We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great design classic away from Delhi's dust”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Manor
Ranked #53 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A great design classic away from Delhi's dust”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

The Manor is an oasis in the dusty, dirty city of Delhi. Nestling in one of the the city's southern colonies, its unassuming but smart approach gives the impression of subtle exclusivity, without the ostentation of many of the capital's hotels. The rooms and public areas were great. The design is slick, smooth, refined and urbane. The whole hotel was well thought out and expertly executed. The stair bannister was particularly memorable (!) as were the illuminated marble panels and flowers lining the corridors. We enjoyed the chilled bar, great restaurant and quiet garden and first floor terrace. In the rooms, the bed was very comfortable and it was great to have a bath and the towels were the best I've ever had. I dream about them still.

Reception at the hotel was excellent. All the staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English. On the negative side, the wifi was expensive and there is a Rs1,000 minimum price for an hotel organised taxi, which is perhaps a bit steep if you're only going round the corner, as I was. But all in all this is a fantastic boutique hotel which gives the pricier, larger brands operating in the city a run for their money. Should I return to Delhi, the Manor will be my first port of call.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 68394944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at The Manor. We are glad to know that you had a comfortable stay.

Positive feedback from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight. Your feedback has been shared with the entire team and they are grateful for the appreciation.

We regret that you found the wifi charges expensive, which has been shared with our management. However, we would like to mention that a lot of thought has gone into deciding the charges for the amenities offered and we have tried our best to keep it reasonable compared to other similar establishments.

Our team looks forward to welcoming you again at The Manor.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    130
    36
    7
    10
See reviews for
40
222
42
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
312 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Chose this hotel as an alternative to the larger hotels we were staying at as part of our trip & we were delighted with our choice. They've taken the Western concept of a boutique hotel & applied it very successfully here. Proper boutique feel about the place - candles & marigolds scattered throughout & in your room. Lovely rooms - even the cheaper ones are extremely large & well equipped with a small patio area. Beautiful garden & small but very professional spa (which they're planning to enlarge). Fantastic bar with great cocktail selection (try the ones with a curry spicing). Lovely touches like the Xmas cake delivered to all rooms on Xmas eve. Finally it has the huge asset of having currently one of the best restaurants in Delhi in Indian Accent which is definitely worth a visit. We loved it & sitting on the small terrace area in the evening with braziers burning was one of the highlights of our trip. Very reasonably priced & located in the very pleasant Friends Colony area - it's definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarristerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your dining experience at our restaurant 'Indian Accent'.

Positive feedback from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight. Your feedback has been shared with the entire team and they are grateful for the appreciation.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Manor.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

This wonderful boutique hotel is exactly what it says it will be, delightful staff everywhere was spotlessly clean and the restaurant was superb. We had the taster dinners what a treat they were if you get the chance try the coriander pesto, it will certainly excite your tast buds.
Great place to stay and we will certainly return when we are next in India. Well done management you have it spot on.

Room Tip: Go for a suite if that is in your budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that we were able to meet your expectations. Your compliments have been shared with the team and they are grateful for the appreciation.

Look forward to welcoming you again at the Manor.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

This was our first stop in India and an absolutely delightful little boutique hotel. The accommodations were beautiful and spotless, the staff was friendly and helpful and the highly acclaimed restaurant did not disappoint! We loved the Manor and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newyorkfamilyplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that we were able to meet your expectations. Your compliments have been shared with the team and they are grateful for the appreciation.

Look forward to welcoming you again at the Manor.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed in 2013 for a wedding. There were many good deliverables to commend The Manor and their team for their efforts, would recommend purely as a Hotel though, not for weddings.

The Manor was a nice peaceful retreat;
• Hotel has excellent rooms and well equipped
• Front office staff and security were helpful and courteous throughout our stay.
• Some good integrated eating experiences Wazawan / Chor Bizarre were good food – bit of a trip though and expect a taxi charge from the hotel, but nice night out
• Wedding canapés were some of the best I have had. Coupled with the pre wedding tasting menu food was also first class
• Good and relaxing Spa was a welcome tension relief from the busy days of Delhi madness.
• Wedding day set up, dinner table, flower arrangements and the design of the red carpets, cushions was excellent - it looked beautiful
• The overall experience, the atmosphere and choosing the Manor was pleasant and we certainly didn’t regret coming

However, there were a number of problems related to the wedding. We had some issues around billing, which we were either not aware of or thought had been agreed already (Taxi costs, wedding day details). I don’t feel it’s unreasonable for any event; especially a wedding to request meetings with hotel staff, unfortunately this became daily meetings with necessary follow up. This became a little frustrating not only for us but you can sense it with their staff too. Certain requests were not carried out as agreed on the wedding day. Items were billed wrong. Although, the cost discrepancy was rectified and we were given a portion of money off the final bill, these reductions get agreed in quite an unprofessional manner and under duress.

The Indian Accent had been exemplary – the food is excellent and the Chef talented and humble individual – I highly recommend the food. However, with such high expectations for the most important wedding dinner of our trip, I am sorry to say it fell short; Starters went missing, mains were delivered with starters still being eaten, dishes wrongly described as “lettuce” but served as spinach. Some main dishes were tepid in temperature and we had no compulsion to send back at such an important occasion.

Obviously, this got fed back to the hotel but there seemed to be a disconnect between the senior Hotel leadership and management decision making needed. May just be my ignorance that India is different but if staff state they are Managers, they should be capable to make decisions themselves, as would be the case in Western Hotels, but everything gets filtered through their GM. Being fair, the majority of our requests were accommodated, but an increasingly frustrated General Manager’s behaviour, in my opinion, who by the end of our stay got verbally aggressive, to paying guests who have spent several thousand Euros at the hotel is appalling, patronising and derisory. The hotel should not position itself as a wedding location if they are not willing to have multiple planning meetings with bride and groom to be, any wedding party wants perfection. Main fault being there is no dedicated wedding planner at the hotel but the aforementioned General Manager! Sometimes they failed to turn up and were late for other meetings, fine as a normal guest but not for a wedding.

The hotel is a nice 5-star establishment – rated it 4 for the hotel, but lacks a pool despite having one in the past!, would highly recommend staying just as a hotel – but from experiences above, I would not recommend getting married here unfortunately for a wedding venue it misses the mark, despite of their best efforts.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank willb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Great spot to escape from the Delhi madness. We stayed here twice, once in a standard room and the other time in a suite. Both rooms were super, very comfortable. Wonderful staff. The restaurant is a real gem. We had two dinners there, both of which were excellent. Delicious Indian breakfasts too.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bunny-London25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your dining experience at our restaurant 'Indian Accent'.

Positive feedback from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight. Your feedback has been shared with the entire team and they are grateful for the appreciation.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Manor.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We spent two nights here in a three week first visit to India. It is an excellent refuge from the bustle of Delhi and the approach is through a quiet small suburban upmarket housing area. The hotel could not be faulted, first rate room and facilities and service and dining to match. The tasting menu with wine package is an experience not to be missed! Staff were charming and professional and could not do enough for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldworldhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your dining experience at our restaurant 'Indian Accent'.

Positive feedback from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight. Your feedback has truly motivated us and it has been shared with the entire team and they are grateful for the appreciation.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Manor.

Best regards,

Manager
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Nizamuddin
La Sagrita
La Sagrita
#59 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
The Claridges New Delhi
#25 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
Maidens Hotel
#10 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mantra Amaltas
#146 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Nizamuddin
Devna
Devna
#54 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Property: The Manor
Address: 77, Friends Colony West, New Delhi 110065, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#31 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#35 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#72 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis in the centre of Delhi, the 2-storey, 16-room boutique hotel is set in landscaped gardens and has been completely redesigned as a contemporary luxury hotel. The Manor's emphasis on quality, understated elegance and comfort is apparent in public areas contrasting cool Italian mosaic flooring with warm, rich wood paneling. Combined with service that is friendly and efficient, the Manor is the perfect retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing