Everything was good quality but the details were wrong. The jam was nice and not the usual Kissan chemical sugar but in little plastic sachets! I am not keen on plastic sachets of butter and condiments in up-market establishments. I had an excellent scrambled egg on toast. This was served on a granary bread which is not very common in India. My wife had a masala dosa that was too oily but otherwise tasted reasonably good. The coconut chutney was far too sweet as they had added that coconut cream you get in tins for Thai food ...not very fresh tasting as it made it a sticky gooey consistency,

There is a nice area outside for eating with charcoal braziers to keep the chill off. I expect it would be a nice place for a romantic if expensive dinner but not really a hotel suited for families with young children.

Room Tip: The rooms on the East facing might be slightly quieter away from the fly-over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lokamitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write a review about your recent stay at The Manor.

At the outset, we sincerely regret the inconvenience caused as the wheelchair friendly room offered was not up to your expectations. Post your detailed conversation with our General Manager of the hotel, your feedback had been escalated to our management. We would like to assure you that we are creating a disabled-friendly room at our ground floor and simultaneously evaluating necessary measures to provide a disabled -friendly accommodation and required assistance for the entire property.

With regards to your feedback on wi-fi charges, we would like to mention that it was a decision taken by our management to make wi-fi available on chargeable basis after considering various factors. However, your feedback on providing complimentary services has been discussed with our management, who would be looking into it.

In addition, your feedback regarding the ambience and food quality of the restaurant has been shared with our restaurant manager for his perusal.

We hope that this particular experience will not deter you from patronizing The Manor in future. Our team looks forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We'd return to The Manor in a heartbeat, if only for the wonderful food in their restaurant, Indian Accent. Having said that, the service was also impeccable and the staff, without exception, were very warm, charming and efficient. Delhi was our first stop on our first visit to India and The Manor made the beginning of this trip truly memorable. This small hotel provided an oasis of calm after a hectic day in the centre of Delhi and the thought of a superb Indian fusion dinner as a reward at the end of the day kept us going throughout. Even though it was winter, we dined al fresco surrounded by lights and braziers which kept us cosy and warm. A truly magical last evening in Delhi!

Room Tip: Do not take Room 5 which is next to the busy kitchen and can be noisy late into the night until the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boadicea-1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at The Manor and enjoyed your dining experience at our restaurant ‘Indian Accent’.

Positive feedback from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight. Your feedback has truly motivated us and it has been shared with the entire team and they are grateful for the appreciation.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Delhi.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this small elegant hotel in a nice neibourhood just south of the centre of Delhi. I can't speak too highly of the hotel-elegant,comfortable with brilliant helpful staff, it is probably the best hotel we have stayed in in India after 6 trips.The restaurant was amazing with really sofisticate Indian/European fusion cooking and is a destination restaurant in Delhi.
We will definitly stay hear whenerver we come to Delhi again

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNM70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at The Manor and enjoyed your dining experience at our restaurant ‘Indian Accent’.

Positive feedback from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight. Your feedback has truly motivated us and it has been shared with the entire team and they are grateful for the appreciation.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Delhi.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Back at The Manor in Friends Colony....I feel comfortable here in this tree-lined and boomed-off suburb of South Delhi. It fits in with my sense of style, the patio and small garden are a respite from the pounding that one takes in a big city, the restaurant is EXCELLENT and it is central enough and with good access to everything I want to do here. But, I think this hotel may be losing its personal touch....and a bit of red tape sometimes make me feel like I've just hit a brick wall. i do understand that business is there to make money, but the hospitality business makes money on service to people. Unless you go the extra mile to make your guests feel special, it will be penny wise and pound foolish. Since I was last here, there are some small changes - like charging per hour for wireless internet - that made me raise my eyebrows. Why not just give this away? I doubt that a few guests in a small property could be crunching through the broadband allocation. As a tour operator, I get good feedback from my clients who are booked here, but our commission is so small - from the hotel - it doesn't make much sense for me to go on using this property. What a pity.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for patronizing The Manor and taking time out to share your feedback.
Guest feedback has played an important role in helping us understand our guest requirements and to identify the areas of concern.

With regards to your feedback on wi-fi charges, we would like to mention that it was a decision taken by our management to make wi-fi available on chargeable basis after considering various factors. However, your feedback has been discussed with our management, who would be looking into it.

We have taken your feedback in a constructive manner and assure you that our team will strive to maintain the standards that you expected.

We do hope that this particular experience will not deter you from patronizing The Manor in future. Our team looks forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Nizamuddin
La Sagrita
La Sagrita
#73 of 715 in New Delhi
343 reviews
The Claridges New Delhi
#37 of 715 in New Delhi
2,097 reviews
Mantra Amaltas
#155 of 715 in New Delhi
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nizamuddin
Devna
Devna
#59 of 715 in New Delhi
290 reviews
Shanti Home
#5 of 715 in New Delhi
1,148 reviews
Maidens Hotel
#10 of 715 in New Delhi
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Address: 77, Friends Colony West, New Delhi 110065, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#38 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#43 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#72 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: £101 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis in the centre of Delhi, the 2-storey, 16-room boutique hotel is set in landscaped gardens and has been completely redesigned as a contemporary luxury hotel. The Manor's emphasis on quality, understated elegance and comfort is apparent in public areas contrasting cool Italian mosaic flooring with warm, rich wood paneling. Combined with service that is friendly and efficient, the Manor is the perfect retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing